We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$494
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$350
US$250
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
US$338
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$508
US$427
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carmen Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$504
US$320
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$832
US$627
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$424
US$342
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Xaman-ha 7016 Luxury Condominium(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$153
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
78
141
48
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
141
48
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hoteljunior suitekitchen areaincluded breakfastado busthe main tourist streetattached restaurantnice poolbed was comfortablean updateper nightstaff was very friendly and helpfullate checkpartial ocean viewspent a weekthe air conditioningeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

In more than 25 years of traveling the world to escape Canada's winters, we have rarely found a hotel that could better be described as 'just right.' The Vista Caribe has reasonably priced rooms, an ideal location (in the old part of town on a block between the beach and Playa's lively pedestrian eating and shopping street), a charming and attentive staff, and a bilingual manager, the affably accommodating Victor Gonzales. A nicely varied breakfast is included, and served between 7:30 and 11:30 on the patio and dining room next to the pool. Rooms are bright and airy, vary in size, have fans and air conditioning, fridges, sinks and microwaves, and large comfortable beds. Our kitchen area was roomy and equipped with a sofa, but came without dishes or cutlery. Our shower itself was terrific, but the stall and drainage vent could use some updating. Rooms on the main floor are grouped around the pool and garden. Some on the second, third and fourth floors have balconies, a few with views of the sea. Architecturally, the hotel has some nice colonial-style touches and the palms and tropical plants in the garden make it a nice place to read and visit. It's a friendly, convivial hotel, with a high number of repetitive guests. We stayed a month, and are looking forward to returning. We've already booked a return visit in 2018..

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorGonzalezC, Gerente at Hotel Vista Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you very much for your comments Mr. Doug.

Since We work hard to accomplish our guests satisfaction, it is great to know that you have enjoyed staying at Vista Caribe, and that you are already planning to come back.
It will be a pleausure to host you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

This is a budget hotel but of excellent standard for the price.

The best thing is the location about 20 metres from the beach - not the best bit but the nicest parts of the beach are a short walk.

The staff are friendly and accommodating. The manager speaks good English.
The pool is small but adequate considering that the beach is right there beside the hotel.

We had breakfast included. You select from a menu in the cafe attached to the hotel. We were very happy with the food.

Our room was the largest room that accommodated a family. One queen bed on the ground floor and another queen bed on a mezzanine floor. There was a kitchenette (fridge, sink and I think microwave) but no plates etc. The rooms are well presented but the bathrooms are a bit dated. We had some minor issues with the air-conditioner but the maintenance man fixed this no problems. The only issue with the room was that there was a building site right behind the hotel that made a lot of noise at various times in the day and night.

The hotel is well located right on Calle Quinta Avenida - the main tourist area. It is also walking distance to the Walmart and other essential shops. There is a good selection of restaurants on the doorstep to suit all budgets. Also walking distance to the Cozumel ferry.

We stayed 5 nights and are a family of 4 (kids 16 and 13).

I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Location location location... I enjoyed the stay at Vista Caribe very nice and simple, when you come out from the hotel the beach is to your right in plain view and to your left you have Ave Quinta where it's always happening.

The rooms are a great size ask for the rooms facing the street great ocean breeze on the balcony during the late evening. Wifi gets 3 out 5, hot water takes a minute or two to come out of the shower but then works fine but it's scarce depending on the time of day, your fine if your not taking 30 minute showers.

There's a couple times I came into the room and it's smelled a bit like sewage that's because of unproper venting all you need to do is turn on the shower for a bit and it goes away.

So if you could deal with some minors things you have a great location I gave it 5 stars because the staff was friendly we got a complementary breakfast between 7:30am and 11:30am restaurant is right next door by the pool the parking for the car is also on Calle 6 on the right hand corner two blocks up next to a great cheap local taco spot so its close to the hotel and the hotel gives you a pass to park your car for free while you leave a 20 dollar refundable deposit you get back after you check out.

So if your more of the resort type this is not the place for you but if your a down to earth person this is the spot.

Theres a live band that plays every night until late on the beach with a fire show to finish the night.

Will be staying there again.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Giulliano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Just returned from staying 14 days at Vista Caribe. Great little hotel in a great location. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 1304 which has a view of the Caribbean and Calle 6. The room was very nice and comfortable. Pool area is lovely. We would definitely stay here again. The complimentary breakfast was great. Really enjoyed this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Best views are on 3rd floor. Also, nice room around the pool area.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

first of all, a big thank you to victor, the manager who catered to us in every way. the staff at this hotel are a treasure. from the manager (VICTOR) to the front desk (KEVIN and JAZMIN) and the restaurant staff TERESA, JAZMIN, ELIZABETT, SEBASTIAN, LUCIA, and LEANDRO. they all work so hard to make your stay a joy. the pool area is nice and clean. the rooms are clean and spacious. the location is perfect (between 5th ave. and the beach). this is an older property but well kept and we always had plenty of hot water and pressure for our showers. we were in room 1306 on the 3rd floor, with a small balcony overlooking the pool and a glimpse of the sea. don't miss this hidden gem. P. S. the free breakfast is great

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank danny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews