We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere”

Portico del Peregrino
Ranked #135 of 992 Restaurants in Merida
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: From the Mayan world, in southeastern Mexico, in an authentic colonial house, El Portico del Peregrino offers a courtyard filled with exotic tropical plants in an outdoor dining area.El Portico del Peregrino will make you feel in the middle of Mexico's colonial era, while in the same way you can enjoy the comforts of modern times.
Reviewed 24 February 2017

garden seating, good food, excellent location to main plaza and shops. Service is good and the ambience is super.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank apacheann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017

The courtyards are beautiful and the tables are nicely spaced apart. There are trees and the whole place feels quite romantic. I ordered a 300gr sirloin steak which was ~1/4 inch thick and completely covered the plate. It seems that knives in the Yucatan region are often quite thick and blunt so I laboured my way through the steak. There was a strange taste. My wife ordered snapper and it looked good on the plate but she said it had a very strange taste that she could not identify. This aligns with many of the other reviews.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank scubafanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

A good sized establishment with several pleasant rooms and a courtyard. Perhaps more international than Mexican. My half chicken pibil - cooked in banana leaf with mild spices - was fall off the bone tender and tasty. Mrs B found her shrimps to be over cooked and salty. The heavy hand with the salt is an oft repeated comment in reviews of restaurants in the Yucatan. An excellent glass of Mexican red belied its 50 peso price tag.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Joebelvedere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

This place has a nice atmosphere in the courtyard and we use to enjoy going here. This past weekend we met 4 friends at Portico del Peregrino and it was their first time here. Boy what a disappointment. We always felt rushed here and that didn't change on this night even though we were the only occupied table in the courtyard. Two people had the grilled shrimp which was very salty and two people had the grilled fish which was flavorless. The other 2 people had no comment about their meal. One final thing was that the courtyard smelled of sewer and the mosquitos were plentiful.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EnniceNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

After the theatre we went for late lunch. The service was great. Everybody enjoyed their food. All served hot and came out at the same time. Price was amazing! Garden is very pretty.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portico del Peregrino also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Portico del Peregrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing