We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Quiet Safe Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Loved everything about this place. I understand it isn't everyone's place, but definitely was the perfect spot for me. Excellent service, close to everything, clean, quiet, safe. Does not have a restaurant but there is one right next door

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank myronpeterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Myron Peter,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and the 5-star rating. It makes us happy to hear that Playa Palms Beach Hotel turned out to be the perfect accommodation for you and that you enjoyed the service and security we provide. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again!

Kind regards from Playa del Carmen,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

I had a wonderful time staying here from Thursday-Sunday. The hotel was clean and nice. The staff were all great. The location was in proximity to the busiest part of Playa, but without the noise. The only thing that bothered me was the beach in front. The water was super dirty and just full of boats. I was in the area last year at the same time, and the water was crystal clear. But ......that isn't the hotel's fault.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Simon,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for the 5-star rating. It's always a pleasure to welcome guests back! We are pleased to hear that you one more time enjoyed your stay with us. We especially appreciate your comment regarding the tranquility in the hotel, despite being in the center of Playa del Carmen. We put a lot of effort into sound-proofing the rooms, as well as the hotel entrance, and we are happy to see that our guests are satisfied with the result.

We are sorry that the Sea wasn't as crystal clear as on your last stay. The water condition depends a lot on the climate. On windy or rainy days it's possible that the water seems dirty because of stirred up sand or sometimes because of the current washes up seaweed.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards from Playa del Carmen,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

The hotel is at the beach and only two blocks away from the 5th Ave., but still far enough from the noise so that you can sleep at night. The staff, specially Carlos, is always ready to give you advice and find the best tours for you. We loved it there!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Bettina,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and the tranquility, and appreciate your great shout-out to Carlos. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon again!

Kind regards,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Disgusted by the fact our relaxing vacation was disturbed by 2 days of concrete drilling and hammering in the room next door. Apparently management thought we would enjoy this as it took a second and very angry complaint for this to be stoped. No offer of compensation. Who on earth wants to go on vacation and listen to concrete drilling and hammering. The balcony and views could not be enjoyed due to this, which was the reason we booked thus hotel.Waste of money, feel so taken advantage of by this hotel. Staff disinterested. Also breakfast only starts at 7.30 so we missed out on a number of days due to needing to leave at 7.30. When food did arrive it was pretty substandard.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Lee,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent experience with us, as it assists us greatly in maintaining and improving the service we provide.

We sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced. In order to keep the property well maintained, maintenance work has to be done from time to time. Of course, we try and make every effort to ensure it never impacts negatively on our guest's experience. It clearly did in this instance and we are truly sorry. Please contact us and let us know how we can resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

Again, we are sorry if we didn't meet your expectations.

Kind regards,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing hotel, with a natural modern look, 24 hour service, and an extremely friendly staff, always at your disposal when needed,even when we booked another night, they tried their best to help us, and the there's free breakfast and a beach to relax on! 5 stars because I know it's not their fault, but the disgusting smelling seaweed problem was terrible, the first day I couldn't stand the beachfront, on the second it was much better but still a problem, again not their fault, so 5 stars! For excellent friendly service and the convenient location,

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelgeSturesson, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you very much for your kind words and the 5-star rating. It's always a pleasure receiving such positive feedback and the best possible reward for our daiñly work and effort.

We are sorry about the seaweed at the beach. As you mentioned, it's a natural phenomenon that occurs from time to time. We do our best to keep our beach clean, but we can't keep the seaweed from washing up. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us anyway!

Kind regards from Playa del Carmen,
Helge Sturesson
General Manager
Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,610 reviews
0.3 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#8 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
480 reviews
0.0 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,844 reviews
0.3 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#48 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,552 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Address: 1st Avenue Bis | Between 12th and 14th North Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 224 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $168 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Palms Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, lush tropical gardens and sweeping Caribbean views frame the charming palapa-roofed architecture of Playa Palms Boutique Beach Hotel. We welcome you to enjoy Playa del Carmen as it is meant to be experienced - where gracious service, superb amenities and exhilarating activities deliver just the Mexico you came to see. As the "alternative to all-inclusives," Playa Palms offers a relaxed and intimate departure from the larger resorts on the Riviera Maya. Stay walking distance from the vibrant shops, restaurants, and bars of 5th Avenue, known locally as "La Quinta." When relaxing at the hotel, guests have their choice of amenities and adventures. Whether you want to indulge in the delicious local cuisine, partake in a wide range of water sports, or lounge in a hammock on your private terrace while basking inexquisite ocean views, Playa Palms is an elegant oasis for relaxation in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Come to Playa Palms and Wake Up Inside Your Dream! Enjoy a complimentary Continental breakfast on your private balcony overlooking the Caribbean when you book your reservations directly through the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing