We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything”
Review of Hotel Vista Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vista Caribe
Ranked #110 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Great location, however as others have stated - avoid room 1206, On the street corner where the music plays most of the night, but quits just in time for the delivery/trash trucks to start rolling through. Lights across the street flash into the room until after midnight.

However, the staff is wonderful, and the noise isn't their fault. Close to the beach, the ferry, restaurants, and all the shopping you could ever want. Clean hotel, and everyone is friendly.

Excellent choice for a budget hotel. - recommended.

Room Tip: Not room on the street corner 1206 - ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

I cannot fault anything on this hotel Vista Craibe. Only deeply grateful thanks to the Hotel Manager Victor and his team to make my stay. The hotel and the team accommodate me in two ways, providing my vacation with the original charm of Playa del Carmen, truly cosset all the time. Great breakfast, great view, great pool, great location(central), as well providing the feasibility to enable me to work at the hotel with a faster WIFI access and extend my stay for over a month.
A place to return.....

Room Tip: For Business try to use the suites above the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIchael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorGonzalezC, Gerente at Hotel Vista Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you very much for your comments Mr. Michael.
Since We work hard to accomplish our guests satisfaction, it is great to know that you have enjoyed staying at Vista Caribe.
Hope to have you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We had the 1206 hortensia room, next to the street. Room was ok a little bit old with a shower with low pressure. AC was appreciated.
the windows didn't close, so by nights (all nights we stayed) when live music concert came from across the street it was like having the concert in our bedroom. When trucks come, you know it, when people from the restaurant downstairs talk, you can follow the conversation... so loud !!!
people on the front desk are nice so, and the pool is nice, the hotel is just next to the beach and to the ferry terminal to isla cozumel.
no parking !

Room Tip: don't get 1206, hortensia, get away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank louloo-u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

In more than 25 years of traveling the world to escape Canada's winters, we have rarely found a hotel that could better be described as 'just right.' The Vista Caribe has reasonably priced rooms, an ideal location (in the old part of town on a block between the beach and Playa's lively pedestrian eating and shopping street), a charming and attentive staff, and a bilingual manager, the affably accommodating Victor Gonzales. A nicely varied breakfast is included, and served between 7:30 and 11:30 on the patio and dining room next to the pool. Rooms are bright and airy, vary in size, have fans and air conditioning, fridges, sinks and microwaves, and large comfortable beds. Our kitchen area was roomy and equipped with a sofa, but came without dishes or cutlery. Our shower itself was terrific, but the stall and drainage vent could use some updating. Rooms on the main floor are grouped around the pool and garden. Some on the second, third and fourth floors have balconies, a few with views of the sea. Architecturally, the hotel has some nice colonial-style touches and the palms and tropical plants in the garden make it a nice place to read and visit. It's a friendly, convivial hotel, with a high number of repetitive guests. We stayed a month, and are looking forward to returning. We've already booked a return visit in 2018..

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorGonzalezC, Gerente at Hotel Vista Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you very much for your comments Mr. Doug.

Since We work hard to accomplish our guests satisfaction, it is great to know that you have enjoyed staying at Vista Caribe, and that you are already planning to come back.
It will be a pleausure to host you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

This is a budget hotel but of excellent standard for the price.

The best thing is the location about 20 metres from the beach - not the best bit but the nicest parts of the beach are a short walk.

The staff are friendly and accommodating. The manager speaks good English.
The pool is small but adequate considering that the beach is right there beside the hotel.

We had breakfast included. You select from a menu in the cafe attached to the hotel. We were very happy with the food.

Our room was the largest room that accommodated a family. One queen bed on the ground floor and another queen bed on a mezzanine floor. There was a kitchenette (fridge, sink and I think microwave) but no plates etc. The rooms are well presented but the bathrooms are a bit dated. We had some minor issues with the air-conditioner but the maintenance man fixed this no problems. The only issue with the room was that there was a building site right behind the hotel that made a lot of noise at various times in the day and night.

The hotel is well located right on Calle Quinta Avenida - the main tourist area. It is also walking distance to the Walmart and other essential shops. There is a good selection of restaurants on the doorstep to suit all budgets. Also walking distance to the Cozumel ferry.

We stayed 5 nights and are a family of 4 (kids 16 and 13).

I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 km away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#92 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
269 reviews
0.2 km away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#95 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
159 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#117 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#76 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
265 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
#88 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
607 reviews
1 km away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#62 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Caribe

Address: Calle 6, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $93 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vista Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vista Caribe Hotel is located few steps from the beach in the most beautiful and amazing sea port of Playa del Carmen, just in middle of the Mexican Riviera Maya. The hotel has 35 comfortable and clean rooms, junior and master suites. The swimming pool is sorrounding by a tropical garden. The famous Fifth Avenue is just 20 meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vista Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Caribe Hotel
Hotel Vista Caribe Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing