We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$539
US$269
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Be Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Reef Coco Beach(Playa del Carmen)
US$181
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Petit Lafitte(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
US$154
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$410
US$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$2,396
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,257)
Filter reviews
5,257 results
Traveller rating
3,836
910
297
136
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,836
910
297
136
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ventanasthe grilldinner reservationsallegria barvilla conciergespices restaurantclub royaledeck restaurantdinner theaterinfinity poolchef's tableother resortswalk in closetsax playerour honeymoonall inclusive resortquiet resort
Filter
Updating list...
2,219 - 2,224 of 5,257 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2015

We selected the Royal Hideaway both on personal recommendation and on the excellent reviews. Overall it did not disappoint - the rooms were spacious, the hotel grounds beautifully maintained, the beach stunning and the food generally fantastic. The staff were very friendly and the service usually excellent - although when on the beach it was patchy at times. If you are looking for a more upmarket all inclusive experience in a quiet location then I would definitely recommend the Royal Hideaway. However there are a few problems to highlight.

- the rooms have seen better days and could do with a spruce up
- the restaurant booking system could be improved, our first concierge messed up our reservations on more than one occasion - check your confirmation email carefully. Ideally book before arrival if this is possible.
- SECURITY. The balcony of our first room looked straight out into trees/vegetation, no view at all (see room recommendations). One evening I heard the balcony door shaking and looked to see a member of staff had climbed up the trellising from below and was checking to see if our balcony was open. Luckily it wasn't (and we were in the room at the time), he jumped down and ran off when I confronted him. However the locks didn't seem to be exceptionally secure. Front desk were apologetic and promised that security would be increased, and were able to meet our request to switch to a room with a less hidden balcony. Hopefully this isn't a common occurrence, but do be aware.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 2817 and 2827 - the terrace/balcony look directly out into vegetation.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Nick B,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you choose Royal Hideaway Playacar for your holidays recommended by your friends. But above all, we are happy to read that we met your expectations.

We apologize for the inconvenient you had at the balcony of your first room. We take very seriously all the comments and suggestions; it is the first time that we have such kind of situation. Our staff is our backbone and the extraordinary service and honest people working here is exactly what gives us loyal guests that keep coming back every year. The most important is to know that you were moved to another room where you felt more comfortable.

Let us know when you are coming back and we will be happy to help you with any special request you have. It would be great to host you again.

Warm Regards from Royal Hideaway Playacar and we hope to see you soon,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

The Royal Hideaway was an incredible experience! The rooms were top notch, the beaches were breathtaking, and the service was fantastic! I enjoyed my stay there so much and can't wait to come back (hopefully in a few months!) and see my favorite bartender Jose Quiroz (up at Las Vantanas bar). He makes the best "secret" drinks I've ever had.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessswenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Jessswenson,

Thank you for your nice words.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Royal Hideaway Playacar. Thank you for sharing your experience about us with other future visitors.

For sure, all the staff and specially your bartender are here waiting for you.

It was our pleasure to assist you and we will be happy to host you again in a few months

Sincerely,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

This was an amazing all inclusive. I am so happy we picked it. The food was great, the grounds were beautiful, and best of all, the service was outstanding. Myself, husband, cousin, and her boyfriend traveled together. We went to celebrate my cousin's 30th birthday. We were on the younger side at this resort being in our late 20's, but we did not mind that as we were looking more for quiet and relaxation over a party atmosphere (plus we were able to go out in Playa Del Carmen one night to get our partying done). Most resort guests I would say are in their 40's and 50's.

My cousin and I did EXTENSIVE research before deciding on the Royal Hideaway and I am so happy we did chose this hotel for the following reasons:
1. Service: Starting with replying to emails and making reservations for restaurants before we even arrived! We also requested building 31 based on other reviews as it is closest to the pool and beach (some of the buildings are a short walk), we were put right into 31 when we arrived. They also gave us adjoining rooms. Every building has a private concierge and Roberto was ours, he was excellent! He even arranged to have my cousin's room filled with balloons one day when we returned from the beach. Your concierge can help you plan special dinners and outings. We did the private beach dinner (our guys surprised us...and it was worth the money just to be eating on the beach alone). They treated us like royalty. The service at the restaurants and bars is top notch as well. I have never been to an all inclusive that will deliver drinks and food right to your hand on a lounge chair on the beach. The waiters are so available and actually remember your favorite drinks! Our favorite waiter was Roberto, he served us at Las Ventanas our first night and also at the beach on multiple days. He saw me walking one day by the pool and asked where we were sitting on the beach so he made sure we would get all the food and drinks we needed. If you didn't get my point....the service is AMAZING. Everyone is so friendly.

2. Food: The Italian restaurants and Las ventanas are very over the top and the food is great. There are dress codes at most of the restaurants. We had dishes like osso bucco, fog legs, black truffle marinades etc...Everything was made to order. We ate at the hibachi grill one night, las ventanas two nights, out in playa del Carmen one night (oh la la by George is a great restaurant in town), the Italian one night, and had the beach dinner one night. For lunch we ate at the deck every day. Our favorite dishes were the fish tacos and chicken fingers. You can also order salads. They have a huge menu to order from for lunch. We did the buffet for breakfast at Spices as we liked to have lots of choices. The buffet is large with lots of fresh fruit! The made to order breakfast at Spices is good as well. *note if you do a day trip ( we went to Coba and a cenote) you can ask for a box lunch to go!

3. Activities: They offer Scuba Diving right at the resort, it is not included, but not expensive either. We enjoyed our refresher course and dive! They have water aerobics and things like bingo as well, but we did not participate. They are not "in your face" about activities at all and they are not loud when they are happening.

4. BEACH: We walked up and down the beach and kept thinking how lucky we were as our section was the nicest and cleanest. They had a problem with seaweed when we were there. I personally would not have mind, but the sea weed (not the prettiest) made a barrier between the beach and the water, making it hard to access the water to swim). Our hotel was the ONLY hotel that cleaned the seaweed away so you didn't see it and could access the water. The beach is pristine and the lounge chairs are so comfortable. The other hotels on the beach had the chairs packed in sooo tight. The chairs here are very spread out!

Thank you Royal Hideaway for an amazing trip! We could not recommend you enough!

Room Tip: building 31 near pool and beach.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Dear Ali M,

It is very kind of you to write your warm impressions about our hotel on this review. The kind feedback is self-evident.
We want to thank you for sharing your experience and recommendation to our future visitors who are planning to visit this beautiful Riviera Maya.
After your extensive research, we feel proud and lucky to be chosen as your holiday destination. We were very happy to read that our facilities provided you comfort and tranquility.

For your next trip do not hesitate to contact us in case you need anything in advance, we will be happy to assist you again but this time even before your arrival.

Very warm regards,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

My family just returned after a week at the Royal Hideaway. This trip my wife and I were joined by our 16 year old daughter and one of her friends. (I understand that minors are no longer allowed, but we booked prior to that change) Before we left we read some of the reviews, good and bad. I hope our experience can help bring balance. Because a review is largely based on perception, here is our background; judge accordingly. My wife and I are in our mid-forties. We have stayed on four Caribbean islands, three regions of Mexico and taken one cruise. This was our second trip to the Yucatan peninsula. We do not travel for the night life and are up to watch the sun rise. We travel to dive, experience other cultures and escape winter. We tend to view the world as ‘cup half full’.
Grounds: This might have been the smallest resort we have visited. The grounds are narrow and deep. They do not feel cramped, but it does not feel spacious either. There is one main pool overlooking the beach. It is not difficult to get a chair and the staff made regular visits to check on your comfort. The landscaping is beautiful and if you are willing to give up the beach view, there are several small pools where you can find yourself alone. As with all resorts, the humidity and salt water take a toll but we thought the grounds were very well maintained. It was also about a 30 minute walk down the beach into Playa del Carmen, so for us the location was a benefit.
Rooms: They are also a little smaller than some other resorts we have visited, but very nice, clean and safe. The closet was nice and big, the bed was VERY comfortable and a variety of lighting and cooling options were available. The bathroom area had a double vanity sink, although the addition of a jetted tub made it a one person shower.
Food: BY FAR the best we have had on vacation. My wife and I are up early so we were ready at 7AM when the first breakfast option was available; it is the only buffet at the resort. An hour later an ala carte option opened, but the buffet was so good we ate it every morning but one. The dinner options were all excellent. The presentation was unique, the quality high and the amounts are now forcing me to consider increasing my exercise routine. Even a pair of finicky 16 year old girls could not find fault with even one meal. The Italian restaurant was our favorite, the Asian restaurant our least.
Beach: Nice, soft white sand. The snorkeling from the shore was disappointing, but if you want a few waves, some sun and a beautiful view; you have it here. Speaking of snorkeling/diving: You either need to catch a ride down to Akumal or the ferry across to Cozumel. There is a dive shop on premises, but we found them to very rigid and unwilling to consider any options. We had much better luck with options available in Cozumel.
Noise: We’ve read several reviews that the neighboring resorts keep you up at night. We could hear their music when we were outside, but it never bothered us at night. That said, our room faced to the inside of the resort. If you had a room overlooking the next resort, I could understand how it would be a problem.
Overall: This is a very relaxed, intimate, romantic resort. There is no swim up bar, no diving for tequila bottles, no thumping music. If you are looking for upscale food and a quiet place to spend time with your spouse, this is it.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Dear Dale B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide details of your recent stay with us. We value your objective feedback as it allows us to continuously improve upon the high standards of service we strive for.

It is a pleasure to read that you and your family had a pleasant time together at the resort. All the details shared are not only important for our future visitors but also very important for all of us. We learn from your experiences and notes.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon to your home at Royal Hideaway Playacar.

Best regards,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Hideaway from the 3rd Jan - 17th Jan.
It was our first visit to Playacar and we absolutely loved the whole experience.

The hotel is located on a great stretch of beach next to many other hotels and within walking distance (15-20mins) of 5th Avenue if you wish to go shopping or eat outside of the resort.

We were welcomed on our arrival with a refreshing towel and glass of champagne before being shown to our room.
The room itself was a nice size and had everything you need for a comfortable stay.
We were upgraded from our block 26 in the second week of our stay due to our blocks Concierge going on holiday, we were moved into block 30 which was located nearer to the beach and pool and it was lovely, it had views of the sea and the gardens from the balcony which really ended our second week on a high.
Our only criticism of this resort and we had read this before we booked was the noise of the doors when they close. Because of the construction of the accommodation blocks the sound really echoes throughout. This could be so easily rectified with soft close doors.

The restaurants at the resort Palazzo, The Grill and Azia were our favourites. The breakfast choice at spices where you have your buffet breakfast had a great selection of food for everyone but we found Spices for dinner not quite as good.
The Deck restaurant by the pool for lunch was really good and the addition of the daily BBQ / Buffet which is set up adjacent to the pool is also a well thought option as well.
We went to the Club Royale at the hotel and watched the local show preformed by the hotel staff and this was entertaining, the food choice was limited but of very good quality.

The hotel grounds and gardens are well maintained and everything was being regularly cleaned on the many paths and bridges throughout the resort.

We had read some reports that the hotels next to the Royal Hideaway are loud and noisy, yes you can hear the other hotels entertainment but it is not offensive and does not continue all through the night.

We were so impressed with all of the staff at this resort, they really made us feel genuinely welcome and always met us with a friendly big smile.

This is a hotel we will definitely be returning to due to its great staff firstly and secondly due to its location in Playacar.


Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank richmond63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Dear Richmond63,

First of all, thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination. It is great to know that we got a new loyal guest on you. We read your comments very carefully and we will be happy to share them with our staff. Everything you wrote is a perfect reference for our future visitors and readers on Trip Advisor.
To make you feel genuinely welcome is part of our main job, to know that we made of your time a great experience is our reward. Indeed, our staff is our back bone, we feel proud to be part of the Royal Hideaway family.
If there is anything we can do for you before your next visit, please let us know.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews