We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,493)
Filter reviews
5,493 results
Traveller rating
4,028
943
301
139
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,028
943
301
139
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews las ventanas the grill dinner reservations allegria bar villa concierge spices restaurant club royale deck restaurant dinner theater infinity pool chef's table other resorts walk in closet sax player our honeymoon all inclusive resort quiet resort
Filter
Updating list...
931 - 936 of 5,493 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017

The resort was flawless. The food at all the restaurants was absolutely delicious. The pools were great and never too overcrowded. The beach had an ample amount of seating with covers for shade. The service from every staff member was above and beyond expectation. We will definitely be staying here again. You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank frontinofamily3711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear frontinofamily3711
We thank you for this very kind review of your recent holidays at Royal Hideaway Playacar and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Back ground on us...we have been to the Riviera Maya 15+ times, and several times have been in the Playacar location as is the RHP. We love the beach in Playacar. We have always wanted to stay at this resort but was always out of our budget as it usually was $2000 usd/week with air pp, we had seen it on the Travel Channel years ago as a top destination in Riviera Maya, with that being said, I guess we should have went years ago...we saw a great price on this property of $1200/week with air pp so we decided to go. At the time of booking we did not know that this resort was recently bought out by Barcelo, which could be why the price drop and some other issues. We were disappointed...Here is why:

1. the grounds are not as nice as other resorts in the area
2. rooms were small, smaller than other resorts in the area
3. pools, super small, I mean really small, like backyard pools
4. there is no pool side music, nothing except pool aerobics
5. people at the resort just sit around, minimal engagement
6. they were out of towels for the pool and the resort had 3 full buildings of rooms closed, so nowhere near full occupancy
7. checkin was rediculously slow, we got there in the early afternoon with 3 other couples and took over an hour for check in and no explanation of resort features were given at checkin.
8. food...breakfast and lunch were good, dinners ok but were long and drawn out
9. no lobby to speak of, no lobby bar, so really nowhere to hang out after dinner, except the sports bar, which no one was really in while we were there as it does not have real seating, just a couple of couches and a few bar stools and some out door seating, but no entertainment while we were there
10. older property and is showing its age

Things we did like:
1. service for drinks and food around the pool was excellent
2. beach, love the Playacar beach area
3. even tho super small we did like the endless pool concept
4. view from the main pool
5. service was great at the restaurants, even tho food was not very good, we were glad there was room service

Overall, we were just bored at this resort, super bored...we knew it was a quieter resort and smaller, but we had no idea it was that quiet and small. To walk from the beach to the lobby, not even 5 minutes. Just too small for us. Definitely a boutique style resort. If the food was better and they had some type of entertainment for the people who wanted it, we would have liked it better.

There are resorts that are just prettier and more tropical feeling with the opportunity to relax or have some entertainment, we wish we had the week to do over, but if you want to go somewhere and just lay around and have quietness and go to bed after dinner, this is the perfect spot.

Room Tip: hotel is super small all rooms are good
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank 563trace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear 563trace
We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting us for your holidays, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent personal experience among us.
We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with our entertainment program mostly because our team strives to provide our guests with a varied assortment of activities throughout the day and live shows in the evening at the theatre, nevertheless we have taken good note of your comments, also we always ensure that most area of the hotel remains noise free for those guests who prefer to relax and read.
Thank you once again for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The Royal Hideaway was the best resort I have ever been to! Adults only, not a party atmosphere, not overly crowded, very relaxing. Go to the pool very early to claim your lounge chairs if you want to lounge by the pool nearest the beach... by 7:30am at least. Truly all inclusive, including room service & top shelf liquor. But what made the stay exceed my expectations were all the staff that worked there... the staff were absolutely wonderful... i have never been treated so well by such friendly and welcoming people. Everyone was genuinely friendly and happy to help you. Especially Christian at the Grill (during breakfast & lunch)... if anyone from the hotel is reading this, please give this man a raise or bonus! He was so warm and welcoming, very friendly and you could tell that he genuinely cared about all the guests. Great bar at the grill, and great service everywhere we went. I love this place, and i can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Go to the pool very early to claim your lounge chairs if you want to lounge by the pool nearest the beach... by 7:30am at least
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Holly R

Firstly we would like to thank you for your visit, we are grateful for your compliments towards Christian, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and we promise to congratulate him on your behalf for the contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We were very impressed with the staff and the quality of food at all of the restaurants. Very quiet resort and not your typical crazy party atmosphere. They have a large beach with 2 great main swimming pool and some smaller private pool around the property. would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Mike S,

Thank you very much for your feedback and visit. We are happy to know you liked the food quality. We also appreciate your comments regarding our staff and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Outstanding place for a romantic vacation. Adults only, perfect location, lots to do. Good food and outstanding staff. Excellent rooms, very clean, comfortable and luxurious. Ventanas was our favorite restaurant and the pool bar had great atmosphere

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 805joseluisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalupe S, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear 805joseluisr
Thank you for staying with us, we really appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews