We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very, very nice and romantic, Italian eatery”
Review of Sorrisi

Sorrisi
Ranked #27 of 445 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 29 September 2016

If you want a romantic dinner destination, unbelievable atmosphere, friendly wait staff, and the most incredible food , Sorrisi's is it! The food is unbelievably good. It truly is a hidden gem on this island. We have never left this restaurant hungry. I always get the mushroom soup which comes in a bread bowl as my appetizer. And my main course is Lobster lasagna. Its always full of local lobster and so good. Sorrisi's also has an incredible wine list and almost every tequila you could imagine...It's a 5 star restaurant with out a doubt!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OSUCowboys83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2016

This restaurant is a hidden gem on the Island. We visit Cozumel several times a year and try to go every time we're there.

The dining area is a beautiful brick room, with elegant archways, very romantic. All the food here is excellent, but our favorite is the fish baked in sea salt (share with 2 people). For this meal they need to get fresh fish from the market in the morning, so unless you've requested it in advance, they're not likely to have it. The wine list is excellent, which is a rarity on the island. We love to give Francesco, the owner, a price range and let him pick a bottle for us and we always end up with a very nice wine for our meal.

The service can sometimes be slow, but if you don't have anywhere to be and enjoy the people you are with there's no problem.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank khpederson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sorrisi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you very much for your comment, we are happy you enjoyed your dinner, we wait again for Cozumel and Sorrisi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I picked this based on Yelp and Travel Advisor reviews, as well as the menu. It looked like a nice Italian place with fresh local seafood.
When we were seated, we were the only people in the place--no biggie. The waiter immediately took our drink orders and recommended a wine for my wife.
On the menu, I asked about the local catch of the day prepared as their specialty---1st thing on the menu under entrees. They said they had some grouper, but they didn't offer it in the way listed on the menu. OK, no biggie, but not great for a place that puts the special dish at the top of the list on the menu. Mind you, this was not a daily special, but a specialty of the house, so they should have it every night.
Moving on, the waiter suggested the octopus carpaccio, which we got. Now this......this was a disappointment, as the octopus slices were still frozen. I mean, at least thaw it a little longer, so the ice crystals melt.
As a former fine-dining server, I tend not to return anything (besides a poorly-cooked steak) to the kitchen, so I said nothing of the frozen octopus.
The meals were decent--I had the grouper in foil and my wife had vegetarian raviolis. Both were very average--not bad, just not deserving of the price they put on it here.
After the meal, I asked for an espresso and the lime pie. The lime pie was frozen solid, but I think that may have been the way it was intended. The espresso was forgotten by the waitstaff until about 90% through dessert. They said my waiter had forgotten it, but he came over and said something about the machine was "cold" and they had to warm it up. Now this was funny, because they didn't even have a working machine, so they sent a guy next door to a coffee shop to get the espresso.....then it sat on the bar for 5 more minutes. It was a train wreck....seriously, for a place of this (supposed) caliber.
All-in-all, mediocre food and service (although very friendly) will not have us returning.

Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas A, Director Comercial at Sorrisi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

First i would like to aplogize for my english if the gramma is not correct
thanks for posting the review and taking long enough time to give you extensive critical view.
We have carefully reviewed your text and we believe that although your opinión is completely personal there are some points we like to clarify :
1- with regard to the fish of the day, on that day we had no whole fish to serve you backed in salt as you requested, we apologize but our menú specifies in written words that this dish will be prepared only if we have sayd whole fish and on said day we had none in our restaurant for outside weather issues, so we offered you the Filette al cartoccio wich as i read you like it.
2- Our octopus carpaccio is cooked then frozen. We served sliced rasor tin no more then 1 mm thick because of its thickness can not be served frozen, yes it is served very cold, maybe you are not used to heve it served this way. If so we aplogyze.
3- What you call Our key lime pie is our semi freddo whit key lime flavour all most like ice cream, thas it was right the way it was served, maybe it was not like you expecting it but never the less this is the real italian semi freddo but so is the dessert.
4- As for the coffee, we had a problem whit our espresso machine but in order to give the coffee you asked we went to the coffe shop next door purchase one and gave you and served you the coffe you asked. We are sorry if that cost you trouble but we field this was the best way to please you if you feel you we did wrong by doing so we again apalogyze.
Again we want to Thank you for you visit and the clarification and we are really sorry your experience whit us was not to your satisfaction.
Please come back to us give us an oportunitty to serve you and we take this oprtunity to apologize in failing to meet your expectations, and we hope to show you that surely was only an unfortunated mis understanding.
Sincerely him.

Ante que nada gracias por escribir su opinion y por tomarse el tiempo suficiente para poder dar su extensa critica, hemos revisado atentamente lo que nos indica en su texto y consideramos que si bien es su opinion completamente personal hay puntos en los que vale la pena aclarar:
1- con lo que respecta al pescado del día, por esos dias no hubo pesca del dia por cuestiones climaticas ajenas a nuestro restaurante, por lo que le ofrecimos el filette y por lo que vemos fue de su agrado. En nuestro menu esta precisamente aclarado esto.
2- el carpaccio se debe congelar para poder ser conservado, y se sirve frio pero no congelado, su espesor es muy pequeño por lo que no pudo haberse servido con cristales de hielo.
3- La tarta de lima la servimos como un pastel semi helado, por lo que es correcto que haya sido como se le sirvio, quizas no fue de su agrado pero asi es el postre.
4- En cuanto al cafe, tuvimos un inconveniente en nuestra maquina de espresso, pero para poder brindarle el cafe que usted pidio simplemente nos acercamos al local de al lado para que pudieran hacer su cafe, pensamos que es una solucion valida para el caso.
Gracias por su visita y aclarados estos puntos le pedimos disculpas por no haber logrado cumplir sus espectativas, de todas formas lo esperamos nuevamente para poder demostrarle que seguramente solo fue un problema de entendimiento.
Lo saludamos atentamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

My wife and I returned to Cozumel after 30 years and found this fabulous restaurant.
I am a tough critic, former restaurant owner and Italian born mother.
I can tell you that this place gets it right, great food, great service, great atmosphere.

A pleasant surprise to find on an island off Mexico......BRAVO

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ed46350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sorrisi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thank you very much for your nice coment, our chef and our staff thanks you as well. They are the once that pride themself in giving our clients great food and a great experience. Again we are grateful for your nice comment. Please visit us again next time you are in Cozumel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

First of all this place is truly beautiful and has a very authentic Italian feel. The menu is appetizing and the wine list decadent. Unfortunately they do not have many of the wines on the list and the food was inconsistent. The pasta was tasty yet the sauces were salty and the seafood overcooked. The service was fine but we were not overwhelmed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sorrisi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

First of all we would like to thank you for visiting our restaurant, we apologize and take into consideration the suggestions given to us, no doubt it was something we usually do not experience in contrary we pride ourself in giving our customers an excellent food and service experience. Aparently we failed to do it with you, we hope you will visit us again and give us another opportunity on your next visit to Cozumel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorrisi also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Sorrisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing