We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Second Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cozumel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
IslaMar Vacation Villas
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have and will continue to stay at IslaMar Villas. After staying with Sherri for about eight years in a row, there is not another place we would rather be. We have stayed in various hotels over the years, but we love all the space, the huge king-size bed, being able to cook at home, having a refrigerator stocked with cold beer, spending an afternoon in the pool, having our bicycles in the bike rack right inside the door of the villas. The neighbors around IslaMar have become familiar faces, and although we don't speak Spanish, we are greeted every year with a wave and big smile. We can easily walk/bike for groceries and if we do want to go out for a meal, everything is close. Tacos at No Name Taco, pizza at No Name Pizza, tortas at El Hit, fish at San Carlos or a fancy meal at La Mission--all within walking distance (some of those being within 2-3 blocks from "home.") There is nowhere else we would consider a second home as we do Islamar.

Room Tip: we prefer to be upstairs for the review and great breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lbrownie711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I just spent two weeks at IslaMar. I can echo what others have already said. Our suite was spacious, clean and had all the necessities. Sherri and Zuri are very, very helpful. They answered all our questions and on the day we left, Sherri gave us a ride to the ferry. The pool looks great. We didn't use it, but saw that others did. We loved having a balcony and spent every morning and evening sitting there enjoying the warmth and listening to the sounds of the neighborhood. We enjoyed staying away from the tourist zone and loved trying out many of the local eateries! We live in a very quiet area, so we did notice the level of noise around Islamar (dogs barking, scooters honking, marching bands practicing, children playing, vendors playing music as they moved through the neighborhood selling their products, etc.). However, we were out a lot during the day and it was quiet at night, so wasn't a huge problem. Would certainly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niedermoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband and I spent a week at IslaMar and loved being away from the tourists and in a neighborhood. We could walk into 'town' and to many restaurants in our neighborhood. Nothing is really very far away. Because we wanted to see the east side of the island we rented a car which also enabled us to do a bit of grocery shopping. Having a motorcycle or moped would be fun, too, but my husband and I have never been on one of these together so we didn't. Not this time. IslaMar was perfect for us. Our sweet apartment was clean with plenty of space for us to spread out. We enjoyed having our own table and chairs on the patio just outside our door. We enjoyed having a pool for when we came home (often after half a day snorkeling) in the afternoons when it was still hot outside. Sherrie also has a great library of old DVDs so we got to see some favorites from long ago. She provides lots of helpful information upon arrival and was always available any time we had any questions or concerns. She was also ready to drive us to the ferry terminal early on a Sun morning until she learned that we were returning our rental car and that wasn't necessary. We'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Prices, cleanliness and customer service can' be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredfeb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have always stayed at all inclusive, and so glad we chose IslaMar for our first time renting a villa, and look forward to going again. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The courtyard is very tranquil. It was warm enough to get in the pool. We loved our balcony, we sat out at night and listened to the sounds of the neighbourhood. Loved that we were away from all the Tourist spots, ferry dock etc. but were within walking distance or short cab ride away. Sherrie was very helpful both prior and during our stay with recommendations for dinner, site seeing etc. She really cares about making sure you are enjoying your stay.
We enjoyed exploring the Island on foot and by scooter.
Zuri , I promise we will be more fluent in Spanish next visit, but you seemed to know what we were saying , Thanks for helping us get to the Chocolate Factory.
Thanks again to everyone! Hope you have a great 2014.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms get the sun, lower level view of courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silverspring3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was unfortunate enough to spend only 1 week there, I would have "Loved" to make it more, but no more room in the inn. Quiet, relaxing, up when you want, cook what you want if you chose to, secure. Sherri Davis a very gracious hostess and Zuri always willing to help. If you're looking for a quiet, out of the way place to stay in Cozumel, you must try here...can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Studio villa, lots of room for 1 - 2 people. Water supplied, fridge, stove, coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herbal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
5.7 km away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
13.1 km away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
3,783 reviews
7 km away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
561 reviews
1.7 km away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
3,793 reviews
12.9 km away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IslaMar Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IslaMar Vacation Villas

Address: Avenida 55 Avenida sur # 316-332 | Between Calle 3 Sur & Morelos, Cozumel 77640, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range: $80 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1998, owner Sherri Davis & staff personally take care of all guests on a daily basis. Six spacious, comfortable villas are situated around a relaxing tropical garden, pool, waterfall & jacuzzi area with hammocks. Villas are nonsmoking and have king beds, A/C, TV/Cable/DVD, free Wi-Fi, kitchens with dishes and porches. Located in a regular neighborhood behind the downtown tourist zone, many “locals” eateries, a park & neighborhood grocery are just around the corner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing