We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located at The Coral Princess Resort”

Pepe Scuba Dive Shop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a PADI International Resort;located inside the Coral Princess Hotel.Open to the Public,offering 2 Tank Boat Dive trips,with pick up service from other locations.All levels-PADI Dive Certification Training,Snorkel trips,Night Diving,Equipment Rental.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We stayed at the Coral Princess for two nights in May, and Pepe Scuba is right there in the hotel. Very convenient for morning dives. You can have breakfast before you leave. The guys that run the shop are super friendly and easy going. We had a beginner on the dive and they and took really good care of her. The boats are a little smaller than what we're used to, so with six divers, two dive masters and a captain it was a little tight to move around. That said, they go faster than most of the other boats to get you there and back sooner. We did a morning two tank dive to one of the coral reefs, I'm not sure which one. The water is clear and warm, so you won't need a wet suit. We live on the Big Island of Hawaii where we have great diving. I think Hawaii may have more different varieties of fish, but we don't have the colorful coral that they have in the Caribbean. All in all it was a great experience.

1  Thank beneluigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Pepe Scuba Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Hola Amigo
Glad you enjoyed your visit and Thanks for sharing your experience with others. Yes we do have some or the fastest boats on the Island.As you noticed while diving ,most all of the boats except for a few large cattle boats,are the small fast variety.Our reefs are colorful and the fish variety different that you would normally see on the Big Island of Hawaii.Thnaks again hope to see you if your world travels return you to our beautiful Cozumel.
Regards
Frank and Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"coral princess"
in 57 reviews
"dive shop"
in 44 reviews
"fastest boats"
in 9 reviews
"the reefs"
in 24 reviews
"great diving"
in 16 reviews
"safe operation"
in 4 reviews
"these guys"
in 14 reviews
"rental equipment"
in 6 reviews
"lion fish"
in 7 reviews
"first class operation"
in 3 reviews
"fast boat"
in 6 reviews
"boat captain"
in 8 reviews
"great trip"
in 7 reviews
"two tank"
in 4 reviews
"visited cozumel"
in 5 reviews
"sea life"
in 5 reviews
"dove"
in 43 reviews
Filter

27 - 31 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2017

We did 6 days (12 tanks) of diving with Pepe Scuba and had a great experience. Sergio was our DM the whole time and he was amazing. We're experienced divers and he allowed us plenty of bottom time (an hour), even when new divers had to ascend earlier than us. Most of the time there were only 6 divers on our fast boat. One time there were only the 4 of us. A great diving experience!!!

1  Thank sarge1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Pepe Scuba Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Hola Amigos:
You got us and Sergio when we were in a good spirits.Thank you for taking your time to share your diving experience with us.When we have good divers and weather it makes our job much easier and when conditions are less than perfect we can still choose reefs to the divers skill level.We appreciate your diving with us and hope to see you again.Very Happy that you had a nice visit to our beautiful Cozumel Island.Cheers
Frank and Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

We did our first scuba lessons here. If you dive then you already know this is the dive Master to work with. If you think you might want to try scuba on your vacay, then this is the place to learn. Very attentive and considerate staff! I was rather worried my first time, but this group makes you want to come back again and again!

Thank Pinnacle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Pepe Scuba Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hola Amigos:
So glad your first experience was a positive one. Thank You for your time to share your scuba diving with others whom may find it helpful. Everyone starts at the beginning and you took the first step into the Underwater World. Good Luck and Happy Bubbles hope to see you again. GOOD JOB WELL DONE!
Regards
Frank and Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

We just got back from Cozumel
on Friday and dove with Pepe Scuba for 7 days (14 dives in total).
I cannot say enough great things about Frank's company and his team. So professional, accommodating, knowledgeable dive masters, great boats and a great location!
We had our first 2 dives with Abdias who was fantastic! And the rest of the dives with Sergio. My husband and I are experienced divers but we brought our friend who had just been certified and only had 7 dives logged. Both dive masters were excellent with her and made sure she got the proper attention she required as a new diver while still making sure the rest of the group was not ignored.
Both dive masters were so knowledgable of the reefs, that we just had to tell them what we wanted to see and they took us to the best spot! I told Sergio on my 3rd day that I just wanted to find a seahorse on this trip - his response, "I know where a beautiful bright yellow one lives, we'll go there on our first dive this morning".......he led us right to the reef it lives on and voila!......there it was!
Jesus was our boat captain and is so great at making sure it's a smooth ride out to the sites, super attentive when we were ascending and quick to make sure everyone got on board safely.
They don't pack the boats which is great too. Frank will bring another boat and dive master in before he lets the boats get too full. In fact, we were only a group of 3 and requested to do the C53 wreck dive (which was awesome and highly recommended) but usually they need a minimum of 4 divers to do special requests. However Frank was so easy going that he just said he would get another boat and make sure we could do it.......he kept his word, and it was a great dive!
Hats off to you and your team Frank! We would definitely recommend your company for Cozumel diving.

Thank lisa_rodier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Pepe Scuba Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Hola Amigos:
Thank you for taking your time to share your visit with us. All the Staff tries their best to produce the most enjoyable dives...I try to stay out of their way as much as possible. It was a pleasure for us to have you and Jaycee and Robin diving with us,and glad you enjoyed our beautiful Cozumel Island both on land and under the crystal clear waters.Happy Bubbles Hope to see you again if travel returns you.Thanks again..BTW you caught me `The grumpy old man `in a good mood !CHEERS!
Frank and Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We have been diving with Pepe Scuba for many years! Pepe Scuba is a responsible and safe dive operation, with a friendly and welcoming staff. The boat captains and dive masters are exceptional and do their best to give divers a great dive experience every time! They are based at the Coral Princess Dive & Golf Resort, but they pick up divers at other locations. We love diving with Pepe Scuba and can't wait to get back down there to join them on some more fun and exciting dives!

Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank F, General Manager at Pepe Scuba Dive Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Hola Amigos:
Thank you for your time to respond and share your experience with others.We always try to deliver a good product to all the divers.Sometimes with different experience levels and climate conditions we do not always achieve the maximum for the expectations of everybody..BUT.. we come really close.Nobody is perfect,sometimes mistakes are made on our part,and sometimes divers just have a bad day.Hope to see you again.Always a pleasure to see you and we appreciate your input.Looking forward to your next visit.
Regards
Frank and Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pepe Scuba Dive Shop also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Pepe Scuba Dive Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing