We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$276
US$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$374
US$349
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$235
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reef Coco Beach(Playa del Carmen)
US$168
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Playa Palms Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Be Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petit Lafitte(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$410
US$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveller rating
522
105
29
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
105
29
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolbeachfront hotelmodern hotelcevicheocean frontchilaquilesthe location is perfectyogurtamazing hotelwater pressurebeach restaurantan ocean view roomrestaurant stafffifth avenuecancun airportlounge chairskeel
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 686 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Just stayed at the Carmen Hotel, loved it! Everyone was so helpful and friendly! Our room was beautiful, great view and the beds are very comfortable! The atmosphere is vibrant and inviting. We really enjoyed taking with the owner.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeanine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo S, Econcierge Service. at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hello, Jeanine F

Thank you so much for sharing with us your positive comments about your recent stay at The Carmen Hotel and especially about our wonderful staff, it is for sure they who make your stay an unforgettable and pleasant experience.

We hope to have the honor of being able to receive you again in the near future.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel was magnificent! There is nothing like it in Playa, the architecture is unmatched, the staff was very friendly and helpful! The owner even came and introduced himself and made sure everything was satisfactory. We will be back very soon!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo S, Econcierge Service. at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hello,Gabrielle G

You're making us blush!

Thanks a lot for the awesome review.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our friendly and professional team made it easier. Aren’t they the best?
We hope to see you back at The Carmen Hotel again soon, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

We traveled there for a week before Christmas and it was a terrific choice of Hotels, the staff there was courteous and efficient. So accommodating and to our surprise a nice continental breakfast was included each day. The suites were really cool and the view amazing.

Room Tip: I would recommend ocean front or ocean view. Stop in town to pick up some water bottles.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sal055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo S, Econcierge Service. at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Hello, Sal055

Thank you for your awesome comments and evaluation.

It is quite gratifying to know that your stay was more than phenomenal and that you had a great time and that you enjoyed every detail of our hotel.
We love you had a pleasant experience in our restaurant and also you enjoyed our delicious dishes and that you were pleased with our friendly and professional staff.

We welcome you when you return in to this paradise in the Riviera Maya.

Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

I am not one to write reviews.. but this hotel has made me want to write one.
This hotel was my most awful stay in Playa in 5 years. Do not let the professional photos and drone video fool you - for being only about one year old - the hotel looks like it has been around for 5+ years. Everything is dirty/ falling apart and already looks haggard. I am not sure what vibe this hotel is going for - sleazy Miami / competition to the Thompson? - but it fails in every aspect next to the Thompson.
From the ridiculous "life style fee" that is not waived when you check in at 11pm - the minimal supply of beach chairs - the overall aesthetic and vibe - and the over priced and awful food at the hotel Keel restaurant - this hotel is a complete embarrassment and a total rip off. I advise to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ACZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo S, Econcierge Service. at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Hello, dear ACZ88

Thank you so much for your comments.

At the Carmen Hotel we take seriously your feedback and comments since it let us know the areas in which we can improve. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have the great experience that we are proud to provide. Unfortunately every hotel in the Riviera Maya charges a hotel fee, our hotel charges this fee for luxury services we provide to make of your stay a more pleasant experience, these services are:

* Premium high speed internet in the room and all areas of the hotel.
* National and international calls
*Continental breakfast
* VIP access to all events on our Deck 5, Sky bar and Infinity Pool (only hotel in Playa del Carmen with a pool sightseeing of the blue and turquoise water colors of the sea)
* Access to our beach club
* Access to the best gym in town - Equipment for cardio, Weights, Yoga, Spinning, Boot camp and other services.

We will be reviewing all your comments with our management as we are always looking for new and innovative ways to create a wonderful experience for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you the next time your travels bring you to Playa del Carmen and let us impress you with an unique experience.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

This is by far the Best hotel I have stayed in Playa del Carmen and perhaps Mexico !!!
The attention to detail was amazing, an unforgettable experience ! The service was "Impeccable" from the first day to the very last minute at the hotel. The staff has been trained perfectly, so you feel as if you are at a Five Star Hotel on the Amalfi Coast ! The Food was exceptional, we found out the Chef, Francisco was trained in Florence, Italy. The risotto was made to perfection and the Foie Gras, outstanding !!! And yet, we were still on the beach in Mexico ! The Rooftop Lounge had some mesmerizing views, sunsets were unforgettable. We will come back in January and again in March ! Congratulations to the owners !!!
I don't care what the rating says. . .
- This is a Five Star Hotel -
An amazing Experience ✨

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank IAM4NART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo S, Econcierge Service. at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Hello, IAM4NART

Good morning.

... first of all, We want to thank you for your wonderful comments and compliments regarding your recent stay at The Carmen Hotel and also many thanks for your high recommendations.

Nothing is more comforting than knowing that we achieved our main goal which is to make you feel part of our family and make this your second home.

We are so proud of our staff at the Carmen hotel because we know they are the ones who make this possible and make of your stay an unforgettable experience, they are our more valuable source.

Thank you very much, we will be glad to host you back in January and March.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews