We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding!”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #42 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I am so pleased that we chose to get married at the Ocean Maya Royale in April, it could not have been better! The hotel is absolutely fantastic. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are lovely and the pools and beach are great. Even better are the people who work in the hotel, they made our holiday and wedding extra special.

The staff are so hard-working, especially the bar men down at the pool, Daniel in the main bar and Claudia who was there to make all of our wedding go smoothly. Thanks Claudia, you are a star! The photographers were also fantastic, Sandra took some brilliant photos of our wedding which we could never have had in the UK!

The food is exceptional in the Ocean Maya, we could not pick fault with any of it. Our favourite was the Japanese which was just divine.

Our wedding was of course the best day ever. It started by me getting my hair done in the spa and they did an absolutely brilliant job, I was very pleased with it. Then the ceremony and evening reception were incredible. Everything went so smoothly thanks to Claudia and Ana who made sure that everything went to plan. Our evening meal was again some of the best food we have had.

We honestly cannot fault the hotel, food and staff as we had the most amazing holiday and wedding we could ever have wished for.

Thanks everyone for making our day so special. We would love to return soon!

Gemma and Simon x

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,260 - 4,264 of 6,978 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

Myself and my other half came here in March with firstchoice/Thompson.
Although the flight was hell (full of kids) the transfer was smooth and very quick.(first stop and Corrona on board)
This place is so amazing. The hotel is kept so clean and tidy. The staff are all so friendly and helpful what ever the hour. The food is great esp the Italian resturant!!! Ok the buffet can get a little boring but they change the theme every night of the week i.e oriental/mexican and once your there for two weeks it can get samey but the quality is still very good.
The entertainment staff are all good fun Amy, Alex, Suzzane to name a few will keep you entertained round one of the pools or in the theatre.
The bar staff in the evening are VERY funny and helpful in getting you drunk be it with tequila or one of their tasty cocktails!!!
No one seems to expect tips at all but obviously appreciate it very much!
Please go into Playa Del Carmen in the evening....the atmosphere is not one to miss!!
Excursions/outings to defo do...Coco Bongo, Fat Cat catamaran, Xel-ha and Captain Hook!!!
We did other excursions but these four were the best.
The rooms were always kept clean, bar always stocked with drink and towels always changed.
We stayed in block 30. 8 rooms to a block. Our block was in a good position, near to the pool but far away enough from everything for it to be quiet.
One thing I will say...dont bother upgrading...its not worth it unless you want wireless internet in your room.
You will enjoy and LOVE this place with friends or as a couple.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lilypot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed here for my wife's 30th birthday at the beginning of May for 2 weeks. The weather was perfect for the full 2 weeks with no sign of rain. The room was excellent. We had one of the corner rooms so more space and a larger balcony. It was always very clean. For my wife's birthday the hotel arranged a special cake at our meal that evening and left another in our room along with a bottle of wine. Definitely going above and beyond to make it a special day. We also has a meal on the beach the following night. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly. We especially liked Immelda who worked from the lobby bar. She was always happy and very attentive. The sea at the hotel does let it down a little however this did not bother us as the lagoon about 10 minutes walk away very much made up for it if we wanted to see fish etc. The swimming pools were both very nice and plenty of sun beds around them and on the beach.

One small downside we had whilst there was some building work to the mexican restaurant by the pool for just over a week that we weren't aware would be there. However this only bothered me for a few minutes on a couple of occasions when I heard chainsawing/drilling/etc. Otherwise it was interesting to watch. The hotel managed this extremely well and relocated the restaurant up by the lobby and moved the snack bar to the Italian on the beach which meant lunch whilst looking at the sea was an added bonus!

The food in the restaurants is very good. Our favourite was the japanese which we eat at 4 times. The mexican was good but we were slightly disappointed as we thought it might have been better seeing as we were in Mexico! If I could recommend anything I would suggest that the a la carte menu's be alternated every week to give more selection. The buffet was also good and we eat there 3 times. The only slight downside with the food was that we found the breakfast to be cold most days.

We went parasailing from the hotel one day ($55 each) which I would definitely recommend. We also did a visit to Chichen Itza arranged with Thomson. I would highly recommend a visit to Akumal beach (about 480pesos in a taxi each way) where you can snorkel, see the reef and we even managed to swim with some very large turtles.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aaruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I had read the reviews for this resort, but got such a great deal decided to go for it. First the bus ride to the resort (with 2 stops) was terrible. I almost got sick from the bumps and bouncing. The resort is very attractive, beautiful gardens and flowers & very clean. Our room was very nice too. The ala cartes were good, but the food in the buffet was not great - not much selection and much of the same every day AND the service was really bad. The upgrade to "Privilege" was so obvious it was awful. They had special sections at the buffet to sit - they got good service, we didn't. They had a huge section in the center of the beach roped off with really nice lounges and shade, special drink service and a chilled room to rest in. We had chairs but not enough shade. We fried and tried to get under palm trees to get some shade. They got top shelf drinks, and when we asked for Mudslides - we couldn't have Kahlua because we weren't Privilege. I have stayed in a dozen resorts and have never seen this kind of stuff. Sure the upgrade gets better rooms, special services, private cocktail hour, etc, but its never in your face like it was here. I'm not a party type person--I also am not a complainer. I love going to resorts, soak up some sunshine, relax and read, eat just about anything--and don't understand the other reviews that say the workers were friendly and the drinks were good- because neither was true for us. Maybe if you drink a lot and make friends with the staff- but I have never stayed anywhere where the wait staff in the buffet were so unfriendly (and I tip a lot too). We spent the last evening with no lights or air conditioning (never did find out why).

Room Tip: The resort isn't large. You could be nearer to pools (no real swimming beach, it washed away in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank carol2239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

we stayed at the omr for two wonderfull weeks at the end of april,The hotel grounds were emaculate and well kept with plenty of wild life on show.The rooms were nice and clean and all the staff very friendly,also thompson rep lara very helpfull.There was a small amount of building work going on around the large pool area but this did not trouble us in anyway.The beach itself did have a lot of seaweed washed up and the lads did a good job in cleaning it up each day,all in all this is a great hotel and we had a very enjoyable stay,would go back no problems ten out of ten.One last thing all the guests we met were really great which made our hoilday so fab,thanks to my sailing instructer buddy avi & is lovely girl friend lisa and not to forget ali& belly dancer paul thank you oh & quite Larry?? kind regards gary & Bride northumberland

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank g3p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
8.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,985 reviews
3.4 km away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#61 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,993 reviews
10.1 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,647 reviews
0.3 km away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
10,287 reviews
12.6 km away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $254 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing