We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$276
US$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$356
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
US$154
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Reef Coco Beach(Playa del Carmen)
US$155
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$423
US$294
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$410
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$2,396
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,775)
Filter reviews
1,775 results
Traveller rating
1,392
289
77
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,392
289
77
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnermega resortsocean view bungalowmayan dancerssmall hotelcevichebeach barrental caryogurtall inclusivesocean frontpalm treesrelaxing vacationgreat beachthe entire staffnight lifethe wait staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,290 - 1,295 of 1,775 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The Petit Lafitte is small, peaceful and relaxed, with a pretty beach and attentive service. The non-bungalow rooms are not luxurious and could be improved by some simple additions, such as better bed-linen and soft furnishings. However they are spacious, with effective A/C and showers and they are continuously topped up with bottled water and materials for coffee making. As others have said, the food is not cordon bleu, erring on the bland side. However it is filling, healthy and they do try to be imaginative without scaring the horses. Breakfast is excellent, with lots of fruit and a number of freshly cooked options. There is also a good lunch selection offered in the baechside bar. Although the beach is not private and has quite a lot passers by, anyone familiar with Mediterranean equivalents would consider it secluded and the mostly rocky entry to the sea can be avoided easily by walking a few yards to a sandy spot. The restaurant staff are professional and efficient without being overly friendly, but generally, the staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make one feel welcome. All in all, I would definitely return and it's only to be hoped that they can continue to resist the encroaching tide of giant all-inclusive resorts that seems to be getting closer and closer. If you want to see how different it can be in this part of the world, a brief visit to one of these zoos is enough warning!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amm1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear amm1u,

So, it is quite a haul from Glaslow to here!!!
It is great to see that a solo traveler from that far can come and find our little spot on the beach.
Thank you for writing such a thoughtful review and sharng your experience with others.
You write very nicely, I should say, and your words give a broader perspective than most reviews, especially when you comment on how the big resorts have been encroaching us and that you hope we resist such environment.
I foresee, that with people like you who can appreciate that service quality and the authenticity of our efforts, we will last a many more years.

Good luck to you in your journeys and perhaps, our paths will cross again.

Sincerely

I.Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Traveled to Petit Lafitte on Jan. 2-6 2012 with my wife. We stayed in a bungalow, it was great to have alittle place with a porch. The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly.

The hotel is right on a uncrowded beach. Never had to race out in the morning to claim a spot. Plenty of chairs and was never asked to buy anything on the beach. Pool is small but if you are going to Playa to swim in a pool, you are crazy.

Breakfast is great and lunch at the beach bar is good. Dinner was good but I could see how some describe it as average.

So if you are looking for ultra-luxury and swim up pool bars with blasting techno music do not go to this hotel. BUT if you are looking for a clean, friendly, relaxing beach vacation this is your spot.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Workhardplayhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Workhardplayhard,

Thank you very much for your nice review for Petit Lafitte.
It is an honor to have been chosen by you for you vacation with your wife.
As you indicate, January is a very good time to travel to Petit Lafitte, as we are done with the holiday "madness" (ha,ha,ha,) the staff is like a well greased machine, an they get to spend a lot of time with you.
I notice you mention how our beach feels uncrowded and specially your comments on "no one trying to sell you something" on the beach. Well that is only achievable through the fact that we are far enough away from crowds. Thank you for mentioning that, also we appreciate your comments on the Bungalows and the clean premises.
We are delighted to read your final statement saying that you can't wait to return. We are already looking forward to that time, when we can say "hello again" and welcome you to our list of repeat costumers.

Once again,
Muchas Gracias.

Sincerely...
Iván

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This little gem is rustic and hidden away on a beach with difficult road access but is worth the effort. Everyone in the area knows exactly how to get there. The front desk (Eduardo) staff is remarkable. The bartender is grumpy and the drinks reflect that. The beach at the hotel was rocky. The beaches within walking distance in front of nearby larger hotels were nice. The views and private (dark) bungalos were special. When we left in September, the hotel was generous with solving our communication problems and we were definitely going to return this winter when the place was busier.... We probably will someday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear sailart,
I would like to say thank you for your review of Petit Lafitte.
We are honored to be called a Gem, specially when you say we are rustic and hidden, this gives everybody the idea (and we can't agree more!) that rusticity and beauty are not exclusive of eachother.
Having been in business for many, many years, (since 1973), has, as you mention, given us a familiarity among locals. So most cab drivers know where we are. Xcalacoco, the area where we are located is slowly becoming a name that people know and what they connect with the name is that : private, hidden, away from crowds, rustic and personable. Most of the neighbor hotels on the beach here are small, with few exceptions.
I regret that you mention the bar tender being grumpy. It intrigues me, as both our bartenders, (we have two shifts) have been fixed "items" with us, they are well known and respected among our clientele. Both of them, Víctor and Jesus, are very friendly and I can't help but think that it may have been a bad day or moment, or perhaps even a misunderstanding, but believe me it is not the norm.
We have painted all the ceilings inside the Bungalows to gather more daylight and are currently figuring out to both, add some more night light and replacing some of the light fixtures for others that provide better illumination.
Thank you for comments that we can use to improve our atmosphere and services.
We are delighted to hear of your intentions to return this winter.
Now you know how to find us.

Best Regards

I. Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We have been to Petit Lafitte several times. The staff is friendly and helpful. We have left jewelry, (small amounts) money and other things out consistently and have never had anything missing. We have arrived before our room was ready more than once, and turned our luggage, money, passports, etc. over to the front desk while we walked the beach. We were very sorry to read the negative review. Lafitte is a laid back, small resort. We love it and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean and spacious.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Sally G,
Thank you so much for being a repeat costumer of Petit Lafitte. It is specially rewarding when we see that guests return and try us for a second, third or more time around.
It is sweet to hear you try to convey "the feel" of Lafitte and you stressing how you feel safe, cared for and have no worries about valuebles while here, the casual, laid back and safe atmosphere is extremely important to us.
That is an intangible aspect that is hard to buy with money. We are gald you value it.

Once again, thank you for your visit, your review and your loyalty.
See you next time around.

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Food is bad, the place is not very easy to find, the pool is small and cold, rooms are ok, service is ok we next time I'll try an all inclusive

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dakotatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Dakota Travel,
I am so sorry to read your review.
It is evident that it was a complete mistake to come to Petit Lafitte.
We certainly aren't an all inclusive, or 5 star hotel, and we dont have an all inclusive-size-pool.
We aim at cliente that like small family operated properties.
Even other guests stress that on their reviews.

You are absolutely right, our swimming pool does not have heating systems, most pools on the Caribbean coast of Mexico do not have that. We certainly do not claim to have a heated pool.
It seems to me that we have managed to stay in business for over 30 years offering what we offer and found a clientele that responds well to it.
Definitely I see that your experience with us, was bad mainly due to the fact that you expected a lot of things we are not. Unfortunately that happens sometimes. But still I am sorry that you invested your vacation coming here just to find we are not the kind of place you like.
My apologies and best of luck to you on your next travels.

Sincerely

I.F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews