We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$412
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$343/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Residences El Faro(Playa del Carmen)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xaman-ha 7016 Luxury Condominium(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carmen Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
US$171
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$540
US$508
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$891
US$749
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$725
US$518
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,189)
Filter reviews
5,189 results
Traveller rating
3,794
894
295
134
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,794
894
295
134
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ventanasthe grilldinner reservationsallegria barvilla conciergespices restaurantclub royaledeck restaurantinfinity poolwalk in closetdinner theaterchef's tableother resortsour honeymoonall inclusive resortmake reservationspool service
Filter
Updating list...
3,458 - 3,463 of 5,189 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My wife and I vacationed at the Royal Hideaway from the 31 of July @ 07 of August, 2011, booked with Transat holidays option plus was included and we were up graded to first class on both flights. Upon arrival at the airport we were assigned a private driver which we shared with a nice couple from Hamilton Ontario, Chuck and Mag.
Check in no pain a bell hop walked us to our room in building 23 great location, beach and lobby close by. We had dinner at palazzos the first night we were meeting friends that had arrived on an earlier flight. Make sure you contact Cynthia Sanchez from customer services she will make your dinner reservations and accommodate on any other reasonable requests you may have, this is what I did prior to arriving at the resort did not need the concierge all week, other than letting her know to put 4 beers in my fridge every day which was done, water bottles also.
This was our fifth time in the Riviera, we vacationed at the RPDC, Valentine, Riviera Princess and once in Cancun at the Gran Caribe, we enjoyed all of our trips but this location to me was the best, compared to the RPDC the beach area was just great, the employees were all excellent always willing to serve you never pressured to tip we did tip approx $100.00 during the week. The layout of the resort is fantastic 20 minute walk to playa Del Carmen $7-$10 taxi drive back to the resort, all of restaurants have air conditioning except the deck/grill which is not needed located on the beach side, the infinity pool and area is just great they will serve you at the pool.
This resort is great do not hesitate to book it, the food, staff, beach and rooms are all great and in a safe area. This resort met all of our expectations

Johnny from Montreal

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CHAPEAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Chapeau,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your vacation with us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My wife and I have been going to Mexico and the Caribbean for over 20 years. We have stayed at many fine resorts (Dreams, Secrets, Couples), but the Royal Hideaway is the only resort I have ever wanted to immediately book a return visit. The food, service and pool areas are all exceptional. The only people I would not recommend this resort to are ones who are looking for exciting nightlife or lots of daytime activities.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrispysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Chrispysmith,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your vacation with us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We had such a great time here. It all starts with the way they greet you at the door and extends to your entire stay. Food was great...rooms were beautiful and was very romantic. I loved that this was a smaller resort and all the staff ends up knowing you by your first name. Go! You will love it too!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetsJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear SweetsJK,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent vacation with us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We went to RH for a week in July. We had really high expectations after reading tripadvisor reviews and were so disappointed. It might be that we aren't the ideal clientele for RH (we love to cook, eat organic/sustainable/local, outdoor sports, etc). Quite possibly we should have done our research better, so keep that in mind.

We did enjoy:
- The Beach and infinity pool are both beautiful. A downside was that pool chairs were gone by 9:30 a.m. and we were never able to get one of the sun beds. We had to get up early and go lay down towels/books to get seats.
- The service is outstanding. From bellmen to waiters to pool service, all wonderful, friendly and working hard!
- Azia. Food was fairly good (although our waiter didn't seem to want to let us order 3 sushi rolls & encouraged us to just split 2- those are tiny!). We ate here twice.
- Ventanas. Portions were tiny, and some of it was over-salted, but it was okay. We also ate here twice.
- Piano Bar next to Ventanas.
- Tea in afternoon- get the mexican coffee!

Did not enjoy:
- Noise from next door- we were in a villa that bordered the resort, and music went until 11/11:30 and sometimes later.
- Uncomfortable mattress/ bedding.
- The wine- they only had one variety by the glass (Frontera). The shiraz was decent, the rest not so good. And after several nights of drinking the same wine, it just doesn't taste good anymore. Also the whole flashy routine is silly (pouring for tasting after you've already drank it for 5 nights in a row).
- Irons had strange dirty stuff coming out of them (sea salt? sand?). Ruined two shirts, and we went through 2 irons before they brought in a clean one. When we showed them to housekeeping, they made no effort to reimburse cleaning costs, etc.
- Mold in bathrooms, peeling paint, green mold in shower, rust on balcony.
- Jacuzzis around property were cold! We tried to go in at night a few times, and they were just a few degrees warmer than pool. We never saw anyone in them.
- Fitness Center tiny and outdated.
- We paid for airport transport and our reservation was messed up (company said we were going to a different hotel). It meant waiting on the blacktop at the Cancun airport in hot sun for about an hour until a van came for us. This was arranged through RH
- Allegria Bar. Our drinks were awful and the couches were like something you'd expect in a frat house. Worn out, gross.
- The food overall was super salty. We got very sick on our second day at Palazzo. I had the veal there and it was the worst I've ever had. We maintain a low-sodium diet at home, so this could have been why we got sick. We were sick from Day 2 through the end of our trip, off and on.
- Stray Dogs. I know it's Mexico and they're everywhere, but it was super depressing to see them running around resort/behind restaurants.
- The Deck (only real lunch option- Spices was just buffet food when we were there)- food wasn't good (the fish soup and watermelon gazpacho were awful) and I'd expect more from a 5star.
- Breakfast. Awful. Probably the worst part of our trip. The buffet food was just standard, greasy food. I had a yogurt and some (not good) granola every day. Likewise, room service breakfast was super limited (toast/pastries and fruit).
- Limited choices for restaurants at night (only a few open each night).

Most people expect to gain a few lbs on vacation. We (combined) lost 10+ pounds in a week. This was because the portion were so small, food just wasn't worth eating, and being sick for the bulk of the trip. We are so disappointed that we spent so much $ here expecting a great vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank KEMP527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear KEMP,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent vacation with us.

We strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Royal Hideaway Playacar was such a wonderful change from the first hotel we stopped at on this vacation, they would have had to poison us to keep us from loving it. Fortunately, they did not and my wife and I had such a wonderful stay.

Distance from the Airport:
Playacar is a bit of a drive/ride from the airport. The only reason I bring this up is that you might want to consider factoring this in to your travel time. My wife and I were fortunate enough to have private transfer and it was really nice as it allowed us to set a romantic tone as we watched the sights around us, such as they were.

Playacar:
I think the first thing we noticed about Playacar was how safe and secluded we felt. Every auto was checked at the gate before being allowed to proceed. Given the fears of violence in the area (vastly overblown in my opinion), this was a major plus for us. As soon as we drove in we were surrounded by fine resorts, lush tropical plants and the feeling that we were really in for something special. Again, this was just a great way to mentally get into vacation mode and set ourselves into romance mode.

Checking In:
Check in was wonderful and we were immediately offered a cool towel and I was offered champagne while my wife--who was pregnant--was provided with a chilled bottle of water. Both the towels and the drinks helped cut the humidity and were a nice touch . The reception area is in a private air conditioned room where you are seated prior to check in which also lends to a feeling that you are there to relax. Although we had just switched from hotel 1 to the Royal Hideaway 4 hours prior to our arrival, the hotel staff found our reservation quickly and before we knew it we were being shown to our room.
The rooms are all located in bungalows with about 12-16 rooms/bungalow. Each bungalow had its own concierge to help you with anything you wanted which was great. Our concierge did not think our room would be to our liking -- it faced a loud RIU property next door so while she showed it to us, she also offered to get us a more secluded room away from the noise. This was incredibly thoughtful and we did end up going with another room, at no extra charge. Even though we changed our rooms, our luggage was brought to our new room and arrived within minutes. The rooms were nice and cool inside -- again, this is the tropics so a good A/C is so appreciated. The bed was VERY comfortable and such a welcome relief from the usual hard beds that are typical of many resorts in the Yucatan. There is a separate shower and jetted bath, double sinks and tastefully appointed rooms in general. We really liked the scented candle in the room and used it often during the evening for some added romance.

ROOM SERVICE:
Top notch, they cleaned everything, organized any clothes that were left out, always provided fresh towels and toiletries and kept us stocked with fresh cold water bottles, sodas and beers. During the evening, housekeeping would come back and provide a really lovely turn down service.

CONCIERGE:
While we did not need our concierge very often, she played a key role in our experience. First, she stopped by to introduce herself and ask if everything was great in the room, which it was. At our convenience, we were invited to stop by for a discussion on the grounds, restaurants, services, etc. Later that day, we stopped by to setup a couples massage and she made sure that they could provide a pregnancy massage during our scheduled time--this was nice because we did not have to spend one second on the phone asking all these questions, it was all done for us. In addition to our babymoon, we were also celebrating our 2nd anniversary and my 35th birthday, and the concierge had balloons everywhere in our room and door to make sure we celebrated in style. The chocolate cake she had set out for me was delicious. The concierge also arranged for a private photographer to come and do a babymoon photo shoot for us that has left us with some truly spectacular photos! As a final thank you, we received a nice card from our concierge a few weeks after we returned from our holiday thanking us again for staying with the RH..

The Grounds:
Are gorgeous, tropical and lush. There had been rain for the two previous days so the soaking pools that are spread throughout the grounds were a bit dirty and full of leaves, but otherwise it was spotless. Also, you will see wildlife walking about the resort--there are lizards of all sizes, small brown beaver looking animals and a variety of birds. The nice thing is that you feel like you are the only people at the resort--could be a sign of the times, but we loved the solitude, we were not here to party.

The Pool:

The pool was really nice. Again, we were not here to party, so the fact that there were not activity directors everywhere trying to get us to do shots was perfect. There are two RIU Palaces nearby that would be better for guests seeking this kind of activity--they are nice as well. The staff was pretty good at reading your need if you needed a drink but there were times when we had to wait awhile. The infinity pool was just gorgeous and we spent a lot of time just relaxing and watching the sea, the palm trees framed the Caribbean like a perfect picture frame. there were plenty of bali beds available throughout the grounds and some of the pool/beach seats had hot tubs next to them-- a nice bonus.

The BEACH

The beach did have a good amount of shells on it, so it could be sharp at times, but they had to rebuild a good portion of this beach after hurricane season, so I was just glad that there was a beach. There is really nothing better than laying on the sand with your hands in the sand, feet in the sea (for those of you who have been there, you will recognize my thinly veiled reference to the resort theme song!) The ocean itself was beautiful with a light north to south current that was perfect for floating in. I felt pity for the folks stuck on the cruise ships!

The FOOD

Again, the global recession has really struck some of the high end resorts and the RH was no exception. This was most obvious when one noted that not all the restaurants are open every night, which is really too bad. We absolutely loved the Mexican restaurant for lunch, the wait staff there was remarkable, made cute animals for us and always remembered what we were drinking and willing to make virgin versions for pregnant wife! The breakfast was nice and all the windows provide a perfect view of the morning sun rising over the sea. Asia was our favorite restaurant by far--the teppanyaki show was really top notch as was the food, wish we could have gone again, but we wanted to hit all the restaurants. The food is just incredible! The Italian restaurant is also good, although the food was better the second time we went for dinner. I always recommend trying the grappa as a finishing digestiv--that is bloody firewater! Finally, the modern restaurant was also good, just not really our favorite style of food, but quite nicely executed. We did not eat at the steak house (no A/C) or Mexican restaurant for dinner (not open during stay for dinner). Again, the service was really nice and the food was surprisingly good, the best we have had in Mexico and well worth the price of admission for this high end resort. The dessert at Azia is not to be missed!

The SPA:
All spas are pricey and this was no exception. The service was really nice and we did not regret spending the $$$ The spa facilities were rather nice as well.

The CONS:
(1) There is a stunning theater that only has shows 1 night of the week. We were not there so we did not get to enjoy any on premise entertainment. One of the things we love about RIU are the nightly shows, which while cheesy, are really entertaining and a nice way to avoid having to leave the property;
(2) Wish all restaurants were accessible every night;

Really minor blips, we had a wonderful time and felt like we were at our own private resort the entire time . . . to us, this was not a bad thing!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank AndyMac94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Andy,

We first would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Playacar and for sharing your comments on your experience among us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews