We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant got a lot worse”
Review of Casa Amate

Casa Amate
Ranked #227 of 1,403 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Description: With a unique residential concept this restaurant presents a sophisticated experience celebrating the Mexican and South American Cuisine. -From 6PM to 7:30PM we’ll be accepting kids under 12 years and from 8PM to 11PM will be adults and kids over 12 years only. *All bookings have 15 minutes tolerance
Restaurant details
Description: With a unique residential concept this restaurant presents a sophisticated experience celebrating the Mexican and South American Cuisine. -From 6PM to 7:30PM we’ll be accepting kids under 12 years and from 8PM to 11PM will be adults and kids over 12 years only. *All bookings have 15 minutes tolerance
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everybody knows that Mayakoba is awesome place. And Casa Amata is very cozy and clean. But what’s up with the food?! The brunch became so poor. And how is it possible to put already cold well done grilled salmon and prawns back to the fire?! The seafood protein becomes rubbery. The wine was terrible too. Meat and tortillas are good. The desserts looked more like purchased from some pastry shop but fine. It’s not Mayakoba level. The service is wonderful and attentive but very intrusive, each employee asks you every 30 seconds if everything is fine. I hope after the pandemic everything will return to normal. Because for the moment mark 3 is too much. The level of this location implies that guests are the people who travel and know what the level and service should be.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Ilonamafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2021

It's a very relaxing and very chic place. It's modeled, as the name suggests, as a "case", so you have several "rooms", each with its own style. The bar is mind-blowing in terms of the variety of spirits and the cocktails they can make for you, the food is very good - plus they regularly offer some tastings, invite guest chefs for special-night performance dinners, etc.
very nice.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank lubger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2021

We tried all 4 restaurants at Andaz. Tinto was our favorite for both breakfast and lunch. Prices at Andaz are US resort prices, and this was by far the most expensive meal we have had in years (more than $150 for 1 appetizer, 1 gin & tonic, 1 mocktail, 2 main courses, 2 desserts). Our dessert at Sotavento was better than at Casa Amate.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank lacontessa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2021

A normal dining evening here is a delight. We were most satisfied with the outstanding starters. Each one exceptional.
Walter is a fantastic waiter here, able to help steer your dining selections and make your evening quite enjoyable.
We were there also for a second dining experience that was quite exceptional when they welcomed a visiting chef from Oaxaca. Chef Gomez collaborated with visiting Chef Olga Cabrera to create an extremely special menu with mezcal and wine pairings. Not only was it delicious, it was downright reasonable in price. If you are lucky enough to be on property for one of these special evenings, we cannot recommend it enough. GO!

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank Colodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2021

All other restaurants at Andaz are fabulous. This one, however, is overpriced and terrible. I got a piece of fish that had waay too much seasoning on it. Good fish should be served simply. But the worst thing was that my 20 yo daughter decided she wanted to try Casa Azul tequila. Well they ran out but said they had something comparable. So we said ok we will try it. They never told us that each shot would cost more than a dinner entree. The bill was about $150 for 4 shots. At the end of the night my husband said something to the manager. He merely shrugged his shoulders and walked away. Ridiculous. Will never return. But I will return to the Andaz. Great resort with great food except here.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank hhball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Amate also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casa Amate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.