We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$300
US$294
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Playa Palms Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$331
US$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$231
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$161
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$649
US$324
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$487
US$349
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$649
US$457
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,892)
Filter reviews
5,892 results
Traveller rating
3,681
1,460
449
172
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,681
1,460
449
172
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports bardon manolospecialty restaurantspalm treescourtyard viewfusion restaurantmusty smellmake reservationsother resortsgated communitylobsterinfinity poolriviera mayamain buffetentertainment stafflunch buffethotel is beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 5,892 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I transferred over to the RIU Palace Riviera Maya (had a previous travel agent tell me this was a perfect resort) after a horrible experience at the Secrets Capri. The hotel has a beautiful architecture and style. Very pretty. The outside and the inside lobby and public areas. Nice staff. GREAT FOOD. Beach is very nice. Lots of chaise loungers and LOTS of shaded Loungers too. Very pretty view of Cozumel from the resort. They have one swimming pool and several decorative pools. The swimming pool is very lively-loud music, exercise, dance lessons, pool bar, 20-30 year olds. Beach is a little bit more quiet. My opinion, if you are looking for a relaxed, quiet resort look outside of Playa Del Carmen area. The private areas and the rooms were the biggest drawback. The mediterranean style hotel on the halls to your rooms was very dark. The room was very dark AND IT SMELLED LIKE MOLD. We didn't want to say anything as we just came from a horrible resort-Secrets Capri, but the smell was so strong that the 2nd day we told the front desk and they sent the housekeeper who sprayed air freshener which mildly helped. It still smelled but not as bad. Barely tolerable. The next 2 days were ok. The last night of our vacation we were woken up at 1:30am (we had to be up at 5:00 am for transfer to airport) and my husband got out of bed to answer the door and fell on the floor as THERE WAS 2 INCHES OF WATER COVERING THE FLOOR IN OUR ROOM. The housekeepers had come -as they knew about the flood-with squeegees to remove the water. they squeeged and then used towels to wipe up most of the water.. I told them and the front desk about my husband's fall, but they didn't respond. I don't think they understood English well. Anyway, there was still water seeping from the baseboards after they left. The room stunk to high heaven of mold. I believe they knew there is a problem with mold at this hotel. Would not stay here again. Too noisy and the smell is overwhelming. But great food. This is my personal opinion of what truthfully occurred during our stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: rooms with a view of the courtyard are nice.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Lois A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such honest and detailed feedback. We are glad to read that the food offered at our restaurants was to your satisfaction and that you highlighted the décor of our lobby.

Regarding the issues you described in your room, we are deeply disappointed to find that our team did not turn around this situation to your complete satisfaction during your stay. We would like to clarify that, unfortunately humidity is something very typical of a tropical climate. Our internal system is created to mitigate this. We are sorry to read that your room needed more work.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the high standards of service and quality that are typical of our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We spent a week here recently for a wedding we were attending in Cozumel and it was perfect for a big group (25). The pool and beach area was big enough for all of us to feel spacious and be able to interact with other visitors if need be. The plaza at night is a perfect meeting place for all because everyone could go in and eat at the restaurant of their choice and then easily meet before/after for drinks. I loved that the restaurants were all in the plaza area that looked like a beautiful Mexican patio! The staff was incredibly nice from the reception to the waiters, bartenders and some of the entertainment crew.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool area are perfect!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We travelled to Playa Del Carmen the first week of September with 8 of us, ranging from ages 19-50. This resort was absolutely breathtaking. The pool and beach were immaculate, and maintained daily. The service was above and beyond, no matter where you were sitting in the resort, someone was coming by to see if you needed anything.

The entertainment staff was exception, going out of their way to ensure everyone was having fun. We went during off season, so we were able to get to know the staff throughout the week and we would definitely return just to see them again! Special shoutouts to Omar, Angel, Leo, Yami and Aldair. The daily activities and shows were never a bore. The restaurants were amazing, including the buffet which had a wide assortment of food options that were never boring.

The large issue we had, and the only bad thing I could say about this resort, is that we did have a large sum of money stolen from one of our rooms. Once reporting this to the manager, the director was then involved in this theft. Unfortunately the director could not have cared less. It was very clear to us that it was taken by a maintenance worker and not a maid, as the first two days we were there, maintenance workers kept walking into our rooms (with their own keys - aside from the director claiming they do not have access to the rooms) and saying they were inspecting one thing to the other (fire alarm, toilets, water pressure...). We had initially thought it was a maid, as the money went missing in 45 minutes while we were at breakfast and the rooms were getting cleaned. However Isabella, the woman cleaning our rooms had found our safe open the next day and had put a do not disturb sign on our door so that others would not go into our room.

Unfortunately we did not get the money back, and went we confronted the director she did not apologize or care at all. Aside from this mishap, the trip was absolutely beautiful. Will definitely be visiting Playa Del Carmen again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monica I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Had a wonderful time during our most recent 6 night stay in early Sept 2017. The front desk, restaurant workers, bar staff and the other services team are all hard working people who do all they can to ensure you have a great vacation.
The rooms are clean and well appointed. Can't seem to leave the room without a shot of tequila that is provided (vodka, whiskey and rum too)! The housekeeping staff does a great job too. I try to leave a couple of dollars for housekeeping every day because "gracias" just doesn't seem like thank you enough.
Mendez, who works in the restaurants, is one of our favorite people at the resort. He's been so wonderful on each of our visits and remembers us each time. During 1 trip my mother started to choke and he was right there to assist. Carlos O, Ivan and Antonio are smiling and happy to get whatever you need each morning as well as anytime.
The Other Services dept does a great job of having a variety activities. AquaGym is always fun! I don't know his name but the guy with white lines sunglasses is a fav. It's nice that they don't have music blasting at the pool from open to close. There are a couple of quiet hours which is appreciated!! Don't forget the Bingo! When Ricky (?) calls the numbers is a lot of languages which makes if fun for all lot of us. I don't speak German but he makes it sound fun.
The beach....very good! Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 12ann25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Beautiful resort! Friendly staff and great service whether at the pool, beach, bars or dining. Housekeeping needs a shout out too! Our room was cleaned spotless everyday and nice little touches, towel art, chocolates, flowers etc.. Sports bar was fun and drinks were great and consistent across the resort. Lots of chairs available, beach or pool and never had a problem finding shade either. Chili's Steakhouse was fantastic, best steak we have had so far on our trips to Mexico. Don Manolo buffet was wonderful, many food choices and we had some delicious meals there. Night time entertainment was not our thing here but we heard many other guests talking about how much they enjoyed different shows. Saw zero top-less at the beach. Not sure if this was normal here or not allowed, we never asked either. But the twins do like being out in the sun, so that was a bummer. We will keep this resort on our 'will visit again' list!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kscpl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews