We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the middle of Playa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Ranked #15 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 January 2015

I've stayed in many boutique hotels around the world, and Acanto is a real gem smack dab in the middle of Playa del Carmen, without the noise. Just one block off of the main shopping/restaurant pedestrian-only Quinta Avenida, and 3 blocks from the beach, Acanto is a quiet, authentic, and romantic boutique hotel on a cobblestone street surrounded by tropical trees.
The staff is friendly and helpful without being intrusive. In 4 stays I've never had housekeeping knocking on the door, but they keep the place spotless, and the sheets and towels are fresh and don't smell like industrial cleaners. The rooftop is a great place to have a margarita at sunset.

Lots of charm + modern amenities = very homey and comfortable. Can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: They're all good, just pick your size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcraig, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Thanks Don. Your comments are great and we appreciate that you enjoy our property and staff so much. Likewise we appreciate you . I think this was your third or fourth visit and I'm assuming you be back sooner than later. Your second home and your Penthouse unit is waiting for you.

See you soon, Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 369 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2015

We stayed at Acanto for 4 days. It's centrally located, convenient, and clean. All of the staff were wonderful, especially Italia. The rooftop terrace had a wonderful hot-tub and grill. Walking distance to the grocery store and many restaurants. We could not have asked for more!

Room Tip: Top floor suites on the street side have a much nicer view, but shared rooftop terraces. The non-str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Byron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcraig, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Thanks Byron, glad you enjoyed the hotel and were able to experience the roof top jacuzzi and BBQ. Italia has recently won a TripAdvisor award for Employee of the year, we are very proud of her. All of the staff is on their way to win that same award. It guests like you that contribute to that.
Have a great rest of the winter and well see you soon

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights. Enjoyed how new and clean everything was. The staff was really friendly and the location was great. Only minor complaints were the shower ran cold pretty fast and couldn't get the hot tub warm either. Other than that very pleasant. Centrally located enough to be close to everything but far enough away from the clubs to get a quiet night's sleep.

Room Tip: If i stayed here again would choose a higher floor as our ground level unit did not have much privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nightpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcraig, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

HI we are glad you enjoyed your time at Acanto and in Playa del carmen. Thank you for your comments:
We have adjusted the Hot Tub heater, as some guests turn it up or down without our knowledge. We have checked the showers and made all adjustments as well.

Next return well be sure to give you an upper level floor, just let us know in advance of arrival.

Thanks again Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015

I live here but I had friends coming to get married and mutual friends came too, so I stayed here a week end as well to be closest to them and it was really a great experience. The staff was very friendly and when we needed something they were very helpful. The place is right in the middle of everything: the fifth avenue, the beach, restaurants, bars... Excellent location. What surpised me was also that it was a calm place too. There is no restaurant inside the hotel but there is no need because just in front of the hotel, there is an excellent one. There are others on the same street and around, so everything is at hand. Besides there was a kitchen inside. The room was also very clean and comfortable. Thank you Acanto Boutique Hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Le-Cinq-Restaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcraig, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Thank you for your remarks. Its amazing how once a guest enters our gates it is as if a different world than all the surroundings.
Our gardens and water and light features are designed to calm the mind. Creating a peaceful environment for our guests. We are glad that you experienced that.
The rooms and kitchens are kept spotless for our guests and our hotel's the location is perfectly set from restaurants and beaches yet close enough to be at any of them in just minutes,
allowing our hotel to remain as peaceful as you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

Fantastic location, charming staff and recommendations, kitchen to cook in. I have zero complaints about my stay here, except that it could have been longer! If you're looking for a spot in PDC, Acanto is your go to!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tanner W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcraig, General Manager at Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Thanks Tanner!! Your second home will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,989 reviews
0.4 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,728 reviews
7.9 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#47 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,449 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#12 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
882 reviews
0.1 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen

Address: Calle 16 Norte | Between 1st & 5th ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Acanto Condo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: S$151 - S$434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Acanto Hotel all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, phone calls, Morning Fruits and coffee , access to the beach which is just one block away. Daily maid service, discounts to local area restaurants & beach clubs, a beautiful roof top with BBQ and views of the Sea. Acanto offers Deluxe rooms and 1, 2 or 3 bedroom options all surrounding a courtyard and swimming pool. Most rooms include full kitchen, living room and dining room. The location is a secluded and quiet side street, steps to restaurants and beaches offering live music, great food and drinks. Acanto offers a Romantic yet family friendly atmosphere. Our experienced staff will cater to your every need. All Accommodations offer marble floors and bathrooms, granite counter tops, central air conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TVs, telephones, terraces and much more. All accommodations are energy efficient and ecologically friendly. We are a smoke free facility.. The Hotel no longer offers Jacuzzi's. We are LGBT Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico
Hotel Acanto Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing