We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,139)
Filter reviews
2,139 results
Traveller rating
1,563
348
127
60
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,563
348
127
60
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ambar restaurant ceviche patio suite golf cart outdoor tub beachfront casita amber restaurant cigar lounge steam room all inclusive resort walk in closet concierge office pool bar quiet resort spa area double shower breakfast and lunch
Filter
Updating list...
806 - 811 of 2,139 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2015

I visited this luxury resort on Feb 2015. This place is really romantic, calm and private. The most scienic feature was the pool. You can enjoy the the romantic restaurant amber (taste good !) and mexican food at cevicae restaurant. You can meet the wild animals of Yucatan. racoon, birds, and even iguanas. Room was neat and spacious for two.

Room Tip: Patio suite is maybe more private than patio jr.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank underworld15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

This resort is located in the ecological part of the Mayan.
If you like nature, privacy ,quiet and relaxation, then you will love this place.
You will not find any nightly entertainment at this resort, except for the occasional singing or music during dinner. This resort is not close to playa del carmen. It will cost you about $80 return taxi trip just to get to playa.

I liked many things that are unique to this very special property.
I loved the flora and fauna. This resort stretches for over a mile from the reception to the beach.
Loved the paved walkways, great walking or running every morning.
Loved the excersize room, very trendy.
Loved the hammock relaxation areas overlooking the laguna/cenote. They are hidden and very hard to find, but worth looking for. They are near a wooded area, so don't venture there without bug spray.
Loved that you can get bicycles for your room, very convenient!
Loved the staff and great service.
Loved the free wifi and free long distance calling
Loved the excellent service
Loved the quiet spa, I used the spa facilities and water therapies free of charge.
I Love to walk, so this resort is great for that.

Some things that I did not like
Hated the matress. It was not a comfortable sleep
Hated that the AC did not do its job very well. During extremely hot days, your room won't get cooler than 24 degrees Celsius. We changed rooms many times. There are no vents in the bathrooms, and the skylight makes it very hot. Keep the room divider closed when bathroom is not in use.
There are no longer any exchange privileges with the blue bay sister resort.
The seaweed this time of year in the mayan is ridiculous. If you are looking for a crystal clean seaweed free beach, then you should not look at the mayan side.
There are not many english TV options here, however my husband seemed to be able to occupy himself with 2 channels of free porn. Don't forget to bring plenty of reading materials.

Dining Options:
All dining options at the BD are superb. Gourmet four star quisine is the norm here.
The only thing missing is the pastry chef. Ho hum desserts and breads is my only criticism here. The resort used to have an amazing pastry chef about 5 years ago, too bad that he has left.
I loved dining outdoors at aquamarine listening to the ocean at night.
I loved dining at ambar, you know it is good when the waiters are dressed up and serve you slices of citrus fruit in your water and an amuse bouch. Plus, there are 2 crocodiles that come out under the balcony during dinner hour hoping for some treats. If you want to see the crocodiles, ask for an outdoor seat.
Sometimes when the resort is at full capacity, the oceanfront tapas bar turns into a an excellent steakhouse and lobster grill. Not to be missed!!

Room tips:
I would not recommend upgrading rooms. The standard patio jr suites are very private, and lovely and have their very own private garden and outdoor bathtub that is bigger and deeper than a normal dipping pool. The upgraded rooms that are closer to the beach (Palafitos) are a bit nicer inside, but dont have private outdoor spaces like the patio rooms. The cenote and laguna rooms are almost identical. They have outdoor bathtubs in an enclosed outdoor space and views of the cenote or laguna.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Bren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

This was our first time in Cancun & it certainly didn't disappoint. The staff could not have been more friendly & helpful.
The resort, the rooms & the restaurants were spotless & every meal is cooked to order. Such a change to the buffet meals you find too often these days.
There are no children, no games of bingo, no pub quizzes, no volleyball in the pool and the weather was brilliant. There is free wifi a gym & a spa & air conditioning & ceiling fans in all rooms to make your stay comfortable.
Paragliding & jet skis are available on the beach.
On the downside the beach is full of seaweed which the staff remove daily & it is a holiday playground for the Americans who can be a tad loud but it's a small price to pay for a stay in virtually paradise.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Richard0990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

As a travel agent, I have stayed at many, many resorts. This one had my favorite room ever. I had the bottom category too! Check in was formal and quick, the normal English/Spanish lost in translation hiccups naturally. If you go to a resort in another country and get mad because they don't speak your language so good means, it's time for you to vacation in your own country. I was prepared for the golf cart and long walks from other reviews, and it was not a problem after I figured out, just stand at the road like your hailing a taxi. The grounds were gorgeous and I loved the quietness. My sister and I were probably the loudest lol.

The food, as expected was wonderful! Yes it takes time, yes it looks as good as it tastes, it's not fast food, it's well thought out, carefully prepared. Don't expect quick service anywhere in Mexico, or the Dominican, or Jamaica or anywhere except America actually. The pool area isn't that large, but granted someone doesn't reserve 3 sets of chairs there shouldn't be a problem getting one. (I seriously observed this woman marking chairs, 2 at the beach, 2 by the pool and 2 in the Bali beds) It was really hard not to say anything to her! Pool service is good, even better after a nice tip :)

The spa area is quite nice, I opted to shower there twice for the "shower experience" there is a pool there if you really want solitude, it was almost always void of people.

The servers there are all wonderful, it's a matter of your attitude that determines the degree of assistance or help you get. People that complain in a manner that sounds like a bark to someone that knows limited English, isn't going to get very far.

I tipped the golf cart drivers, I gave them a tip because I'm sure they spend my few dollars on way more important things than me. It made my day when I was picked up one morning and the driver excitedly told me I was his lucky girl. He told me I gave him his first tip the day before and he told me how much money he made the rest of the day, which very much pleased him.

Would I go back there? You bet! Next time with my man though, it's quite private and I can see, very romantic. Did me and Mango Keem have fun? You betcha!

Room Tip: They are all good.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank tripbytrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

My room was so huge, it was like an apartment. I loved the staff , ask and you shall receive. They really are five star and more. The stone bath outside was so romantic and they filled it with aroma therapy, bubbles and flowers.
Get the bike they offer ,it makes getting around easier.Yes they have a car that comes and gets you if you want but its fun with the bike.
Loved it so much!!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews