We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real compromise”
Review of Allegro Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Allegro Cozumel
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed 1 September 2010

The allegro resort in cozumel is a good value for the money. the resort is clean and the staff was friendly and proficent. The beach was clean. The bar and restaurant staff need to undergo some training in putting out a quaility product. The drinks were very poor quaility, and un drinkable. The food was predictable, and not well presented or prepared. The front counter staff will out right lie to you to get you to their vacation club presentation. I have stayed in Allegro resorts in the past and felt more satisfied witht he overall quaility. Also be aware that the rsort is 10 or so miles from town, taxies are expensive, and rentals are more so. This resort did present its self as a very child friendly setting excluding the menu.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zillah807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,562 - 2,566 of 4,584 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

I have been to this property 4 times - last time 18 months ago. It is EMPTY. Its like your private resort. Less than 20% occupancy because the management contract has been renegotiated ending 12/31/10. The British company leased it for 5 years, invested $20 million and guarenteed 80% occupancy. Occidental still owns it and owns the property next door (Occidental retained management of that property - the Grand). The lease was supposed to be up in 2 more years but the British strategy (and the economy) to promote it as a European type vacation) failed. Right now, the British no longer promote it, the Occidental group is being paid until Dec as if its 80% occupied. Therefore, there is a window where the occupancy is the LOWEST I have ever seen it. (except for a hurricane !).
If you are expecting 5 star food - forget it. If you are expecting a great relaxing vacation with "decent" food, take advantage of the great deals, Expedia and others are offering.
The dive boats are empty, the weather great, and the low number of guests have been extremely friendly.
THe Occidental group is keeping their key staff because they don't want to lose them.
These opportunities DO NOT come along that often. The price we paid for air, hotel, transfer, and all-inclusive for our 10 night stay was under $80/person. Yes All that for just under $80/person.
Again, they renovated it within the last 3 years with the $20 million.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We've gone to Mexico many times and I would NOt recommend an Allegro Resort: there are so many resorts that are much better. The food was poor; in fact, over 100 people got food posioning the week we were there. I asked for salsa and got ketchup! The dining room looks like a truck stop and the A La Carte restaurants are just more of the cafeteria food. People were there to drink A LOT. There were fights on the beach and screaming every night. If you want to go to Cozumel, which is lovely, go to the Iberostar.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed at the Allegro Cozumel from August 2nd thru the 9th and had a wonderful time. This was our 9th, yes 9th, time staying at this resort dating all the way back to 1994. We did not stay at the hotel however during the past 3 years when the British had the resort.

Having been to the resort many times before we knew what to expect. This is not a 5-star resort so our expectations were not 5-star level. I am AMAZED at the people who get on here and complain about this and that as if it was a 5-star resort where everyone should cater to your every need. This resort is not that. The entire island of Cozumel is not that...lol.

Below are some of the pros and cons of our stay at the resport. I also will comment on some of the other reviews I've seen on here.

1) Occupency.....they were definately not full. I would say the resort was at 50% occupancy at best. This has its good points and bad. For the good, you get to relax more and not have to mess with tons of people at the resort. It was really nice and quite. On the flip side, with the numbers down, the staff size was also down. Not all of the bars were open all the time so there was times when you had to wait 5 minutes or so for a drink. For some people this is a big deal...lol.....not for us though. C'mon people....you are on vacation and on 'Mexico' time....everything runs slower.

2) Hard beds.....yes, they are hard and have been for the 16 years we have been staying at the Allegro. That said, we've never had a problem sleeping. You are usually so tired at the end of the day that you can sleep thru everything. If you must, they do have the egg crate pads that you can ask the front desk for. We've never asked for or used them but I did hear from someone that it helps.

3) Food - The food was actually pretty good this time around. Granted, the selection was not as big as in years past but there was always something new to eat each day. Breakfast is the best (get the made to order omlets). Lunch at the pool area was OK as well....usually burgers, fish, chicken each day. Also very good salsa and guac.! Dinner was OK as well. We stayed for 7 nights and yes, the food does get old at times. We generally go to town for dinner once or twice during our stay but on this trip we actually ate every meal at the resort for 7 days! If you are a VERY picky eater or expect 5-star quality food then this is not your place....but if you are a normal eater you will be just fine here.

The activities director Raul is the best....he will treat your kids very well at Kids Club. We love him and always look forward to seeing him.

Freddie is the best bartender and has been there for 12 years. Make good with him early in your trip and he will take very good care of you! ;)

The new Pirate Ship kids pool is cool....the kids will LOVE it. Every 7 minutes during the day the horn will blow and it dumps a TON of water on the ship. The kids love it!

There is a new ropes course at the front of the property now as well. Unfortunately it was closed while we were there and not sure why (staffing?) but it would really be something neat to do if it was open.

The beach......oh, that beach. This resort BY FAR has the best beach on the island hands down. There are no rocks and very, very little seaweed on this beach. They also rake the beach each morning. If you are a beach person like we are this is the only resort for you. I will admit that there may be a couple 'nicer' resorts on the island for those who like to just sit in their room or by the pool however, if you are a beach goer like my wife and I then this is the ONLY resort for you on Cozumel.

Dive shop....is now Pro Dive Mexico. They are good and have tons of packages to choose from. They will even certify you down there if you'd like. They also do free scuba lessons in the pool each day. Good guys, very nice.

Entertainment ....hit and mis here. I remember the days when you had tons of people at the show each night and it ws very interactive. They have relaxed a bit on the shows but it could be because Occidental has only had ther reosrt back from the British for a few months. Mr. Allegro and Anything Can Happen are good show nights. The other nights were more theaterical shows (black light show, beach fire party, mexican show, etc). They are OK but nothing to write home about. Good way to fill up your evening.

They used to open the pool snack bar area at 10:00PM until 1:30AM for burgers and drinks but it was closed during our stay. Again, I think it was because the numbers were down. We used to be able to swim in the pools at that time but they had them closed during this trip. Bummer but not a big deal to us.

A few things to remmeber to bring with you.

Off Spray....DEEEEEEP Woods Off. The Mosquitos are THICK. You are in the jungle people and the humidity is just a shade over 300% so you have them from about 6:00 on. The spray will keep them away from you just fine.

Toothpicks / Floss - They do not have these anywhere. We forgot some this trip and it drove us crazy...lol.

Your own thermos mug. The glasses there are small and unless you like going to the bar every 10 minutes bring your own. They will gladly fill them for you.

All in all we had a GREAT trip and cannot wait to go back again. We are already planning next summers trip for July. It cannot get here soon enough!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paule4ou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

i visited allegro Cozumel from 8/7-8/14, the hotel was very nice and clean all the time, the rooms were clean, service was not bad either. Diving was great. The only thing i will have to agree with other reviews is the food. In general the hotel is great for a week vacation

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddy827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
10.1 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
14.4 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.6 km away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
4,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
2,306 reviews
1.3 km away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
5,038 reviews
21.6 km away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Cozumel

Address: Carretera Sur San Francisco Palancar | Km 16.5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $182 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Cozumel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mexico’s Caribbean there is a tiny island just bursting with life – it is Cozumel and the Allegro Cozumel. Right on the famous Sand Francisco Beach, two worlds of adventure co-exist: The Fun-in-the-sun beach and the amazing undersea Palancar Reef. Whatever you choose to pursue, Allegro Cozumel places it right at your fingertips. Beach Volleyball, tropical bars, restaurants, and nightclubs keep life on land exciting, while the on-site dive shop and big-game sport-fishing charters offer a gateway into the dazzling marine sanctuary of Cozumel’s waters. And when you awake the next morning, after a relaxing night’s sleep in your comfortable guest room, you’ll find there’s even more to explore, because the adventure never stops at Allegro. For the young ones, there is plenty to do from building sand castles alongside the beautiful powdery white sand beach, get physical at the amazing kid’s multiplay covered playground, catch some giggles at the water park, or take advantage of the many activities offered by the Kids clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allegro Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Allegro Hotel
Occidental Allegro Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing