We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$158
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/21
Travelocity
US$158
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/21
Traveluro
US$110
View deal
Booking.comUS$159
Hotels.comUS$158
ZenHotels.comUS$191
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,320)
Filter reviews
4,320 results
Traveller rating
1,615
1,548
619
296
242
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,615
1,548
619
296
242
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adult pool la iguana melia resort melia staff snack bar golf package family pool fish the grill royal suite a garden view room chicken wings make reservations clear water buffet restaurant great beach activities staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 4,320 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2021

This is an excellent hotel with a gorgeous beach and the staff were the best! Especially Alexis and Gerardo the beach staff! Special thank you to Edwin for taking care of us every step of the way. We hope to return soon!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank SarahStraub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, General Manager at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Dear SarahStraub,

Thank you so much for taking the time to express yourself in this review explaining your experience with us in Melia Cozumel. It is amazing to know our staff does a great job; this makes us very happy that we will be looking forward to your upcoming visit next year. We will be looking forward to seeing you soon again with us creating brand new experiences.
Remember that Melia Cozumel is the place where you want to be in Mexico!

Best regards,
Guest service management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

My mom and I stayed here for 7 nights. I booked last minute after switching from Puerto Vallarta to Cozumel due to Covid. Therefore the options were limited and I wanted a beach without alot of seaweed. I needed a decent sized room with an ocean front view and an adult pool. Melia was pretty much the only one that had this with availability.

1. Food wasn't the best. Best meals are at the two, a la carte, reservation only dinner restaurants. We ate off-site at some point because we just couldn't do the buffet or snack bar for lunch. Snack bar food was a complete disappointment. Same stuff everyday- nachos, hot dogs, cheap processed burgers, and french fries. Other resorts switch up the beach food daily- paella, bbq, fish tacos, etc. Not here, it's childrens' food only.

2. There is No beach service unless you reserve one of the bali beds. There are maybe 9 of them. You only get drinks, no food. This service is only available to royal or premium room guests. The beach is nice. Some seaweed, but not enough to stop you from getting in the water.

3. Rooms are dated, but we loved our view. They could have better patio furniture. Two plastic chairs and a drink table only. There is a coffee and tea maker and a mini fridge. It came with soda and beer. We had to ask for more water. They gave us 2 bottles only but we didn't have an issue getting more. Water in the bathoom has a foul smell. Maybe it is the chemicals they put in it.

4. Service was always good. Housekeeping, the bartenders, restaurant servers were always nice. We tipped all the time.

Overall, I will say it is a decent place, basic, not extraordinary. Probably better for families who just want the kids to go somewhere and have fun. But as an adult only trip, I don't plan to return. There are better and more modern resorts on the mainland. I like the Melia brand, but the Paradisus line is my cup of tea. I will stay away from the basic Melia resorts. They rate this as a 4 star hotel, but it is 3 star.

Room tip: Get a premium room, higher floor for a nice unobstructed view.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Creolecutie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, General Manager at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Dear Creolecutie99,

First of all I would like to ask for an apology for the inconveniences that you had during your stay with us. I want you to know that part of our improvement process is to locate the opportunities areas that we have and after we implement programs to resolve these situations as soon as possible. These comments will be shared with our team for an appropriate follow-up.
At Melia Cozumel we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We hope to see you again soon in the Mexican Caribbean!

Best regards
Guest service center management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2021

We had a wonderful time at the Melia hotel. The room was very comfortable. The staff was always courteous and helpful. The pool was always warm and clean. The restaurant and bar staff were always very courteous.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank miltonjackson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, General Manager at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear miltonjackson9

Thank you so much for leaving these awesome and valuable comments in regards of your recent experience with us at Melia Cozumel.
We also want to appreciate the fact that you really enjoyed your stay where we hope we exceeded your expectations and that it makes you feel like you want to come back real soon.
We will be looking forward to see you soon again to keep carry on pampering you like only we know.

Best regards,
Guest service center management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2021

The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. The rooms were cool and clean. The buffet always had a wide variety of fruits and vegetables to choose from. The amenities were clean and attended to. It was seaweed season and they did a great job of working to clear the beach every morning. They were also very proactive about safety around the COVID pandemic. There were activities for families every day. We enjoyed our trip.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, General Manager at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear Julie L

Thank you so much for taking the time to express yourself in this review explaining your experience with us in Melia Cozumel. It is amazing to know our staff does a great job; this makes us very happy that we will be looking forward to your upcoming visit next year. We will be looking forward to seeing you soon again with us creating brand new experiences.

Best regards,
Guest service management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2021

This resort is so beautiful, clean, well run and has the friendliest staff! The evening entertainment and the daytime activities crew Giovanni and Caesar were incredible! The ladies at the spa, Gloria and Evelyn did a fantastic job! I hope we can come back and maybe see other Meliá properties someday!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank bylersabbatical
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, General Manager at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear bylersabbatical,

Thank you so much for leaving these valuable comments in regards to your recent visit at Melia Cozumel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays. It was such a pleasure reading your pleasant and positive comments. Without a doubt, reviews like yours encourage us to continue working harder and better for our guests’ experiences at our hotels are always enjoyable and great.
We look forward to seeing you real soon again in Melia Cozumel where the next time you come to the paradise we'll make sure to receive you with our arms wide open to keep pampering you like only we know.

Best regards,
Guest service management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews