We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$384
US$295
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$508
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$508
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Residences El Faro(Playa del Carmen)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$317
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$725
US$518
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xaman-ha 7016 Luxury Condominium(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carmen Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
US$171
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$792
US$665
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,758)
Filter reviews
1,758 results
Traveller rating
1,375
289
77
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,375
289
77
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnermega resortsocean view bungalowmayan dancerssmall hotelcevichebeach barrepeat guestsrental caryogurtall inclusivespalm treesocean frontrelaxing vacationgreat beachthe entire staffnight life
Filter
Updating list...
1,323 - 1,328 of 1,758 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Our time at Petit Lafitte was like stepping into a beautiful postcard. You know, the one that makes you go all dreamy-eyed with that far, far away look. The one with the amazing beach scene that when you see it you can actually feel the ocean breeze, hear the waves on the shore and smell the salty air.
If you have ever had that " take me there" moment, then Petit Lafitte is where you NEED to go.
Add to the dream; EXCELLENT SERVICE, truly DELICIOUS food (the soup must be Heaven sent) and bungalows with free air conditioning, wi-fi, bottled water and coffee...well, you get the picture, soooo, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR????

P.S. sit under the cabana, out past the bar and paint some hand made pottery. TOTAL RELAXATION and an awesome souvenir.
AND GO TO COBA!!!

Room Tip: Bungalows have great remote control air conditioning, our ocean view one was sooooo relaxing and super roomy! The Free Wi-Fi worked perfect
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank urbkishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

WOOOOW!!!
Quite poetic!
Your review, really creates a feeling and of course visions... Yes, visions of what you get when you go on vacation and find a little family operated business on the beach. We are so honored to have you depict your experience with us the way you did, white sands, sunshinning, calm waters, summer breeze...
Gee!!! What else???
I know:
Down to earth mentions of services, coffeee, food, and even pottery painting.
Sure enough, you really assimilated what we are about.
We are about the experiences, hotel rooms are sold by anyone who can build them, your brief, juicy review, puts it just perfect....Like the postcard you made us dream about.

Thank you so much dear urbkishere.
Wish to serv you again in the near future.

Sincerely...

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We went with our 15 y.o. daughter and 16 y.o. son. They stayed in a garden room overlooking the pool and we had an ocean view room. Two garden view rooms would have sufficed as we were hardly in our rooms. Great beds and a/c, and few mosquitos, which is unusual for the area! The staff got to know our names on the first day and was very attentive. The beach was beautiful, there were absolutely no issues with getting a palapa and the pool was refreshing. We enjoyed the intimacy of the place and the quietude. We were concerned that the children would be bored but they had a great time. If they got bored they would walk to some of the larger resorts up and down the beach and meet other teens, but mostly they stayed at Petit Lafitte. The Princess hotel slightly to the north offers jetskiing and catamarans. The hotel offered dive and snorkel tours. We all had an outstanding massage. The food was plentiful and great, as were the drinks. At night we would meet other families playing ping pong and billiards. We made some new facebook friends from different countries and we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms not really necessary, unless you spend a lot of time in your room!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mqqmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear mqqmartin and family.

It is delightful to read your review and see how a family with teenagers cand find Petit Lafitte and really have a good time.
Thank youf or the comments on the beds, the service (we learned your names on the first day ) on the A/C and the dive shop. I am also glad to hear that you used the massage service, definitevely, well spent money.
I have learned over the many years working for Petit Lafite, that it is common that people who meet here become freinds, stay in touch way past their Lafite experience and often, return here after planning their trip together, for example we have the Christmas families, the Valentines couples and the summer fishermen, the Thanksgiving musicians and jazz lovers (The Riviera Maya has a world class Jazz fest around Thanks giving) just to mention different interests.
I hope you get to reurn to Petit Lafitte and have a reunion with your fresh made friends.
For us, we consider you, already, extended family.

Best Regards

I.F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Upon check in:
We were greeted by Felipe and Luis to check in. Luis gave us a tour of the hotel.

Room:
- We stayed in the most basic room with two full size beds and garden view. The beds are comfortable (set on concrete and with tiled headboard).
- Wished we had duvets instead of bed spread, but it was ok since we didn’t use it anyway.
- We are given 5 1L bottles of water each day.
- The water pressure in the shower is weak but do-able. Water was warm enough for a comfortable shower.
- The room seemed a bit out of date. We didn’t stay at the hotel for most of the day anyway so we were satisfied with the room.

Beach:
- The area right in front of the hotel is rocky and we were advised not to swim there.
- Some people swim in the area between Petit Lafitte and Princess Hotel (the half-moon area to the north of the hotel).
- We only swam at the beach in front of the Princess Hotel (less than 10 min walk north). It’s not that crowded and we felt it was cleaner on the beach.
- Go swim and snorkel in the morning! The water is much clearer and calmer. We saw a bunch of fish and even a sting ray.
- Enjoy the hammocks by the beach!
- If you have the time and energy, walk to 5th Ave along the beach. It takes about 2 hours but you will pass by some really nice stretches of the beach. Make sure you wear sunscreen and bring water!

Pool:
- We did not use the pool since the beach was so close! However the staff was very aware of the cleanliness of the pool. We saw the staff cleaning the pool every morning.

Service:
- Service was excellent. They knew our names by the night of our arrival. Everyone was very helpful and treated us nicely.
- The staff genuinely cared about the guests. David asked about our plans each day and made sure we get the most out of our trips.
- As we were leaving the hotel at 3:40am to the airport on our departure date, the kitchen made a box breakfast for us the night before so we could leave with a breakfast.

Meals:
The eating area for breakfast and dinner is outdoor. Make sure you wear a lot of bug spray.

Breakfast
- Every morning we started with a glass of OJ, a buffet of fruits, usually papaya, pineapple, mango, watermelon and honeydew. There are also yogurt, cereal and buns in the buffet. Then you can order from their breakfast menu for hot breakfast. We tried 80% of the menu during our stay and liked every one of them. Would recommend the Huevos Motulenos and the Spanish Omelet

Lunch
- We only had lunch once in the hotel. We ordered the petit tacos (beef) which were delicious. Even better with an ocean view.

Dinner
- The menu for dinner is different every night. The soup, salad bar and dessert are buffet-style. They are also different every night.
- The most memorable was the cream of carrot soup! And the Mexican buffet was excellent!
- Pick the seafood dish whenever you can. I would skip the beef if there’s a better choice since it was dry the two times it was offered.

Pros:
- The room had all the basic needs
- Food was great
- Affordable
- Location

Cons:
- There were really small ants running around the sink. We didn’t care much of it but it could be a problem for other guests.
- The towels and bedding often have orange stains.
- Restaurant is sometimes too dark and full of hungry mosquitos.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HMPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear HMPC,
Thank you for your very detailed review. What can I say?, Everything you mentioned is pretty much accurate. However, we have worked on our water pressure, we have replaced shower heads and recently serviced the pressure systems and pumps. It helped a lot. Some rooms are equipped with duvets and some with bed spreads.
Yes we take pride in our service and David, commanding from his concierge desk is the best leader in that department.
Our food is also an aspect we are proud of. We have inbtroduced new dishes this month, that can be seen on our web site.
Its funny you mention walking to Playa, It is actually somehting that most guests don't do often, but it is indeed a very enjoyable little journey. Then once you are in Playa del carmen, you have a plethora of restaurants and beach bars to choose from.
I see you took advantage of some of the tours and explorations that can be done around here.
And I am glad to hear that the boys prepared your box breakfast upon departure.
That's what we'd do for old friends and family.
You are invited to return for a second time around and for another lovely vacation.

Once again, thank you for the pleasure of your company and also for taking the time to write your review.

Sincerely

I.F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is a place where they truly care about their guests. Everyday they asked us about our plans and provided with help for our trips, either with a booklet and maps or saving our dinner for our late arrival.
We traveled with our 17 year old girl who is not easy to please! She loved the awesomeness of having a blue ocean in front of our room, an exquisite Mexican breakfast, and a delicious dinner waiting for us after a whole day of exploring the Mayan ruins!
This is definitely a First Class Hotel, without the high price and crowds! We hope to be back very soon!

Room Tip: We had a double room that was very clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarthaDePavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Martha,
Thank you for your review.
It is always nice to receive such nice comments and on ocassion from our "paisanos."
Yes we are proud and will continue taking care of our guests in this very personal fashion. We view hotel and hospitality business as a very special opportunity to create bonds and help people relax and treat them as family. (Well inthe healthy context, ha,ha,ha). Our concierge David is awesome with what he does, and his 30 year experience with us allows him to really get and transmit the idea of what Petit Lafitte is about. For example, saving you dinner for your late return after a day of explorations in the interesting areas of Riviera Maya.
We are happy to hear that you are planning to come back and we definitely are already looking forward to your visit in the near future.

Once again, on behalf of all of Petit Lafitte's staff and family.
Muchas Gracias

I.F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My wife and I stayed for 6 days at Pettite Laffite, this hotel has 2 kinds of rooms, the apartment style and bungalows wich are like small cabins. We recommend the bungalows (very romantic), you open the door and the sand is right there, you`ll find some palm trees with hammocks and the beach it`s ritght there. The hotel is very small, private and quite, everybody there is very kind and carefull of your well being, they will remember your name as well you`ll remember theirs. If you need a taxi, they will call one and within 20 minutes (only us$ 14) it`s gonna be there. You`ll find a lot of tours to every atraction on the area but we find out that the best way is to hire a taxi, you will pay around us$200. for a day, but you will visit more places and save a lot of time and money plus you deside how much time you want to stay in a place or where you want to stop. Anyways the guys at the hotel will take care of everything you want. We are very happy with Pettite Lafitte in our last day I wished to be able to leave more tip, but you know what happened. Playa del Carmen and its 5th street , Chichen Itza, Tulum, Los cenotes los ojos and many more places to enjoy. we`re gonna miss you guys

Room Tip: Make your reservation directly with the hotel to get exactly what you want
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Objective1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Dear Objective 1212,
Muchas Gracias for your review, I am glad you had a very nice stay with us. Apparently you were able to experience the two types of units we have, the standard hotel rooms and the Bungalows. I agree the Bungalows are more, "romantic" to say the least, perhaps the fact that they do not have (and will not have) TVs just adds to the romantic athmosphere.
Yes, the hammocks right outside the Bungalows are a convenient little treat to the guests staying there, also the fact that as you walk the three little steps down from the cabaña, you are stepping on the white, super fine, Caribean sand, is a plus especially for those who appreciate the sensorial experiences.
Remembering guests names is definitely something we have worked on for many, many years and we are fortunate to have our wait and bartending staff work for us for a long time.
Thank you so much for speaking kindly of us.
And we wish to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely

I.F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews