We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for renovation under new ownership”
Review of Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar - CLOSED

Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 August 2017

I've been to BT several times over the past few years. Unfortunately on our recent visit, we found that it is closed for renovation, under new ownership. It appears to have been closed for many months, and it appears that it will open under a new name and look.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bkmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Many of you have reached out asking if we recently reopened Bahia Tortuga under a new name of “Skulls Landing”. We did not reopen. We do; however, still hold the title to the property that the new business is operating at. The person who opened the new business did so illegally – without ownership or consent. The same person contracted to purchase our property in June, 2016 but has refused to pay us. This person has false documents that have kept us from entering our own property. For lack of better words, he’s a squatter. We are in litigation to get possession of our property… our retirement. We’ve heard that this guy has solicited investors. If you know of anyone considering partnering with this guy, please urge them not to. It is heartbreaking that we find ourselves in this predicament, but it does warm our hearts to hear that many of our friends are boycotting any property that this person has ties with.

On a brighter note, we are very happy and enjoying living close to family in Texas. If you are passing through the DFW area, please give us a shout. We would love to visit.

Rhonda & Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

This was our second time visiting Bahia Tortuga and both times were great. Grouper sandwiches, cold beers, strong mojitos, wonderful conch fritters and cooling off in their pool is a perfect afternoon after riding around the island.

Thank lechillura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We stumbled upon Bahia Tortuga and are so glad we did. This review is a little late but deserved. the setting is beautiful looking at the water.Big dock you can walk out on and look at water. Great ambiance. Drinks were great. owner and bartender very friendly. I understand it is now being remodeled - I can only imagine it will be awesome. Cant wait to visit again

    • Value
    • Service
Thank suziq2Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

What a fun spot on our private bar crawl! We had taken a taxi to Soggy Peso, had plenty of drinks there, and decided to walk back to Centro but just a few minutes down the road was Bahia Tortuga, and since it was just a little before sunset we decided to pop in! In my trip notes I wrote that we were greeted and supplied menus immediately upon sitting at the bar and had our drinks back in two minutes. I was hungry after drinking all afternoon so I ordered a grilled cheese - great comfort food! We walked around their private dock area a little, looking at boats and watching the sunset. We also enjoyed the dachshunds running around because we were desperately missing our two dogs at home. They had super clean, modern bathrooms here and it was much more chill when we went compared to Soggy Peso. We walked back to Centro, it was about 10-12 minutes for us to get back to our hotel (Casa El Pio), and it was a really doable walk after sunset when it was a littler cooler. Our bill was $160 peso for our two cheladas and my grilled cheese, so very good value! I would go again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank misstabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The fish is fantastic, and the philly needs to be tried since it is the specialty. It is a small boutique hotel/bar but has a very nice vibe.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OhioMike21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bahia Tortuga Restaurant - Bar also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing