We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$317
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Residences El Faro(Playa del Carmen)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$508
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
US$338
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$72
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$504
US$405
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carmen Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Xaman-ha 7016 Luxury Condominium(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$792
US$666
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,179)
Filter reviews
5,179 results
Traveller rating
3,787
893
295
133
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,787
893
295
133
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ventanasthe grilldinner reservationsallegria barvilla conciergespices restaurantclub royaledeck restaurantinfinity poolwalk in closetdinner theaterchef's tableother resortsour honeymoonall inclusive resortmake reservationspool service
Filter
Updating list...
2,156 - 2,161 of 5,179 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2015 via mobile

Just want to say how great not only the hotel was but the great staff made it fun and enjoyable great place if u want great service and relaxing time I totally recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to go to Mexico
Elvis1 and sergio 1 :)

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank molina1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Molina1978,

Thank you for your review! Your nice words are very much appreciated.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful time during your visit to Royal Hideaway and that you were very satisfied with the services provided by our staff at the resort.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other readers and future visitors.

We hope to see you coming back soon,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Just returned from a fabulous trip to the Royal Hideaway.....
My friends and I have been taking a "Girls Trip" to Mexico every year for the past 10-12 years. We are in out early 50's and travel without kids or spouses. We have tried different resorts around Playa and Cancun and always find ourselves going back to the Royal Hideaway. Here is why.... The service and food are amazing! Everyone goes out of their way to help you and make sure you are taken care of. Christian at The Grill and Las Ventanas restaurants was wonderful, he is always polite and courteous and goes out of his way to take care of you. There is Cindy in Spices that always greets you with a smile and remembers who you are. Carlos who makes your omelettes in the mornings is wonderful - so cheery you just want to pinch his cheeks! Carlos, Sergio and Lucy in the Animacion Team are fabulous - always trying to get you to participate in the activities, but not too pushy. I know in the past there have been negative comments about not having enough activities during the day and at night.... Well I can tell you they have stepped it up. There was synchronized swimming at the pool, daily yoga and water aerobics, salsa lessons, ping pong, bingo, etc. at the pool. They also have live music by the pool, a salsa band, an electronic cellist, a saxophone player, etc. What is really nice is that they have a daily lunch buffet poolside - you can eat while you are sitting at the pool or you have the option to go to the poolside restaurant and have a served lunch, or do a combo if you like. Each day the food is different and it is all wonderful. Paella day is a special treat and the chefs do an amazing job poolside!
They also had a Beach Party night that was wonderful - they set up beautiful tables on the beach with ice sculptures and a full bar and a band with a Fire Show that rivals the one they used to have at the Blue Parrot in downtown Playa Del Carmen. They wait on you and serve you at the party and the Animacion team gets everyone up to dance after the fire show. Who doesn't like a party on the beach? There is also a very special masseuse at the Spa - his name is Juan - we nicknamed him Mr. Juanderful - because he gives an amazing massage! Walter takes care of you with any spa service you desire and he is very helpful and courteous. While the resort is older and has been around a while they are making steps to improve it, the buildings are impeccably maintained - all the outdoor furniture is new and they have replaced the old plastic pool loungers with great wooden loungers that are comfortable, sturdy and amazing - the cushions are brand new and very comfortable and they are cleaned daily. They also provide floats if you want to float in the pool instead of lay on a lounger. There are always fresh, warm towels and they come around with fresh fruit, books, or ice cream on a daily basis..... I can't say enough about the staff, from the pool side waiters, the restaurant waiters, to the bartenders, to the maintenance crew that makes sure the resort is spotless every day..... They were all wonderful. Oh, and a special thanks to Jose - our room concierge who helped us with dinner reservations and when we got stranded for an extra day (not complaining at all about that), he was a great help! Also a very special thank you to Enrique who checked us in and out, hassle free and greeted us with champagne upon our arrival! He remembered our names, made us laugh and always had a smile on his face!
Could the rooms use extra electrical outlets? Yes. Could they also use a mirror outside of the bathroom areas, Yes. But those issues are small. The wifi is much improved as well!
The food here is very special - out of all the places we have stayed we all agree that they go above and beyond to offer very contemporary, upscale selections and the quality is amazing. the food is presented artistically and the desserts are works of art! Hats off to the chefs and the food service team! We also never worried about leaving our belongings on our loungers all day - it is very safe here. Our room was cleaned very well every day and the turn down service at night was special as well. I can't say enough about how very special this resort is.....
You just have to go and experience it yourself! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Nancy K,


It is great to read a review coming from one of our special loyal guests, a returning guest for such a long time.

“Thank you for choosing Royal Hideaway Playacar as your holiday destination for the last 12 years”, we are happy to be part of your special trips with your friends.

Your detailed comments and everything you shared will definitely be very helpful for us and our future guests/visitors.

Let us know when you are coming back so we can set up everything in advance for you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2015

We selected the Royal Hideaway both on personal recommendation and on the excellent reviews. Overall it did not disappoint - the rooms were spacious, the hotel grounds beautifully maintained, the beach stunning and the food generally fantastic. The staff were very friendly and the service usually excellent - although when on the beach it was patchy at times. If you are looking for a more upmarket all inclusive experience in a quiet location then I would definitely recommend the Royal Hideaway. However there are a few problems to highlight.

- the rooms have seen better days and could do with a spruce up
- the restaurant booking system could be improved, our first concierge messed up our reservations on more than one occasion - check your confirmation email carefully. Ideally book before arrival if this is possible.
- SECURITY. The balcony of our first room looked straight out into trees/vegetation, no view at all (see room recommendations). One evening I heard the balcony door shaking and looked to see a member of staff had climbed up the trellising from below and was checking to see if our balcony was open. Luckily it wasn't (and we were in the room at the time), he jumped down and ran off when I confronted him. However the locks didn't seem to be exceptionally secure. Front desk were apologetic and promised that security would be increased, and were able to meet our request to switch to a room with a less hidden balcony. Hopefully this isn't a common occurrence, but do be aware.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 2817 and 2827 - the terrace/balcony look directly out into vegetation.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Nick B,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you choose Royal Hideaway Playacar for your holidays recommended by your friends. But above all, we are happy to read that we met your expectations.

We apologize for the inconvenient you had at the balcony of your first room. We take very seriously all the comments and suggestions; it is the first time that we have such kind of situation. Our staff is our backbone and the extraordinary service and honest people working here is exactly what gives us loyal guests that keep coming back every year. The most important is to know that you were moved to another room where you felt more comfortable.

Let us know when you are coming back and we will be happy to help you with any special request you have. It would be great to host you again.

Warm Regards from Royal Hideaway Playacar and we hope to see you soon,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

The Royal Hideaway was an incredible experience! The rooms were top notch, the beaches were breathtaking, and the service was fantastic! I enjoyed my stay there so much and can't wait to come back (hopefully in a few months!) and see my favorite bartender Jose Quiroz (up at Las Vantanas bar). He makes the best "secret" drinks I've ever had.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessswenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Jessswenson,

Thank you for your nice words.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Royal Hideaway Playacar. Thank you for sharing your experience about us with other future visitors.

For sure, all the staff and specially your bartender are here waiting for you.

It was our pleasure to assist you and we will be happy to host you again in a few months

Sincerely,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

This was an amazing all inclusive. I am so happy we picked it. The food was great, the grounds were beautiful, and best of all, the service was outstanding. Myself, husband, cousin, and her boyfriend traveled together. We went to celebrate my cousin's 30th birthday. We were on the younger side at this resort being in our late 20's, but we did not mind that as we were looking more for quiet and relaxation over a party atmosphere (plus we were able to go out in Playa Del Carmen one night to get our partying done). Most resort guests I would say are in their 40's and 50's.

My cousin and I did EXTENSIVE research before deciding on the Royal Hideaway and I am so happy we did chose this hotel for the following reasons:
1. Service: Starting with replying to emails and making reservations for restaurants before we even arrived! We also requested building 31 based on other reviews as it is closest to the pool and beach (some of the buildings are a short walk), we were put right into 31 when we arrived. They also gave us adjoining rooms. Every building has a private concierge and Roberto was ours, he was excellent! He even arranged to have my cousin's room filled with balloons one day when we returned from the beach. Your concierge can help you plan special dinners and outings. We did the private beach dinner (our guys surprised us...and it was worth the money just to be eating on the beach alone). They treated us like royalty. The service at the restaurants and bars is top notch as well. I have never been to an all inclusive that will deliver drinks and food right to your hand on a lounge chair on the beach. The waiters are so available and actually remember your favorite drinks! Our favorite waiter was Roberto, he served us at Las Ventanas our first night and also at the beach on multiple days. He saw me walking one day by the pool and asked where we were sitting on the beach so he made sure we would get all the food and drinks we needed. If you didn't get my point....the service is AMAZING. Everyone is so friendly.

2. Food: The Italian restaurants and Las ventanas are very over the top and the food is great. There are dress codes at most of the restaurants. We had dishes like osso bucco, fog legs, black truffle marinades etc...Everything was made to order. We ate at the hibachi grill one night, las ventanas two nights, out in playa del Carmen one night (oh la la by George is a great restaurant in town), the Italian one night, and had the beach dinner one night. For lunch we ate at the deck every day. Our favorite dishes were the fish tacos and chicken fingers. You can also order salads. They have a huge menu to order from for lunch. We did the buffet for breakfast at Spices as we liked to have lots of choices. The buffet is large with lots of fresh fruit! The made to order breakfast at Spices is good as well. *note if you do a day trip ( we went to Coba and a cenote) you can ask for a box lunch to go!

3. Activities: They offer Scuba Diving right at the resort, it is not included, but not expensive either. We enjoyed our refresher course and dive! They have water aerobics and things like bingo as well, but we did not participate. They are not "in your face" about activities at all and they are not loud when they are happening.

4. BEACH: We walked up and down the beach and kept thinking how lucky we were as our section was the nicest and cleanest. They had a problem with seaweed when we were there. I personally would not have mind, but the sea weed (not the prettiest) made a barrier between the beach and the water, making it hard to access the water to swim). Our hotel was the ONLY hotel that cleaned the seaweed away so you didn't see it and could access the water. The beach is pristine and the lounge chairs are so comfortable. The other hotels on the beach had the chairs packed in sooo tight. The chairs here are very spread out!

Thank you Royal Hideaway for an amazing trip! We could not recommend you enough!

Room Tip: building 31 near pool and beach.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Dear Ali M,

It is very kind of you to write your warm impressions about our hotel on this review. The kind feedback is self-evident.
We want to thank you for sharing your experience and recommendation to our future visitors who are planning to visit this beautiful Riviera Maya.
After your extensive research, we feel proud and lucky to be chosen as your holiday destination. We were very happy to read that our facilities provided you comfort and tranquility.

For your next trip do not hesitate to contact us in case you need anything in advance, we will be happy to assist you again but this time even before your arrival.

Very warm regards,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews