We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$288
US$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$309
US$218
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reef Coco Beach(Playa del Carmen)
US$181
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$410
US$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$423
US$276
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$321/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
US$154
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riu Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$2,332
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,428)
Filter reviews
7,428 results
Traveller rating
4,044
2,239
695
282
168
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,044
2,239
695
282
168
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moonel charropool barla dolcejapanese restaurantentertainment staffprivilege areaprivilege beachprivilege guestsquiet poolfoam partybeach areathomson repbeautiful lagoonprivilege packagecoco bongoour favourite
Filter
Updating list...
4,572 - 4,577 of 7,428 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Myself and my other half came here in March with firstchoice/Thompson.
Although the flight was hell (full of kids) the transfer was smooth and very quick.(first stop and Corrona on board)
This place is so amazing. The hotel is kept so clean and tidy. The staff are all so friendly and helpful what ever the hour. The food is great esp the Italian resturant!!! Ok the buffet can get a little boring but they change the theme every night of the week i.e oriental/mexican and once your there for two weeks it can get samey but the quality is still very good.
The entertainment staff are all good fun Amy, Alex, Suzzane to name a few will keep you entertained round one of the pools or in the theatre.
The bar staff in the evening are VERY funny and helpful in getting you drunk be it with tequila or one of their tasty cocktails!!!
No one seems to expect tips at all but obviously appreciate it very much!
Please go into Playa Del Carmen in the evening....the atmosphere is not one to miss!!
Excursions/outings to defo do...Coco Bongo, Fat Cat catamaran, Xel-ha and Captain Hook!!!
We did other excursions but these four were the best.
The rooms were always kept clean, bar always stocked with drink and towels always changed.
We stayed in block 30. 8 rooms to a block. Our block was in a good position, near to the pool but far away enough from everything for it to be quiet.
One thing I will say...dont bother upgrading...its not worth it unless you want wireless internet in your room.
You will enjoy and LOVE this place with friends or as a couple.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lilypot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed here for my wife's 30th birthday at the beginning of May for 2 weeks. The weather was perfect for the full 2 weeks with no sign of rain. The room was excellent. We had one of the corner rooms so more space and a larger balcony. It was always very clean. For my wife's birthday the hotel arranged a special cake at our meal that evening and left another in our room along with a bottle of wine. Definitely going above and beyond to make it a special day. We also has a meal on the beach the following night. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly. We especially liked Immelda who worked from the lobby bar. She was always happy and very attentive. The sea at the hotel does let it down a little however this did not bother us as the lagoon about 10 minutes walk away very much made up for it if we wanted to see fish etc. The swimming pools were both very nice and plenty of sun beds around them and on the beach.

One small downside we had whilst there was some building work to the mexican restaurant by the pool for just over a week that we weren't aware would be there. However this only bothered me for a few minutes on a couple of occasions when I heard chainsawing/drilling/etc. Otherwise it was interesting to watch. The hotel managed this extremely well and relocated the restaurant up by the lobby and moved the snack bar to the Italian on the beach which meant lunch whilst looking at the sea was an added bonus!

The food in the restaurants is very good. Our favourite was the japanese which we eat at 4 times. The mexican was good but we were slightly disappointed as we thought it might have been better seeing as we were in Mexico! If I could recommend anything I would suggest that the a la carte menu's be alternated every week to give more selection. The buffet was also good and we eat there 3 times. The only slight downside with the food was that we found the breakfast to be cold most days.

We went parasailing from the hotel one day ($55 each) which I would definitely recommend. We also did a visit to Chichen Itza arranged with Thomson. I would highly recommend a visit to Akumal beach (about 480pesos in a taxi each way) where you can snorkel, see the reef and we even managed to swim with some very large turtles.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I had read the reviews for this resort, but got such a great deal decided to go for it. First the bus ride to the resort (with 2 stops) was terrible. I almost got sick from the bumps and bouncing. The resort is very attractive, beautiful gardens and flowers & very clean. Our room was very nice too. The ala cartes were good, but the food in the buffet was not great - not much selection and much of the same every day AND the service was really bad. The upgrade to "Privilege" was so obvious it was awful. They had special sections at the buffet to sit - they got good service, we didn't. They had a huge section in the center of the beach roped off with really nice lounges and shade, special drink service and a chilled room to rest in. We had chairs but not enough shade. We fried and tried to get under palm trees to get some shade. They got top shelf drinks, and when we asked for Mudslides - we couldn't have Kahlua because we weren't Privilege. I have stayed in a dozen resorts and have never seen this kind of stuff. Sure the upgrade gets better rooms, special services, private cocktail hour, etc, but its never in your face like it was here. I'm not a party type person--I also am not a complainer. I love going to resorts, soak up some sunshine, relax and read, eat just about anything--and don't understand the other reviews that say the workers were friendly and the drinks were good- because neither was true for us. Maybe if you drink a lot and make friends with the staff- but I have never stayed anywhere where the wait staff in the buffet were so unfriendly (and I tip a lot too). We spent the last evening with no lights or air conditioning (never did find out why).

Room Tip: The resort isn't large. You could be nearer to pools (no real swimming beach, it washed away in storm) or to lobby/buffet. Noise from evening entertainment loud at night. Noise all day during construction at pool/beach area.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank carol2239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

we stayed at the omr for two wonderfull weeks at the end of april,The hotel grounds were emaculate and well kept with plenty of wild life on show.The rooms were nice and clean and all the staff very friendly,also thompson rep lara very helpfull.There was a small amount of building work going on around the large pool area but this did not trouble us in anyway.The beach itself did have a lot of seaweed washed up and the lads did a good job in cleaning it up each day,all in all this is a great hotel and we had a very enjoyable stay,would go back no problems ten out of ten.One last thing all the guests we met were really great which made our hoilday so fab,thanks to my sailing instructer buddy avi & is lovely girl friend lisa and not to forget ali& belly dancer paul thank you oh & quite Larry?? kind regards gary & Bride northumberland

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank g3p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

we stayed in OMR from may the 4th to may the 11th.
we had great time during that week, the crew were amazing , they worked specially hard to make our vocation one that we will not forget.

first, no kids in the resort is a great privilidge, no noise, just great food, great drinks (not watered down as in other resortes, good food in the buffet, the ala carte isnt special, but sticking in the buffet you will never leave hungry.

the beach, well, you have 7 guys working from morning to evening to clean the weed, so 30 people could enter the water, and swim weedless, still the water was not as turcoise as we are used to, but it was clean of weeks, so we did get in, its a war one cannot win, but the hotel does more then reasnoble effort for people to use the beach.
all the crew is working their butts to get you comfortable,

we met a great couple Gary and Bridie from the UK, had great time together, started planning our next vocation ,OMR rocks,

Maria Lopes and all thotel crew, great job getting happy vocationers, Thank You.

Avi and liser From Dallas Texas.

Room Tip: if you are a couple (all types) under 25 and naughty, go to Temptetions resort, if you are couples not of the above criteria, you will enjoy OMR.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edansivanroie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews