We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !”

Carlota Home Bakery
Ranked #335 of 1,434 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$5
Description: Carlota is a quiet and lovely place in Playa to give yourself a break. Just sit, hear good music, read a book or spend quality time with the ones you love. Our job is to fill that experience with delicious coffee and sweet things. Don´t miss our lunch time, breakfast and we´re open till 10 pm. We have take away!
Restaurant details
Description: Carlota is a quiet and lovely place in Playa to give yourself a break. Just sit, hear good music, read a book or spend quality time with the ones you love. Our job is to fill that experience with delicious coffee and sweet things. Don´t miss our lunch time, breakfast and we´re open till 10 pm. We have take away!
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Wonderful staff, great coffee and even better food. Went to Carlito Bakery almost everyday of our trip for breakfast the food was that great ! Take away was also helpful especially on early morning tour trips.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank kpferris527
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2021

Our family stayed for a week at the hotel right next door so we frequented this place many times for breakfast and for night caps before settling in for the night. The place is cute and inviting. The staff is very warm and friendly. Paulina in the mornings and the young gentleman in the evenings (sorry, I forget his name) are great.

Their French toast, hot cakes, omelets, paninis and avocado toast are great. The brownies are some of the best we've had. Espresso and coffee come with a small piece of that brownie, which is how we discovered it and is a nice touch. The coffee, frappes and juices are very good. The decaf espresso is fair and the lemon cake, as others have mentioned, is quite dry. But overall, we love Carlota and will be back when we return to PdC.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dshannac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2021

This was a beautiful small cafe with limited seating but the waitress was super sweet and made sure the umbrellas were well-positioned for max shade. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank gloriam459
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

Nice place, great coffee. The music a little loud and it mixes with the music of the restaurant right in front. Would suggest to lower it a little bit.
The food excellent!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank 21sill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2021

Offering a concise menu from 7:00am until 10:00pm daily, Carlota Home Bakery has gained notoriety amongst tourists for quick service and accessible options, an early stop on Tuesday neither bad nor particularly memorable save for the fact that prices trend higher than Playa del Carmen’s more traditional Bakeries.

Small in size, a half dozen tables bridging interior to patio, it was after being informed that menu items are only offered for dine-in that seats were taken, Pastries such as the Cinnamon Roll and Carrot Cake unremarkable while layered Corn Cake and delicate Alfajores fared better.

Waiting nearly fifteen minutes for the rest, a Ham and Cheese Croissant laughably small and the Viennoiserie no better than pre-frozen, Carlota’s Frappuccino was mostly froth and Ice Cubes while the Avocado Toast was stingy in its toppings but clever in terms of the “Toad in the Hole” plating.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank endoedibles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Carlota Home Bakery also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Carlota Home Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.