We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Barcelo.comUS$126
PricelineUS$126
Hotels.comUS$150
Expedia.comUS$150
TravelocityUS$150
Orbitz.comUS$150
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,248)
Filter reviews
8,248 results
Traveller rating
3,486
2,702
1,135
517
408
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,486
2,702
1,135
517
408
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first club rooms are small time share pool bar the mexican restaurant entertainment staff small resort activity pool lunch buffet great beach gated community mexican night nightly entertainment shows at night coco bongo kids club a la carte restaurants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 8,248 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I usually don't write reviews but could not let my stay at. Allegro Playcar pass without sharing my awesome experience there. I have stayed at several more expensive and fancier all inclusive but none as enjoyable to me as. Allegro. Playacar. Big shout to my main man. Julio, he was perfect. He showed us to our room and I was being a bit of a pain being so tired from traveling for hours and being hot and cranky and he was so nice and charming to me. Then when I could not download my covid results from my phone, he and his boss downloaded documents for me, which greatly reduced my anxiety. Also. Hector who ran entertainment by pool was very entertaining and friendly. He and his crew worked hard at entertaining everyone.
The lady making omelets was a treasure, I generously tipped her, she worked very hard and fast taking care of everyone
Will definitely return every year. Thank you staff, we had a wonderful time

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank dianeleeprice1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manager, Propietario at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Diane.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind Regards.
Community Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me preface this with saying that I don't like doing bad reviews. BUT for trip advisor to work, we must post the good and the bad. I've stayed at properties all over the Caribbean, so I know expectations of American service will generally be met with failure.

Our problems with Allegro Playacar started prior to our arrival, and I ignored my gut about it.

When booking, their website said they they allow each passenger to have one hand carried bag and one large bag for transportation and to email for further considerations. I am a tech diver, and this was a diving trip for me, so I had 2 large bags. 2 emails went unanswered. 3 phone calls to the resort went unanswered. 1 phone call to booking got an answer for covid testing (with the wrong answer) and they couldn't answer about the bag situation. So I had to book alternate transportation. Roughly another $130 out of pocket.

Upon our arrival, the manager graciously upgraded us, for free, to the superior premium room. Coincidentally, this is the room category we paid for. Yet he still looked my in the eye and told me that it was a free upgrade. They also told us to not worry about scheduling our covid tests until they day before we needed them.

What they were actually doing, is consolidating everyone into all the buildings closes to the pool. I get that, and even with 8 units per building, it didn't seem crowded. However, with the upper 4 sharing a thatch roof, sound insulation was essentially non existent. We could hear our neighbor's normal conversation. We could certainly hear the power tool heavy construction in the room behind us for two days. Being next to the pool, big mistake. We're in our early 40s and not the party type. So listening to the pool side entertainment from about noon to about midnight almost every night was not our idea of a good time. I figure the aforementioned thatch roof was why we couldn't get the room below about 76f the entire week, even at night. At the time of our booking, the room was said to come with robes, slippers, etc. It didn't. The fan in the room was so loud that the room neighbors said they could hear it. The thatch roof had a mesh net below it to catch the bird waste and nesting material that they dropped. On two days we had to remove nesting material from our bed.

The 'minibar' had ONE beer, two bottles of water, one pepsi, one diet pepsi, and one 7up. Halfway through the week, we were upgraded to a second pepsi. I don't think I'm alone in not considering that a minibar. 3 times returning from daily activities, the headboard of our bed was laying on it, having fell off it's wall mounts. The bed was the hardest I've ever slept on. And hot water was spotty at best.

They claimed to have food until midnight or 2 am, depending on which piece of literature you looked at. 10 was the latest you could eat. The dress code was selectively enforced based on, as far as I could tell, whether or not one spoke spanish. On the subject of food, Most of it was mediocre. Some was REALLY good, and in general, the desserts were great. I didn't get sick, but I lost 8 pounds during the trip because I just didn't enjoy the food.

Being where we were, I expected high pressure sales tactics down town. I did NOT expect it on the resort itself from all sorts of outside vendors. They were only there a few nights, but it was so bad that B and I actually started sneaking around them so we didn't have to deal with them.

The wait staff and bartenders were all incredibly friendly, and usually pretty efficient. We generally got better service there than we do at home.

We were offered 2 really good discounts at the spa during our stay.

The grounds were immaculate, with lots of birds, some iguana like lizards, some agouti, and a couple of other small mammals running around.

On saturday afternoon (as suggested at check in. 2 days prior to check out), we were heading to schedule our antigen tests and pick up our laundry. The front desk told us that the doctor couldn't come that day, or the next day, to do our antigen tests, and that we would have to wait until 0800 monday morning. We had an 0700 departure, so obviously this wouldn't work. They also didn't know where our laundry was.

The manager and I had a frank conversation about all our issues, and he claimed that he knew none of it. The dirty looks from his staff to him when he threw them under the bus said that they had indeed passed on our complaints. In the end, we got our laundry back, dirty, a day after it was supposed to have been returned clean. He did tell us that he could get the doctor out on Sunday at 0700, and that we could just lie on the forms about the time (antigen has a 24 hour window). I informed him that lying on federally required forms wasn't acceptable, and that we were checking out a day early and would arrange for our own tests. He responded with "ok, and if I'd have known about your other issues, I could have done something". This is the same guy that upgraded us to the room we paid for.

Upon arriving at the front desk for check out, they had someone there to do our covid tests. We went ahead and paid him to do them at 115. ($30 each) and got our results in an email some time overnight.

Upon finishing the test and processing our check out, the hotel staff tried to get me to sign a form stating that I wasn't checking out early because of the hotel issues, and that it was because of my own schedule change.

Of course no refund was offered, and none was expected.

So why is it a 2 star rating not a 1? 2 reasons, value for the money, and friendliness of all the staff (except the front desk). With early booking and being my barcelo members, we paid less than $1,000 for 7 (6) nights in an all inclusive. Yes, there were lots of problems. No, I'll never go back, but it's still a room and food on a REALLY nice beach for less than $1k.

Room tip: The southwestern rooms would be the most quiet. Downstairs will be cooler i think.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dusty_n_Brandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manager, Propietario at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Brandi.
Our main commitment is our guests' satisfaction and our goal, their preference for our hotels year after year, this is why the management team together with all departmental managers, check regularly our installations, revise restaurants' menus and products, undertake regular service trainings so as to ensure the compliance of our high standards of quality as a distinctive feature of our brand; this is why we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to XXX and encourage you to point out any imperfection if any appears, we commit to do our utmost to make sure that you have a fantastic holiday experience among us. 
Kind Regards.
Community Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2021

First, the hotel staff and First Club employees were awesome and very attentive to all our needs. Second, despite there being a pandemic, the resort took the health measures seriously, but still created an environment where you felt that you were on vacation. There were activities throughout the day to keep guests motivated, entertained, and active. Special shoutout to the Entertainment Team: Edgar, Ivan, and Fernanda (they were COMPLETELY AWESOME!). The rooms were nice and the pool area was great. All the amenities, from the all-inclusive drinks to the different food were top-notch.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank bassaxoharp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manager, Propietario at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

Dear Mr. Sean.
Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon
Kind Regards.
Community Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2021

This resort was a very pleasant surprise.
Food was outstanding. Better than most of the resorts we have been to.
Small. CLEAN. Access to the market shopping center across the street was great
I would not hesitate to return.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank auntienana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manager, Propietario at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

Dear Guest.
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Kind Regards.
Community Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2021 via mobile

Everything was amazing, the food, service, the amazing staff members, especially Ivan Arzola, he was so nice to us and did a great job in the live shows, everything was just soo nice and pretty. I loved my visit there and for sure will go back

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank heyyitzjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manager, Propietario at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2021

Dear Guest.
Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews