We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect week at Playa Azul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
MI
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Another perfect week at Playa Azul”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Jan 21-28

Check in was a breeze, we were remembered by many of the staff. We were in our room, changed, then out on the beach within 10 minutes of arrival. We spent most of the week at the hotel just relaxing. From the music at the Beach club on Sunday afternoon to the daily strolls along the beach, it was one of the best times we have had. The weather was perfect all week (tho it did rain on the last day, and it was still beautiful).

Breakfast in morning was great. Fresh fruit, assorted mexican dishes, eggs made to order and hot coffee. Juan and Carlos remember special requests and fulfill them as soon as we were seated (like bringing orange juice to our table after they knew we had it every day). When I needed a knife, Juan brought me a "Cuchilla". He is teaching me spanish :)

The beach is clean, and the adjacent property to the south has even been cleaned of trash and overgrowth. They have added some nice padding to the loungers and they are always available. Out in front of the hotel, a new walking / biking path has been added .

We love the turtles out front during the day, crabs in the same area at night and saw many beautiful birds including a pelican that visited daily. We snorkeled from the southern property Club Cozumel Caribe, past Playa Azul and down to Cozumeleno (the current runs S to N). This hotel is one of the best if you want instant beach / snorkeling access all day.

We went to the Savia Spa on Thursday for a couples massage. The ladies there are wonderful and it was the icing on this trip.

Lunch was very good. Try the Chicken or Tuna Salad in avocado and the Gazpacho (3 different types).

Since the '05 hurricane, the coral is started to come back (purple fan, brain coral and other assorted types). We saw squid, lobster, many barracuda, and all sorts of other fish. Twice - we saw the dolphins swimming past the resort in the afternoon.

We had sunsets almost every night. We went to the bar, ordered Chardonnay and watched them (a pre-dinner ritual).

This hotel is quiet most of the days, getting busier later in the afternoon when the golfers return. We do not golf. We come to this resort because it is small, quiet, clean and very relaxing. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLOMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    178
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
161
291
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed at Playa Azul for 3 nights at the beginning of January, Lovely way to get over long flight from the UK. Comfortable room on top floor with great sea view. Quick efficient check in, Delicious breakfasts, great friendly staff. Good snorkelling from beach. Would certainly return if in the area again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I found this hotel to be quiet and friendly. We stayed for a week in January 2012. Rooms were average, had some cobwebs on the ceiling of our room when we checked in and located a Maid to remove and she did but I did feel like that is something that should have been noticed way before my visit as they were clearly visible and kinda grossed me out right off the bat. Beach is nice and always had chairs available(no need to save a lounger every a.m as you have to at some larger resorts) but I did not like the fact that we got 3 beach towels daily in our room and had to turn in 3 to receive 3 more by the maid when she cleaned. Would be so much nicer to have access to towels all day in the beach area, turn in one get another type thing, rather than having to wait for the maid to replace our towels everyday. $30 fee if you did not turn in your towel daily in your room so I was always worried about leaving my towel on the beach, at the restaurant etc. If you weren't able to get your towel to your room by cleaning time you were using the same beach towel day after day as you didn't get new ones if your old ones weren't there. Need to have an area you can dump towels easily and get new ones. We never used the pool as it was in a spot that didn't receive any sun so the water was very cold. The week we were there I only saw 2 or 3 peope using the pool, most days it was empty. I do think a hot tub would get a lot of use, they should add one! Everyone was very friendly and the resort is very reasonably priced. Other reviewers mentioned golf being $30 but that is when you bring your own clubs, if you need to rent clubs as well a round will cost you $75. Love the Turtle area out front, nice added thing the kids enjoyed every morning. All in all it was a great trip and only would recommend a few easy fixes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shel0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed at Playa Azul for a week in January 2012. The place is small and the staff very nice. If you are looking for action this is not the place - this is a familyresort with a very slow pace.

The great thing about Playa Azul is that you get free golf at the Cozumel Country Club.

Clean rooms and free internet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tingatinga77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, WI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We traveled here for my husband's 40th birthday. We are parents of twin 2-year olds and were persuaded by my parents to have a couple's vacation. We were sure glad we took them up on the offer! Playa Azul's best feature is the beautiful, low-key beach and proximity of all the rooms to it. It is not, however, an ideal place for folks who are looking for lots of action. We were glad our twins were not along because they would have become bored fast.

Disappointments:
1. I had reserved a one-bed ocean-view suite and emailed a confirmation request for such a few days before our arrival. Not only did we end up with 2 beds, but the front desk staff didn't acknowledge the reservation or confirmation request.
2. We had to wait a few hours to get our room. This was understandable since we arrived around noon, a few hours earlier than typical check-in. But it was a slow time of year so I was surprised they couldn't do more to get us the type of room we had reserved/requested and if not have an alternative (i.e. 2 beds) ready when we arrived.
3. The rooms were dirty. This was a serious disappointment and having lived in Mexico and vacationed there many times, I found the room to be on of the dirtiest. There were splash marks on the walls, crud on the floor, and cleaning service was limited to bed-making. The coffee pot was corroded and dirty and not cleaned. If I had one simple suggestion to management to improve the place: raise the bar on room cleanliness. Also, the hotel guide in the room indicates there is evening turn-down service. There wasn't. Nor do you get the cutesy little towel animals, unless you leave substantial tips.
4. Food was good but often it was cold. I was a little surprised they didn't have more of a Mexican flair to the offerings. For example, tortillas, guacamole, and limes would do breakfast more justice.

Bonuses
1. The room locations facing and virtually hovering over the ocean were phenomonal. I'd suggest upgrading to a suite just so the ocean can lull you to sleep, even if there is a vacant bed beside you (!). The rooms were also exceptionally quiet.
2. The exchange rate! We thought the food and drink seemed a little steep, but we still enjoyed both. Imagine our pleasant surprise then my credit card bill reflected an extra $100+ savings. Don't pay in cash since your credit card will provide an exchange rate better than what the hotel's billing reflects. (I also wouldn't suggest all-inclusive since we're eaters and drinkers, but our total tab was about half what we would have paid for all-inclusive privileges.)
3. Low-key. Playa Azul is definitely an excellent option if you want to have a place to unwind, be pretty certain you'll actually get a lounger by the beach, and not have to be annoyed by drunken masses and loud pool music. We indulged in the peace and ability to do nothing at all.

We also loved the golf course and the snorkeling - both so closeby you don't need to arrange some big tour.

The key question: Would we go back? No, unless the hotel stepped up the bar on the simple things like room cleanliness and warm food or if there was some totally irresistable deal, which is unlikely.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanview suite - quiet and pricelss view/sound of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
10.7 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
5.1 km away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,071 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,710 reviews
0.5 km away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
18.1 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa

Property: Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Address: Carretera a San Juan Km 4 | Zona Hotelera Norte, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#4 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price range (per night): $237 - $325
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Azul Golf Scuba Spa is an oceanfront, small, charming and family run hotel distinguished by its personal service from the staff and owners. A truly home-away-from-home resort for those who prefer to be close to the ocean but not far from their room. For those who like to enjoy a wonderful gastronomic experience and friendly atmosphere. Playa Azul is a Golf and Breakfast hotel but if you prefer the All Inclusive vacation our resort offers the best menu (a la carte) both for food and beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba Hotel Cozumel
Playa Azul Hotel Scuba
Playa Azul Resort Scuba
Playa Azul Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing