We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #35 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 February 2015

We traveled to the RHP from November 18-23, 2014. It was an overall great experience for our first all inclusive trip. We would have liked to give a rating of 4.5 if possible.

There are many things we loved about the resort. We were greeted with sparkling wine in the opulent lobby, which set the stage for the rest of our stay. The room was spacious and clean. The beach was picturesque- cool, fine, white sand; clear aqua water; plenty of lounge chairs (several with sun shades); and shady spots under trees. The liquor was top shelf. All of the restaurants were excellent, and we were blown away by Ventanas, which we learned was a collaboration with a Michelin-starred chef. Humberto was our waiter for several meals and we had a great interaction with him. We took part in and enjoyed many of the activities that were included in our stay: yoga (aka stretching), water aerobics, kayaking, salsa lessons and a bike ride to downtown Playa del Carmen. We thought the activities made the atmosphere more fun and lively. The activities coordinators made an effort to talk to and get to know the guests, which personalized the experience for us. Carlos and Sergio were especially great. The afternoon tea service was a wonderful treat. There was a wide selection of tea and the pastries were delicious (different each day). An additional unexpected treat was the afternoon BBQ that was setup poolside each day. This provided a nice alternative to the sit down lunch. The menu changed daily but we had whole fish, paella, burgers/hot dogs/wings, and ribs. Jorge and the additional pool side staff/bartenders kept the drinks flowing with quick service.

Onto some of the issues we experienced. The wi-fi was incredibly slow and unreliable throughout the resort. This was a big inconvenience and should not happen. Breakfast was a challenge for us at the buffet. We wanted to enjoy a simple breakfast of fruits and pastries by the pool and/or by the beach each morning, so we thought we would go to the buffet to get our meal to go. This was easier said than done. Each morning, when we told the hostess that we wanted to take a plate to go, we were told that they had to look for plates (and each day, the plates they gave us got progressively smaller). One day, we waited for close to 10 minutes while they "searched" for plates to give us. We also were given stern reminders that only fruit, yogurt and bread/pastry were allowed for take-out. We found this daily encounter somewhat humorous, but not accommodating at all. Lastly, we found the dinner reservation process laborious and unorganized. After reading suggestions from TripAdvisors, we emailed the hotel two weeks in advance of our arrival to make reservations for the restaurants. They made a reservation for us for the evening of our arrival and for the next night, but we were told to make the remaining reservations with our concierge after we arrived. Well, when we arrived, our concierge was gone for the day. The next morning, we ended up spending about half an hour with a substitute concierge making our reservations. By that point, some of the restaurants we wanted to dine at were booked for the duration of our stay or only late time slots were available (after 9:00pm). We thought the whole reservation process could be greatly improved.

Overall, we would certainly go back!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiehrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Fiehrer,

Thank you for taking some time to share details about your recent visit at Royal Hideaway Playacar. It was our pleasure to assist you during your stay.

Our staff will be very happy to know that we fulfilled your expectations.

We apologize for the inconvenience with your reservations at our restaurants. We are working already improving our services in order to avoid such kind of difficulties in future. We take very seriously all your suggestions, it is part of our job to keep working hard in order to improve in all senses.


Once again, thank you for your valuable review and definitely, we will be happy to welcome you back again soon,

Best regards,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,762 - 1,766 of 4,720 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2015 via mobile

Just want to say how great not only the hotel was but the great staff made it fun and enjoyable great place if u want great service and relaxing time I totally recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to go to Mexico
Elvis1 and sergio 1 :)

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank molina1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Molina1978,

Thank you for your review! Your nice words are very much appreciated.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful time during your visit to Royal Hideaway and that you were very satisfied with the services provided by our staff at the resort.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other readers and future visitors.

We hope to see you coming back soon,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Just returned from a fabulous trip to the Royal Hideaway.....
My friends and I have been taking a "Girls Trip" to Mexico every year for the past 10-12 years. We are in out early 50's and travel without kids or spouses. We have tried different resorts around Playa and Cancun and always find ourselves going back to the Royal Hideaway. Here is why.... The service and food are amazing! Everyone goes out of their way to help you and make sure you are taken care of. Christian at The Grill and Las Ventanas restaurants was wonderful, he is always polite and courteous and goes out of his way to take care of you. There is Cindy in Spices that always greets you with a smile and remembers who you are. Carlos who makes your omelettes in the mornings is wonderful - so cheery you just want to pinch his cheeks! Carlos, Sergio and Lucy in the Animacion Team are fabulous - always trying to get you to participate in the activities, but not too pushy. I know in the past there have been negative comments about not having enough activities during the day and at night.... Well I can tell you they have stepped it up. There was synchronized swimming at the pool, daily yoga and water aerobics, salsa lessons, ping pong, bingo, etc. at the pool. They also have live music by the pool, a salsa band, an electronic cellist, a saxophone player, etc. What is really nice is that they have a daily lunch buffet poolside - you can eat while you are sitting at the pool or you have the option to go to the poolside restaurant and have a served lunch, or do a combo if you like. Each day the food is different and it is all wonderful. Paella day is a special treat and the chefs do an amazing job poolside!
They also had a Beach Party night that was wonderful - they set up beautiful tables on the beach with ice sculptures and a full bar and a band with a Fire Show that rivals the one they used to have at the Blue Parrot in downtown Playa Del Carmen. They wait on you and serve you at the party and the Animacion team gets everyone up to dance after the fire show. Who doesn't like a party on the beach? There is also a very special masseuse at the Spa - his name is Juan - we nicknamed him Mr. Juanderful - because he gives an amazing massage! Walter takes care of you with any spa service you desire and he is very helpful and courteous. While the resort is older and has been around a while they are making steps to improve it, the buildings are impeccably maintained - all the outdoor furniture is new and they have replaced the old plastic pool loungers with great wooden loungers that are comfortable, sturdy and amazing - the cushions are brand new and very comfortable and they are cleaned daily. They also provide floats if you want to float in the pool instead of lay on a lounger. There are always fresh, warm towels and they come around with fresh fruit, books, or ice cream on a daily basis..... I can't say enough about the staff, from the pool side waiters, the restaurant waiters, to the bartenders, to the maintenance crew that makes sure the resort is spotless every day..... They were all wonderful. Oh, and a special thanks to Jose - our room concierge who helped us with dinner reservations and when we got stranded for an extra day (not complaining at all about that), he was a great help! Also a very special thank you to Enrique who checked us in and out, hassle free and greeted us with champagne upon our arrival! He remembered our names, made us laugh and always had a smile on his face!
Could the rooms use extra electrical outlets? Yes. Could they also use a mirror outside of the bathroom areas, Yes. But those issues are small. The wifi is much improved as well!
The food here is very special - out of all the places we have stayed we all agree that they go above and beyond to offer very contemporary, upscale selections and the quality is amazing. the food is presented artistically and the desserts are works of art! Hats off to the chefs and the food service team! We also never worried about leaving our belongings on our loungers all day - it is very safe here. Our room was cleaned very well every day and the turn down service at night was special as well. I can't say enough about how very special this resort is.....
You just have to go and experience it yourself! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Nancy K,


It is great to read a review coming from one of our special loyal guests, a returning guest for such a long time.

“Thank you for choosing Royal Hideaway Playacar as your holiday destination for the last 12 years”, we are happy to be part of your special trips with your friends.

Your detailed comments and everything you shared will definitely be very helpful for us and our future guests/visitors.

Let us know when you are coming back so we can set up everything in advance for you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2015

We selected the Royal Hideaway both on personal recommendation and on the excellent reviews. Overall it did not disappoint - the rooms were spacious, the hotel grounds beautifully maintained, the beach stunning and the food generally fantastic. The staff were very friendly and the service usually excellent - although when on the beach it was patchy at times. If you are looking for a more upmarket all inclusive experience in a quiet location then I would definitely recommend the Royal Hideaway. However there are a few problems to highlight.

- the rooms have seen better days and could do with a spruce up
- the restaurant booking system could be improved, our first concierge messed up our reservations on more than one occasion - check your confirmation email carefully. Ideally book before arrival if this is possible.
- SECURITY. The balcony of our first room looked straight out into trees/vegetation, no view at all (see room recommendations). One evening I heard the balcony door shaking and looked to see a member of staff had climbed up the trellising from below and was checking to see if our balcony was open. Luckily it wasn't (and we were in the room at the time), he jumped down and ran off when I confronted him. However the locks didn't seem to be exceptionally secure. Front desk were apologetic and promised that security would be increased, and were able to meet our request to switch to a room with a less hidden balcony. Hopefully this isn't a common occurrence, but do be aware.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 2817 and 2827 - the terrace/balcony look directly out into vegetation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Nick B,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to read that you choose Royal Hideaway Playacar for your holidays recommended by your friends. But above all, we are happy to read that we met your expectations.

We apologize for the inconvenient you had at the balcony of your first room. We take very seriously all the comments and suggestions; it is the first time that we have such kind of situation. Our staff is our backbone and the extraordinary service and honest people working here is exactly what gives us loyal guests that keep coming back every year. The most important is to know that you were moved to another room where you felt more comfortable.

Let us know when you are coming back and we will be happy to help you with any special request you have. It would be great to host you again.

Warm Regards from Royal Hideaway Playacar and we hope to see you soon,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

The Royal Hideaway was an incredible experience! The rooms were top notch, the beaches were breathtaking, and the service was fantastic! I enjoyed my stay there so much and can't wait to come back (hopefully in a few months!) and see my favorite bartender Jose Quiroz (up at Las Vantanas bar). He makes the best "secret" drinks I've ever had.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessswenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivet_Pat, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Jessswenson,

Thank you for your nice words.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Royal Hideaway Playacar. Thank you for sharing your experience about us with other future visitors.

For sure, all the staff and specially your bartender are here waiting for you.

It was our pleasure to assist you and we will be happy to host you again in a few months

Sincerely,

Ivet Patiño
Reputation Manager
Royal Hideaway Playacar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
10.8 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,493 reviews
3.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,988 reviews
3.2 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#10 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,612 reviews
23.1 km away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,534 reviews
12 km away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#24 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $437 - $949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing