We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$248
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/01/22
Booking.com
US$249
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Traveluro
US$185
View deal
Hotels.comUS$248
PricelineUS$249
travelup.comUS$250
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,398)
Filter reviews
4,398 results
Traveller rating
1,655
1,565
629
303
246
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,655
1,565
629
303
246
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adult pool la iguana family pool swim up bar fish the grill royal suite buffet restaurant ocean view make reservations chicken wings great beach palm trees other resorts activities staff all inclusive resort smaller resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 4,398 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2021

Starting with the positives:

Location - Not far from the airport. We paid $999 Pesos or $61 US option from the airport to the hotel with 7 (ppl) and $17 from the hotel back to the airport (3 ppl)

Staff - Very accommodating and nice all around. Recognizing Antonio.

The Premium Level - It was worth a little extra money for the great oceanview room. It was also nice to have a dedicated check-in and check-out and avoid the line. Nice to easily make reservations through the front desk instead of the concierge during certain hours.

Room Category for families - (not sure the name) My friends traveled with 2 adults and their three kids and ended up with a massive room - the biggest I've seen - offering privacy and space for a big family. It was not sold as oceanview but you could see the ocean at a distance.

Kids Club - My friend had a kid that age and he absolutely loved it!

Family Pool - Big, fun, clean. I guarantee your kids will love it.

Adult Pool - Small with a bar and nice to break away from the kids

Game Room - It's a little hidden but had 2 pool tables, foosball, darts etc. Good for teens and adults.

La Iguana Restaurant - We had great food and service. Recommend to take advantage of this.

Suggestions
Room Service - $10 charge and took about 45 minutes just for coffee

Water in rooms - A bit scarce if you are a water drinker - 2 small bottles

Buffet - After visiting many all-inclusives over the years, the price you pay definitely determines how well you will be eating. I wasn't impressed with the food here but I also wasn't surprised as this was a last-minute budget getaway.

The Water - This is something that the hotel does not have control over and is a seasonal issue with many hotels. There is a jetty between the Melia and the next hotel that seems to keep all of the seaweed on the Melia side. The water was unswimmable in front of the hotel, but if you walked to the next hotel the water was beautiful. If you are a "beach person" this is going to be an issue. See pic of the jetty which shows blue water left and brown water right.

I hope that the hotel can find a way to invest in some type of barrier to give people a better beach experience. I think that when people book a beach vacation, at a minimum they have the expectation that they will be able to enjoy the actual beach. Like a saltwater pool or something as I've seen at some of the resorts.

Room tip: Choose the Premium Level for a better view and overall service experience
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherLovesMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear HeatherLovesMexico,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We regret to know your expectations were not exceeded during your recent visit to our Meliá resort, we appreciate the time you take to share your suggestions on the areas to be improved. We will tell our staff to provide more bottles of water in the room, we will also share your comments on the variety and quality of the food offered in our buffet with our chefs and food and beverage managers in order to make proper changes. As you kindly mentioned, clear water greatly depends on the currents and winds we are having during the season. However, we will reinforce our daily beach cleaning with our maintenance department. We will be honored to host you again and show you the improvements we will be making.

Best regards

Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2021

It is our 1st trip to Mexico All Inclusive resrot. Before we went to Cuba and I can tell you that I liked my trip the way never be back to Cuba if I compare 4 star hotels in both countries. Service, food and room are much better than in Cuba. Internet also is big adventage vs Cuban resorts. The animation team did a great job, especially many thanks to Mary, Geovani and Cesar for volleyball and ping-pong tournements. Ligia, in guest service, was ready to help any time you need, especially with a PCR test. Even if the hotel was almost fully reserved there were no lignes in buffet, bars. For children there is a gameroom and evening show. There are 2 pools, one for children and one for adults completely far each of other. The hotel is very well located and situated along the beach, so you can eat with the view on the water , take a seat with a view of sunset whatever you are. Even if it rained everyday, it did not bother us to be on the beach and tan. So, I enjoyed my trip and will be back with pleasure.

Date of stay: November 2021
2  Thank Alexator_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alexator_Trip,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to know you had an amazing time at our Meliá Cozumel and you were pampered and taken care of by our amazing staff, especially Mary, Cesar and Geovani for exceeding your expectations with the attention to detail during your stay. We will all be honored to host you again for more unforgettable moments.

Best regards

Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2021

Many factors for this review, including the beach full of seaweed and the water was not blue, but brown. We were very disappointed in the food quality and choices at all of the restaurants we tried and the quality of adult beverages available. The absence of ice machines near the rooms meant we had to make trips down to the pool bar or lobby bar to get ice. We had some wash cloths that actually had holes in them. Room was very small and not very much storage available.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank shallmarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear shallmarj,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We regret to know your expectations were not completely covered during your recent visit to our resort. Although we performed daily cleaning brigades on our beach it is mother nature who often has the lard word. Nonetheless, we will reinforce our cleaning drills during the week. We are also sharing your comments about the quality and variety of the food with our chefs and food and beverage managers in order for them to make the proper improvements on our daily offer. We will also make sure have ice available when our guests request assistance. We are also instructing our housekeeping department to replace all damage wash clothes. We will be honored to host you again to show you the improvements we will be making.

Best regards

Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2021

This is our 3rd trip, with the last being 6/12/21-6/19/21 and this trip 11/12/21-11/19/21. The rooms are great and the staff is exceptional. Even though we know our way around the resort, it’s still difficult to make reservations for 2 of the restaurants.
Biggest complaint is the beach. I know and understand the hotel has no control over the amount of algae and seaweed in the water but when your biggest attraction is the beach and you don’t have a crew removing the washed up seaweed daily, leaving the beach unusable, that’s unacceptable. They have had anywhere between 1-2 guys raking the seaweed into piles the last two days for about 4 hrs each day. The piles were not removed until today. The pictures are after they “cleaned” the beach.
We will definitely be researching other resorts for our next stay in Cozumel. Very disappointed.

Edit to add:
Tonight tried to make reservations for La Iguana for tomorrow night (Wednesday) and was told only thing available was 8:30 or 9:00. We declined and tried to make them for Friday and was told it’s too far away and to find a waiter named Juan at breakfast to make reservations for Friday. Really? Find a waiter to make reservations for dinner at a different restaurant. Again, we were here in June (a few months ago) it seems making reservations changes daily.

Additional Edit on 11/17/21
Ordered a Miami Vice and was told no Strawberry mix, so went Piña colada. Sat down for a snack and ordered chips, guacamole, and pico. The waiter told us they didn’t have pico. Really? An all inclusive resort in Mexico doesn’t have pico.

We still have 3 days of our trip left and planned to return with our kids. After this experience we will not be returning to The Malia. It’s sad because we really like this resort, at least the last times we were here. This trip not so much.

Last edit update 11/20/21
Just arrived home from our trip. To be fair, after I posted the initial review, coincidentally the staff did a much better job at cleaning the beach to where it was at least useable. Don’t go by the pictures of the resort on Google images as they don’t seem to be current (last 6 months). The resort has completed some updates inside the main lobby area since June but they seem to be missing the mark on the little things. You should be able to make reservations for dinner at the front desk, not track down a waiter named Juan at breakfast, and two days in advance is not too far away to make reservations. I do recommend getting the couples massage. We had two, one the day after arriving and one the day before leaving. The ladies do an amazing job, very relaxing. Also, to be fair, don’t expect the typical Caribbean water in front of the resort. In June it was very green from the algae but still clear. This trip it was brown, and your feet were not visible in 8” of water. I know the resort has no control over the sea, but if you want Caribbean water stay anywhere else. I don’t have any idea if/when the water will go back to the beautiful blue they once had. It was a very relaxing trip, good food, friendly staff, and nice rooms.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kx450riderAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 November 2021

While the resort is outwardly pretty, the details are lacking. Terrible food, no high end liquors, poor air conditioning, ants in the restaurant floor biting your feet. The adults pool lacks sun as it’s hidden behind the tower.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank hoppystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia Cozumel, Director General at Melia Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2021

Dear hoppystar,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We regret to read your expectations were not exceeded with the service and attention offered at our resort. Our chefs and food and beverage managers are cognizant of your comments and suggestions in regards to the quality and variety of our menus and will soon be working on proper improvements. We will also be checking our air conditioning system and public areas cleaning process. We will love to host you again and show you the improvements we will be making.

Best regards

Guest Service Center Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews