We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Low-Key Family Vacation”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #9 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2012

1st family vacation in Mexico, and we loved it. Was a little worried when arriving due to that last stretch of unpaved road, but the resort itself is perfectly fine so those worries were quickly put to rest. As we booked very late, we did not stay in one of the bungalows, but we were very happy with the room we had. Simple, functional and clean.

Kids (4 and 6) loved the beach and water, but it was a little rough for the youngest one without a helping hand. The plentiful seaweed was a bit of a turn-off at first, but you quickly get used to it. Lots of families there, and the kids enjoyed playing with the other kids running around. In fact, we didn't travel much outside the resort as it was so easy to stay there and relax. It felt completely safe to let the kids run around and play, so we weren't worried if they were out of sight for a bit. The pool was a bit cold when you first jump in, but it was definitely warm enough to enjoy. We split each day between the beach and the pool and had plenty of fun with both.

Food was almost always good to great in our opinion-- we were pleasantly surprised at the quality at dinner our first night. Dinner was our favorite meal of the day, but the late start (7pm) and slow serving time was tough for the kids to wait for after a hard day of play in the sun. After a couple days, we figured out that ordering some food from the bar (which serves simple food for lunch) a couple hours before dinner would keep them from being quite so hungry. Couldn't avoid them being tired though! There were a couple of buffet nights (special holiday meals) that were perfect as you could avoid the wait time.

The best thing about Petit Lafitte is the staff and service. They were always friendly and helpful without exception. They helped us arrange a rental car which was dropped off and picked up directly at the hotel, which was very convenient for the 2 days we used it. We used it to visit the ruins at Tulum and a few beaches further south-- the kids favorite was Akumal Bay since the waves were low and the floor was nice and sandy with no rocks.

If you are looking to spend some quality time with family in a low-key, relaxing setting it would be hard to beat this place. We were very happy with our time here, and our kids loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear Tim S,

Thank you for your thorough report.
We feel rewarded by your comments. I believe readers will see how a family of 4 can have a very pleasant time at Petit Lafitte.
Thank you for your kind comments about food, staff,beach and rooms.
We wish that now that you know the way, we will see more of you and your family.

Kind Regards

Ivá A. Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,129 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

The Petit Lafitte is small, peaceful and relaxed, with a pretty beach and attentive service. The non-bungalow rooms are not luxurious and could be improved by some simple additions, such as better bed-linen and soft furnishings. However they are spacious, with effective A/C and showers and they are continuously topped up with bottled water and materials for coffee making. As others have said, the food is not cordon bleu, erring on the bland side. However it is filling, healthy and they do try to be imaginative without scaring the horses. Breakfast is excellent, with lots of fruit and a number of freshly cooked options. There is also a good lunch selection offered in the baechside bar. Although the beach is not private and has quite a lot passers by, anyone familiar with Mediterranean equivalents would consider it secluded and the mostly rocky entry to the sea can be avoided easily by walking a few yards to a sandy spot. The restaurant staff are professional and efficient without being overly friendly, but generally, the staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make one feel welcome. All in all, I would definitely return and it's only to be hoped that they can continue to resist the encroaching tide of giant all-inclusive resorts that seems to be getting closer and closer. If you want to see how different it can be in this part of the world, a brief visit to one of these zoos is enough warning!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amm1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear amm1u,

So, it is quite a haul from Glaslow to here!!!
It is great to see that a solo traveler from that far can come and find our little spot on the beach.
Thank you for writing such a thoughtful review and sharng your experience with others.
You write very nicely, I should say, and your words give a broader perspective than most reviews, especially when you comment on how the big resorts have been encroaching us and that you hope we resist such environment.
I foresee, that with people like you who can appreciate that service quality and the authenticity of our efforts, we will last a many more years.

Good luck to you in your journeys and perhaps, our paths will cross again.

Sincerely

I.Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Traveled to Petit Lafitte on Jan. 2-6 2012 with my wife. We stayed in a bungalow, it was great to have alittle place with a porch. The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly.

The hotel is right on a uncrowded beach. Never had to race out in the morning to claim a spot. Plenty of chairs and was never asked to buy anything on the beach. Pool is small but if you are going to Playa to swim in a pool, you are crazy.

Breakfast is great and lunch at the beach bar is good. Dinner was good but I could see how some describe it as average.

So if you are looking for ultra-luxury and swim up pool bars with blasting techno music do not go to this hotel. BUT if you are looking for a clean, friendly, relaxing beach vacation this is your spot.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Workhardplayhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Workhardplayhard,

Thank you very much for your nice review for Petit Lafitte.
It is an honor to have been chosen by you for you vacation with your wife.
As you indicate, January is a very good time to travel to Petit Lafitte, as we are done with the holiday "madness" (ha,ha,ha,) the staff is like a well greased machine, an they get to spend a lot of time with you.
I notice you mention how our beach feels uncrowded and specially your comments on "no one trying to sell you something" on the beach. Well that is only achievable through the fact that we are far enough away from crowds. Thank you for mentioning that, also we appreciate your comments on the Bungalows and the clean premises.
We are delighted to read your final statement saying that you can't wait to return. We are already looking forward to that time, when we can say "hello again" and welcome you to our list of repeat costumers.

Once again,
Muchas Gracias.

Sincerely...
Iván

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This little gem is rustic and hidden away on a beach with difficult road access but is worth the effort. Everyone in the area knows exactly how to get there. The front desk (Eduardo) staff is remarkable. The bartender is grumpy and the drinks reflect that. The beach at the hotel was rocky. The beaches within walking distance in front of nearby larger hotels were nice. The views and private (dark) bungalos were special. When we left in September, the hotel was generous with solving our communication problems and we were definitely going to return this winter when the place was busier.... We probably will someday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear sailart,
I would like to say thank you for your review of Petit Lafitte.
We are honored to be called a Gem, specially when you say we are rustic and hidden, this gives everybody the idea (and we can't agree more!) that rusticity and beauty are not exclusive of eachother.
Having been in business for many, many years, (since 1973), has, as you mention, given us a familiarity among locals. So most cab drivers know where we are. Xcalacoco, the area where we are located is slowly becoming a name that people know and what they connect with the name is that : private, hidden, away from crowds, rustic and personable. Most of the neighbor hotels on the beach here are small, with few exceptions.
I regret that you mention the bar tender being grumpy. It intrigues me, as both our bartenders, (we have two shifts) have been fixed "items" with us, they are well known and respected among our clientele. Both of them, Víctor and Jesus, are very friendly and I can't help but think that it may have been a bad day or moment, or perhaps even a misunderstanding, but believe me it is not the norm.
We have painted all the ceilings inside the Bungalows to gather more daylight and are currently figuring out to both, add some more night light and replacing some of the light fixtures for others that provide better illumination.
Thank you for comments that we can use to improve our atmosphere and services.
We are delighted to hear of your intentions to return this winter.
Now you know how to find us.

Best Regards

I. Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We have been to Petit Lafitte several times. The staff is friendly and helpful. We have left jewelry, (small amounts) money and other things out consistently and have never had anything missing. We have arrived before our room was ready more than once, and turned our luggage, money, passports, etc. over to the front desk while we walked the beach. We were very sorry to read the negative review. Lafitte is a laid back, small resort. We love it and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Sally G,
Thank you so much for being a repeat costumer of Petit Lafitte. It is specially rewarding when we see that guests return and try us for a second, third or more time around.
It is sweet to hear you try to convey "the feel" of Lafitte and you stressing how you feel safe, cared for and have no worries about valuebles while here, the casual, laid back and safe atmosphere is extremely important to us.
That is an intangible aspect that is hard to buy with money. We are gald you value it.

Once again, thank you for your visit, your review and your loyalty.
See you next time around.

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.9 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
2.4 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,288 reviews
6.1 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
2.1 km away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,181 reviews
12.6 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#72 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
13,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $265 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing