We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$331
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$494
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$317
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Residences El Faro(Playa del Carmen)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$68
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$385
US$338
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Carmen Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Xaman-ha 7016 Luxury Condominium(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$504
US$320
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$792
US$627
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,357)
Filter reviews
7,357 results
Traveller rating
3,998
2,224
688
280
167
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,998
2,224
688
280
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moonel charropool bardolce vitajapanese restaurantentertainment staffprivilege areaprivilege beachprivilege guestsfoam partyquiet poolbeach areathomson repprivilege packagecoco bongoactivity poolour favourite
Filter
Updating list...
5,047 - 5,052 of 7,357 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2011

On the positive side, this resort was super clean and the bar staff and housekeeping staff were very friendly. The pool was nice and clean too. Food was average. Room was clean and the bathrooms were nice.
Being a small resort, you don't have to walk miles from one side to the other. I enjoyed the iguanas and friendly wildlife on our walks.....however the septic stench that seemed to be place smack dab in the middle on the way to the lobby made the stroll less pleasurable. They overbooked the hotel so they offered us 2 nights at the Ocean Coral and Turquesa which was a nice change of scenery but our room was terrible! The bathroom had no door and not even a stall for the shower. The floor flooded continuously and all our belongings were damp by morning. The room reeked of mold and when we complained, they said there were no other rooms to move us to as they were completely booked also. When we returned to Ocean Maya we told them about this and they offered nothing. Infact, we had to wait from 10am to 3pm for a room to even become available. Meanwhile, our bags are locked up in a room. 2 of the 3 in our group were ill this day and just wanted to be in our room with a bathroom. One thing I noticed is there were never any apologies. It just is. I also want to caution everyone about their internet terminals in the lobby. You can feed it money or swipe your credit card, but it only works for a few minutes and then cuts you off. You cannot get your money back and when you complain, they tell you that the terminals do not belong to them, "they are concessions".....this is after we were told to come back on 3 different occasions and someone would try to fix it. The beach at Ocean Coral was amazing which made the 2 nights much more enjoyable, since there is absolutely no beach at Ocean Maya. Oh, and you get the same service without the privilege bracelet. We got the bracelet for a day......total waste of money. I've had less disappointment at 3 star resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sourcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OcMaya, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor.We are really sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at our sister Hotel, but I can asure you that their standars of quality have not been reflected on your stay. I do also apologize if we did not cover your expectations when you came back disapointed. We will be taking all your comments as points that we need to correct for any future situation.

We hope that in the future you decide to come back and give us a second oportunity.

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

My boyfriend and I hit a bump when we arrived to Ocean Maya Royale after an excruciating day of traveling thanks to American Airlines. All we wanted to do was go into our suite and just go to bed, however, upon checking in we were informed the room we had ordered (Romance Suite) was unavailable because they had to upgrade someone else that morning. After arguing for about fifteen minutes, I had a manager finally agree to get us a room that was similar to the Romance Suite and we got the Honeymoon Suite.

The room was amazing! Big, clean, had somewhat of a sewer smell but if you shut the toilet seat it isn't so bad. The hot tub was an added perk too! Downside was television had mostly Spanish channels, would have enjoyed more English-language channels. Bed was so big my boyfriend and I could roll around and still not touch each other!

Privilege - whoever says don't get it is lying to you. It was such a relaxing experience to have a cabana everyday, waiter service, air-conditioned breakfast area and reservations to every restaurant without having to wake up early!

Entertainment - we only caught the last night's entertainment. They took movie trailers and then did skits about it - it was great! Additionally, on Easter they did a Trivia game at the pool and dressed up as the Easter Bunny and his helpers. They filled egg shells with glitter and baby powder and the grand prize was a bottle of champagne (which I won!)

Food - it was Passover most of the time my boyfriend and I were there so we were unable to eat anything with yeast, wheat or corn, yet we still had an abundance of food to eat! The food was AMAZING. From Hibachi to Italian to the buffet - we never went hungry!

Service - Great!!! We love Alberto from the buffet and Antonio from Dolce Vita!

We will definitely be going back to an H10 and will be back at this hotel soon as well!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite!!!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egilerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OcMaya, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that despite of a not so good start, at the end you had such a wonderfull time with the Hotel and specially our staff. I will let Alberto and Antonio know that they did a wonderful job for you and you husband.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Just returned from a relaxing week at Ocean Maya Royale. We have stayed several times at their sister resort the Ocean Coral & Turquesa, so thought this would be a safe bet.

We had an excellent time and would return.

It is not as large as OCT, and the beach is tiny in comparison as well, but the grounds are amazing, the staff excellent, and the buildings/rooms very comfortable and quiet. I think, however that they order their beds from the same place (both very firm!)

Ocean Maya is a fairly quiet resort and even with the addition of 3 or 4 bus loads of Spanish and Portuguese teens while we were there, it remained fairly low key. I hadn't expected all these students, but in the end they were no problem.

The two pools are side by side near the ocean, and we enjoyed swimming in them from time to time. They would benefit from adding more chairs around the pools. I have never seen chairs so sparsely set out around a pool. There were plenty of chairs on the beach.

We paid the extra $20pp/day for the privilege service which turned out to be an excellent investment. It gave us access to the privilege area at the beach which includes 7 canopy loungers and many regular lounge chairs with extra padding. There was always space available no matter what time of day. And as a previous review stated, Azucena, the area attendant was excellent.

Food in the 3 a la cartes was very good, and as there is no dress code for the restaurants, very comfortable. It's nice to be able to dress up for dinner, but I don't want to do it every day.

If you like a quiet, pleasant, relaxing, peaceful holiday, I would recommend the Ocean Maya Royale.

PS. We were there the week prior to it becoming an Adults Only resort, so there were still children around, and by the time this review is posted some things will have changed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cuba1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OcMaya, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your comments on tripadvisor and also thank you very much for choosing Ocean Hotels as your holiday destination. It was a pleasure for us to serve you while you were down here with us. Regarding the groups of students, this was an isolated issue, because as you have said on your review, we are now only adult, so no spring breakers or groups of young people will be allowed. While they were here, we did our best to control it, but is not easy when they are such a big group. I am glad to read that at the end this matter did not affect your holidays

Hope to see you soon!

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Ocean Maya staff is the best, they went out of the way many times to make our trip the most comfortable. Food was great and we loved the pool and beach being so close. We will be returning to the Ocean Maya again. Needs a few more beach huts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazing66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OcMaya, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your good comments about the Hotel. It makes us very happy to know that we covered all your expectations and we gave you a very good holidays.

We hope that you return soon with us!,

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at the Ocean Maya Royale a few weeks ago. This was a girls trip for 4 girls in their late 20s and we had a great time.

PROs: The value was fantastic. Purcahsed the deal on tripadvisor and paid a very economical rate for 6 days. The grounds were well maintained and very pretty, with flowers blooming and luscious greenery all over. We were traveling with a friend who had a leg injury and they accomodated our room request to be close to the beach which was very nice. Had a really fun time partying at night, recommend sticking to the beer and wine as the mixed drinks were very watered down.

CONS: Although the staff was friendly, nobody seems to know anything. We had asked about dining options and nobody seemed informed about which restaurants were open at which times. There should be light lunch options such as a snack bar or poolside menu to order from so you don't have to eat at the dining buffet. Food overall was just OK, as you would expect at an all-inclusive. Also, they told us we can order room service at any time, yet never answered the phone.

Overall, we had a very nice stay. We got exactly what we expected based on previous reviews. I like to always try new places so probably wouldn't be back to Playa del Carmen, but if you are looking for a relaxing trip with great weather, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeDee1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OcMaya, Manager at Ocean Maya Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive comments but also the points that need atention to. I can assure you that our staff works very hard to make all our guests happy, but we will be paying atention to the point that you have made to give the best atention to our future guests.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Maria Lopez
Subdirectora
Ocean Maya Royale
subdireccion.hhm@h10.es

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews