We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$297
US$236
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$300
US$243
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$161
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$650
US$324
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$649
US$457
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$480
US$339
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$229
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveller rating
615
318
66
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
318
66
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing boatsocean view studiocontinental breakfastboutique hotelsmall hotelevery morningthe location is perfectrestaurants and shopsocean frontbring earplugslight sleeperthird floorcoffee makerloved this hoteltwo blockswe loved our staysmall pool
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I had a wonderful time staying here from Thursday-Sunday. The hotel was clean and nice. The staff were all great. The location was in proximity to the busiest part of Playa, but without the noise. The only thing that bothered me was the beach in front. The water was super dirty and just full of boats. I was in the area last year at the same time, and the water was crystal clear. But ......that isn't the hotel's fault.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Simon,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for the 5-star rating. It's always a pleasure to welcome guests back! We are pleased to hear that you one more time enjoyed your stay with us. We especially appreciate your comment regarding the tranquility in the hotel, despite being in the center of Playa del Carmen. We put a lot of effort into sound-proofing the rooms, as well as the hotel entrance, and we are happy to see that our guests are satisfied with the result.

We are sorry that the Sea wasn't as crystal clear as on your last stay. The water condition depends a lot on the climate. On windy or rainy days it's possible that the water seems dirty because of stirred up sand or sometimes because of the current washes up seaweed.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards from Playa del Carmen,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

The hotel is at the beach and only two blocks away from the 5th Ave., but still far enough from the noise so that you can sleep at night. The staff, specially Carlos, is always ready to give you advice and find the best tours for you. We loved it there!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Bettina,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and the tranquility, and appreciate your great shout-out to Carlos. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again!

Kind regards,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Disgusted by the fact our relaxing vacation was disturbed by 2 days of concrete drilling and hammering in the room next door. Apparently management thought we would enjoy this as it took a second and very angry complaint for this to be stoped. No offer of compensation. Who on earth wants to go on vacation and listen to concrete drilling and hammering. The balcony and views could not be enjoyed due to this, which was the reason we booked thus hotel.Waste of money, feel so taken advantage of by this hotel. Staff disinterested. Also breakfast only starts at 7.30 so we missed out on a number of days due to needing to leave at 7.30. When food did arrive it was pretty substandard.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Lee,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent experience with us, as it assists us greatly in maintaining and improving the service we provide.

We sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced. In order to keep the property well maintained, maintenance work has to be done from time to time. Of course, we try and make every effort to ensure it never impacts negatively on our guest's experience. It clearly did in this instance and we are truly sorry. Please contact us and let us know how we can resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

Again, we are sorry if we didn't meet your expectations.

Kind regards,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing hotel, with a natural modern look, 24 hour service, and an extremely friendly staff, always at your disposal when needed,even when we booked another night, they tried their best to help us, and the there's free breakfast and a beach to relax on! 5 stars because I know it's not their fault, but the disgusting smelling seaweed problem was terrible, the first day I couldn't stand the beachfront, on the second it was much better but still a problem, again not their fault, so 5 stars! For excellent friendly service and the convenient location,

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you very much for your kind words and the 5-star rating. It's always a pleasure receiving such positive feedback and the best possible reward for our daiñly work and effort.

We are sorry about the seaweed at the beach. As you mentioned, it's a natural phenomenon that occurs from time to time. We do our best to keep our beach clean, but we can't keep the seaweed from washing up. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us anyway!

Kind regards from Playa del Carmen,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

A lovely hotel, turns out all condos privately owned & managed by the complex, so each room very different.
We had a great room, right on the main road, initially worried about the noise from the clubs, but so well insulated we didn't even realise we were in the middle of a hurricane.
Staff are amazing, especially the hotel concierge Carlos, always went out of his way to help.
Right in he centre of town, perfect location.
Private beach, unfortunately we couldn't really go into the sea due to seaweed, but the hotel has a pool right next to he beach to take a dip into.
Ideal hotel for people that want a great room, not to spend too much time in, but to use as a base.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank popsy_23a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear popsy_23a,

Thank you for your 5-star review and your great shout-out to all our staff, especially Carlos. Your kind words sure are the best possible reward for our daily work and effort! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the tranquility at Playa Palms Beach Hotel. Latter means a lot to us since we put a lot of effort into soundproofing all our rooms and the hotel entrance.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again!

Kind regards from Playa del Carmen,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews