We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,538)
Filter reviews
3,538 results
Traveller rating
2,386
779
201
95
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,386
779
201
95
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shangri la caribe half board fuego restaurant las olas palapa style garden view breakfast and dinner las palapas palapa roof ocean front infinity pool ping pong fifth avenue yogurt palm trees the wait staff ceviche
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 3,538 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Mahekal has the best location on Playa.....on the beach and steps from 5th and upscale bars

The palapa rooms are lovely and evoke the feeling of a Mayan past. Our palapa was steps from sea and comfortable with all
Amenities.....the food was very good and service attentive both at bars and dining room
If you want a great Caribbean vaca at very reasonable prices this is the place

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 33murdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MahekalPlaya, Social Media & Marketing Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear 33murdock,

Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to Playa del Carmen, Mexico! We're glad you enjoyed the location during your stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back for future visits.

Itze Pérez
Social Media & Marketing Manager
Mahekal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We went to this hotel during this last spring break. From the very beginning, we felt taken care of regarding food allergies. They have three main restaurants,although we only tried two, las olas for breakfast and Fuego. My advice? Have breakfast at las olas and dinner at fuego. You could see that they control food allergies very well. The chef came to the table all the times and the personnel were kind and courteous. They have a doctor that they contact in case of emergency. The hotel is beautiful and the pool at las olas wonderful. I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank OldieMarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MahekalPlaya, Social Media & Marketing Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear OldieMarta,

Thank you for having taken the time to post your wonderful review of Mahekal Beach Resort and sharing how much you enjoyed our resort! We were truly honored to read that everything your experienced was exceptional, and at the same time we are a humble property always seeking for new ways to increase the pleasure and satisfaction of our guests, so we appreciate your honest feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Itze Pérez
Social Media & Marketing Manager
Mahekal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

This quaint resort is just amazing. We joined another couple for a 5 day vacation and everyone was impressed! Each little two story bungalow is just the cutest thing you’ve ever seen. It keeps the resort feeling small and special which you often lose when you are in the huge buildings like other resorts. We still felt like we were in Mexico and not a huge corporate conglomerate. The rooms were simple and clean. The outdoor area with the hammocks were a nice touch. What impressed me most about the rooms were the comfortable beds! I’ve slept in many uncomfortable beds across Mexico and I’m so excited to report that I slept great here!

The food- wonderful! We had great meals all week long! A few of us are true foodies and we were impressed. Taco night, bbq night, special lobster dinner... Breakfast offered a great selection. Something for everyone! Buffet, special order egg dishes, Fuego serves a more intimate and unique breakfast experience. The fresh juices were delightful! La Cocina offered a very nice meal where I had duck confit and the setting felt a little more romantic than Las Olas.

Want to head out for dinner? Just swap your meal for lunch!

Service- they really take care of you! Manolo was fantastic! We had the pleasure of him serving us many days around the pool and beach. He was attentive and hardworking. Not to mention he remembered our room number everyday for our billing and how we prefer our cocktails! Bravo! Adrian was the bartender at the infinity pool. Most nights we went here for happy hour and he made the BEST dirty martini. Even at the buffet they usually pulled out your chair for you. It’s all about the small details.

The grounds are immaculate and we FELT SAFE! I hope to return someday!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mackdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Mackdenver-

Thank you for the informative and splendid review of our beloved Mahekal Beach Resort.

We are pleased you had a great time at the resort and are grateful you shared your experiences with our future guests. We will let Adrian and Manolo know you found their attention to detail perfect for your vacation.

We hope you will return soon. Be sure to join our friends “amigos y famila” program on our website. The best deals are for our return guests! .

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

My fiancé and I traveled here to checkout the area for our wedding. We stayed in a garden view palapa, and the room was beautifully decorated. The bed was comfy and it stayed dark through the morning to sleep in. Each balcony has two hammocks to hang in. There was lots of wild life to be seen, and the only complaint i had regarding our room was the birds are very active in the morning.
We used the beach closest to Fuego throughout the week,so we had alot of interaction with the staff there. We loved them all, especially Fidel, Alberto, and Gerardo. The food there was excellent, and it was the nicer of the restaurants.
The one negative is the beach is pretty eroded in this area and the public beach access entrance is in the middle of the property. There was times when it was packed with everyone using the access point.
Overall, we loved this hotel, the food was amazing, and we would definitely come back.

Room tip: Ask for a beachfront room if you dont want as much bird noise
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank katieLU1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MahekalPlaya, Social Media & Marketing Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Katie,

Thank you for your review of Mahekal Beach Resort! We are thrilled to read your lovely words, especially regarding the service you received from our team members and how you enjoyed every detail of our resort.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to pamper you again in Paradise!

Itze Pérez
Social Media & Marketing Manager
Mahekal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

I don't usually stay at places this nice but the wedding I came down for is at this resort. It has been worth every penny. The staff make this place so comfortable and enjoyable! We are always greeted with smiles and genuine warmth. Our server at breakfast, Benji, is always so attentive and personable (remembering names, preferences etc.). I needed this vacation! Thank you!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MahekalPlaya, Social Media & Marketing Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Eric,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback.

We really glad to hear that you have had a glorious experience at Mahekal Playa del Carmen.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Itze Pérez
Social Media & Marketing Manager
Mahekal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews