We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$218
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Hotels.com
US$218
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
WIOL.com
US$190
View deal
Booking.comUS$219
TravelocityUS$218
Lol.travelUS$228
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,373)
Filter reviews
4,373 results
Traveller rating
1,637
1,560
627
303
246
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,637
1,560
627
303
246
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adult pool la iguana snack bar family pool fish lot of seaweed the grill royal suite ocean view make reservations chicken wings great beach buffet restaurant other resorts activities staff all inclusive resort smaller resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 4,373 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2021

The Melia was a wonderful experience. the staff was so inviting and friendly! The rooms were super clean and comfortable. My only suggestion would be to bring a small fan with you for circulation during the warmer months.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank RKJsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Dear RKJsoccer,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are glad to know you had a great time at our resort and you have enjoyed the service and attention provided by our kind staff, we are also glad to know you found our suites and common areas to be relaxing for you and your family. We will gladly let our maintenance department know about your suggestions for open areas.

We hope to host you again soon.

Best regards

Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2021

We just stayed at the Melia for a week. The beach was beautiful (but no waves). The people working there were pretty wonderful; we felt safe and comfortable every moment. The head chef, Francisco, was VERY helpful with our dietary needs (celiac...it turns out that they don't use wheat very often in Mexican cuisine); he even made us a special gluten-free cake.
The meals were pretty good (or great). There was always a grill and there was always a ceviche for lunch. Always very nice fruits. There were terrific Mexican dishes.
A tiny glitch was the reliance on apps for getting around...we wanted to know the layout of the resort and the schedules of the restaurants. We were referred to an app (they seemed to take great pride in no paper/no waste). We downloaded the app, found it was not functioning, and pointed this out to the front desk. The front desk told us that they were aware that the app did not work (Q: Then why direct us to the app in the first place?).
We had a wonderful stay and were happy with the trip. It was our first visit to Cozumel and we were VERY happy with the airport and transportation (relative to Cancun).
We highly rec this very nice resort and we will be back!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KentuckyKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021


Dear KentuckyKen,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful stay at our Melia Cozumel and that you and your family were pampered and taken care of by our accommodating staff. A special mention will be made to chef Francisco for his attention to detail and kind service toward you and your family dietary needs. We also appreciate your comments about the situation you had with our inhouse application, we are testing it and will soon be fixed and running properly.

We will be honored to host you again soon.

Best regards

Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2021

This facility went out of its way to accommodate my family. Travelocity didn't have any option for rooms for 2 adults and 2 teens so we had to book two rooms and hoped we could get adjoining rooms. At check in time, the rooms available were on the first floor and many doors apart. This situation could only be resolved by either one of the adults staying with one teen or leaving the teens in the room by themselves. Neither of the choices was desirable. Shortly after checking in, the front desk manager approached us and upgraded us to a two room suite with no additional charge to help with our situation. This was extremely pleasant unexpected turn of events and made the rest of our stay at Melia great despite the lacking food in the buffet and lack of access to restaurants on site. I will return to this facility just for the friendly and helpful staff and the wonderful beach access and the lovely sunsets.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank nancymirza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Dear nancymirza1,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are happy to know you had a wonderful stay at our Meliá Cozumel and you enjoyed the great service and attention provided by our kind staff. It is truly rewarding to know we were able to accommodate to your needs and preferences and that your family were able to relax and enjoy the rest of your stay as soon as this situation was solved.

We will be waiting for your return.

Best regards

Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2021 via mobile

This is a smaller AI resort which was exactly what we were looking for. They are at reduced capacity so not all of the restaurants and bars are open all the time but it is small enough that it isn’t a big deal.

We had an Oceanview Premium Room and the view was stunning. The balcony is large with two chairs and a table and it doesn’t feel cramped. The room is very spacious and has a nice separate dressing area off the bathroom. It was nice to have plenty of room to hang clothes and an extra counter for toiletries, etc.

Housekeeping was great. We left a note with a tip requesting extra coffees, waters and towels every day and it was never a problem. Our room was always clean when we returned in the afternoon.

The front desk staff here is incredibly friendly and helpful. They made offsite dinner reservations for us twice and scheduled our on-site covid tests for us. They printed the results for us to take with us when we left.

The servers made sure we were taken care of. Alexis and Gerardo at the beach were especially kind. They made sure we had towels and that our glasses were never empty. They are also who you talk to about booking a Bali bed. Tip them well. They are running around in the hot sun all day and still manage to smile.

The food was typical AI fare. Day one you are thrilled and by day three you are bored. We had dinner at the reservation Mexican restaurant and honestly, the food at the snack bar was just as good, just not presented as well. We had dinner at the buffet the first night only and it was ok. I know it must be difficult to cook for so many people with many cultures and tastes and they do a good job of it. Breakfast was the best meal of the day.

They work hard to keep the beach clean and clear of seaweed. There was only one day that the water was murky but by the next morning it was beautiful again. If you walk down the beach toward the pier, the water on the other side is crystal clear always. The day our water was not nice, we spent down there.

Overall, we would definitely come back to this resort. The location is good, rooms are large and the staff is amazing.

Room tip: Get a Grand Premium Room. You get a great view and access to butler service on the beach and Bali beds.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cincykeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Dear cincykeller,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We are glad to know you had an overall great stay at our wonderful resort with the kind service and attention from all our staff, they are committed to always offer high end service to all our esteemed guests. We also appreciate your comments and suggestions on the food offered at our restaurants and snack bars, as they will greatly help us improving our menus and presentation for lunch and dinner. We will gladly congratulate Alexis and Gerardo for their hard work towards your satisfaction. We will all be waiting for your return.

Best regards

Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021

Staff was rude and unhelpful. Double charged me for my rooms, which caused me a huge mess with my bank. Staff did not care about this problem and did nothing to make up for it. Bed sheets had old urine stains on them and there was mold growing on the curtain. Unable to make reservations for dinner and we were there for 7 night! Beach bar/grill didn’t open until 11 and closed at 5:30 so had to walk to the buffet to get a water! To get the water you had to be dry, completely ridiculous!!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank Footprints618230
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2021

Dear Footprints618230,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We regret the confusion you experienced at check out, fortunately our staff was able to identify the error and diligently cancelled the double charge without causing you any trouble with your bank account since the cancellation was made the very same day that the double charge was made, we are glad to once again clarify this incident to you. On the other hand we appreciate your comments on the rust stain caused to your linens, we will be now very careful while transporting them from laundry service to the room to make sure it gets to your suite in pristine conditions. We have also instructed our food and beverage team to make sure there is more availability for our guests on their preferred times for dinner. We again appreciate the time you are taking to highlight the areas to be improve in the future.

Best regards

Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews