We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residences El Faro(Playa del Carmen)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Xaman-ha 7016 Luxury Condominium(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$940
US$224
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$504
US$320
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$494
US$228
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Carmen Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
US$169
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$424
US$277
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$832
US$627
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,173)
Filter reviews
5,173 results
Traveller rating
3,782
893
294
133
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,782
893
294
133
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ventanasthe grilldinner reservationsallegria barvilla conciergespices restaurantclub royaledeck restaurantinfinity poolwalk in closetdinner theaterchef's tableother resortsour honeymoonall inclusive resortmake reservationspool service
Filter
Updating list...
517 - 522 of 5,173 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stayed at Barcelo Royal Hideaway Playacar - overall the hotel and grounds are fabulous but there are faults/problems.
Our room was outstanding - but they do have a few problems with sewer/drain smells from time to time, you just tell your concierge an it will be dealt with.
The grounds are very well kept, very pretty and clean. Never had an issue with anything being dirty.

We were a party of 12, they couldn't really cope with this many people - dinner bookings were taken care of by your Concierge, she was given instructions by us which were never passed onto the restaurants! We had to be seated at 9pm most nights as our party was large - we were often put in a side room, if it had a door it was closed so we were shut away from the restaurant!
Breakfast was interesting!! Waiting for tables was an issue, people would leave and tables wouldn't be cleaned for 15-20 mins! Not enough staff to cope and not enough chairs to move about from table to table. You could eat upstairs but this was served and I think people prefer an buffet. Once seated, sometimes had to wait for drinks and food ordered to be taken, again a staffing issue which could be easily resolved. One waiter said to us "I don't get paid enough and work too many hours"!!!
Lunch was pretty much the same!!
The beach is impeccable, beautiful and the staff on the beach are fabulous. Always someone walking round offering drinks and service.
The Restaurants are hit and miss. Azia and Palazzo are fantastic, the food and services are outstanding there, the other restaurants cannot cope like the two mentioned above - again, this could be easily fixed with better training and more staff. I don't know why those two restaurants are significaltly better, they just are! The pool area is nice, can be a bit noisy when they do water aerobics plus they sometimes do something in the afternoon.
Overall, this could be totally amazing, I would say they are 80% there and for what you are paying the product is very good but if you are in a larger party, be prepared for a few issues!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank TraceyA318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Tracey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent vacation with us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We celebrated our anniversary at the Royal Hideaway from Nov 25 - Dec 2. We have been traveling to Mexico for 30+ years and have not stayed at a finer all inclusive. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The staff were all attentive and polite with very little language barriers. The food was excellent at all the restaurants, with no problems making dinner reservations at check in. The beach was level and wide with white powdery sand. We splurged and reserved one of two (2726,2426) presidential suites. We had a direct oceanfront view of breathtaking sunrises over Cozumel. The beds were a hit with everyone we spoke with,# comfortable !
Our anniversary was enhanced by great service provided by the following staff -
Manuel (bellman), Alberto(Ventanas),Yasmatzy(pool),Eduardo(Palazzo),Javier(pool),Genero(pool),Santiago(Grill),Trinidad and Rafael(Grill),Roberto and Chef Adrian(Azia), Braulio(Spices), Christian(Grill), Adrian(housekeeping).
As you read reviews on this resort , you will notice a name that shows up in many of the RH reviews, Carlos Flores. This gentleman is the Superman of customer service. You will see him all over the resort taking notes and personally checking on the guests. He is a very approachable and detail oriented person worth touching base with upon arrival.
Thanks to the entire staff for a wonderful time . We will return sometime, but off to Barceló in Cabo in January. Please remember to tip !!!

Room Tip: Presidential suite 2726 had a spectacular oceanfront view of sunrises, two full bathrooms and two Jacuzzis.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank LUVCHOWZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Luvchowz,

First and foremost, Happy Belated Anniversary! Thank you for choosing to spend such an important event with us at the Royal Hideaway Playacar where our goal is to make our home feel like yours.

We are happy to choose you to stay on your vacation, your opinion is very important to us and we assure you that we will share it internally. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.

We hope you will allow us to make your next stay unforgettable.

The warmest greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Had a nice room but backed onto walkway for staff taking trolley's down to the grill breakfast rooms.The rooms are based in a semicircle forecourt and the noise from door banging and people talking really sounds load, so take ear plugs with you.Staff tended to not cope when hotel full over Christmas and you had. to wait around for breakfast and dinner service.Best of restaurants is the Italian plazaand as for the windows restaurant apparently there best al la cart just don't bother as both meals we had were poor and pretty slow service.Rant over the facilities are first class, very clean and well maintained and staff maybe a bit slow but very pleasant and try to please.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms that begin 21 or 23 which are in the centre away from walkways.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank David-123dkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent vacation with us.

It is with regret however that some aspects of our hotel did not meet your expectations; We are working with all the staff to give you the best service. Your comments have been taken on board and will help to improve our service and quality of them for all our guests.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Great location - with opportunity for activities and socializing at the main pool and beach (beautiful sandy beach) or to have quiet times at one of the three small secluded pools. Food at all the restaurants was excellent. Bar tending and waiters (Edvardo and Gabrielo at Palazzo were exceptional) was consistently good. Room was clean and well appointed; grounds were beautiful Great location for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank E3321HHdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Davids,

First of all, we want to thank you for your comments after your recent visit with us and we are delighted to read that we were able to exceed your holiday expectations.

We are happy to choose you to stay on your vacation, your opinion is very important to us and we assure you that we will share it internally. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.

We hope you will allow us to make your next stay unforgettable.

The warmest greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We stayed at the resort during Xmas holidays 2017. I cannot be grateful more for the services we have received. My daughter is celiac , cannot eat eggs and lactose intolerant , the resort and every restaurant have been absolutely ready to serve her with appropriate meats. Every lunch and dinner have been a feast , five meal course assembled by a highly skilled army of chiefs. The beach chairs provide shade and always plenty to choose from, I would highly recommend and would come here again

Room Tip: best services, high end restaurants, best views
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear Alla,

First of all, we want to thank you for your comments after your recent visit with us and we are delighted to read that we were able to exceed your holiday expectations.

We are happy to choose you to stay on your vacation, your opinion is very important to us and we assure you that we will share it internally. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.

We hope you will allow us to make your next stay unforgettable.

The warmest greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews