We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!! Great service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaxapa Factory

Kaxapa Factory
Ranked #3 of 1,236 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The flavors of the Venezuelan family in Playa del Carmen, come and enjoy the Venezuelan food dishes, with vegetarian and gluten free options.
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!! Great service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

As a completly ignorant guy about venezuelan cuisine, I went to this small and comfy restaurante in Av. Constituyentes (really close to 5th Av) because a friend of mine told me it was really good and I was curious about venezuelan cuisine. As soon as I arrived, the owner gave me a nice table outside and greeted me with a very nice sense of humour. I told him that I din't know anything about venezuelan cuisine and he was eager to explain his best suggestions to me. He ended up recommending the Arepa Reina wich was amazing!! The prices were really decent as well. Overall, the experience is really good. The food is amazing and the service is really friendly. I would definitely go back again!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank gonzalo_gca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,685
    291
    86
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most unique hole in the wall you'll never hear of in Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Please read the other reviews below-- usually, I never find my street food needs through tripadvisor, but this place is a tiny, family-run Venezuelan kitchen with sweet latin throwback music and reggae (I recorded and bought half the songs through my Kazam app), a self explanatory menu in english --get the Kaxapitas starter with meat then see how much more you can eat from there! The juices and drinks are other-worldly. The staff is so sweet and really try to make a connection with you.

Please, get off the beaten 5th St. path and check this out-- even the locals are just starting to find out about it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tyleranneliese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Interesting little Venezuelan restaurant. New type of food to me, but enjoyable and filling.
The staff are very nice and help you with your choices.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stretcharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Have been coming to Playa for 8 years, eat everywhere, on and off Fifth Avenue. Dinner was fabulous, the fruit drinks delightful and delicious. Very different, not Mexican food, rather Venezuelan. Family run, lovely people, an honor to enjoy their food and their company. Our new favorite restaurant! If you are looking for fancy, this is not the place, but we don't want fancy, just great local food and this place does the job.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sos11968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Venezuelan food and good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This place is a must if you are in Playa.....highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfrc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaxapa Factory also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Kaxapa Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing