We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petit Lafitte
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cocos Cabanas(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Riviera Paradise(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Reve Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,732)
Filter reviews
1,732 results
Traveller rating
1,349
289
77
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,349
289
77
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnermega resortsocean view bungalowmayan dancerssmall hotelcevichebeach barrepeat guestsrental caryogurtall inclusivesocean frontpalm treesrelaxing vacationgreat beachthe entire staffnight life
Filter
Updating list...
1,246 - 1,251 of 1,732 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My 18 year-old daughter and I just returned from a week at Petit LaFitte, and had a wonderful, relaxed time. The last day we were there, we were thinking of all the friends and family that we want to bring back with us for vacations in the future. The simplicity and small size of the "resort" adds to the comfort and pleasure we experienced all week. The staff called us by name after only one day, kept the threads of conversation going throughout the week, and made us feel very welcome and safe. The guests were friendly, as well, making the whole experience feel a bit homey. Not intrusive, 'tho.
The gardens are lovely, the pool, while small, was perfect for refreshing dips, and the food was fabulous. The beach was quiet, clean, and the perfect place to relax.
I should mention that I did not leave my tips until the very end of the week (always short of cash), so the staff's friendliness and hospitality felt genuine. I wish I'd left more...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCP_FragletsArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear KCP_FragletsArt,
I hope you had a pleasant return home.
"Gracias" for choosing Petit Lafite for your vacation with your daugther. We are glad you found our place to be "perfect." We try hard to create an atmosphere of camaraderie, and familiarity, but without loosing the "formality" of business and service. This can be tricky sometimes, but fortunately, most of out staff have been with us for a long time and that makes things easy.
We are honored by hearing you say that you were thinking of future vacations with family and friends with whom you wish to share the Lafitte experience. You are always welcome and we will be fortunate to receive your friends and family in the future.
Once again, thank you for your nice comments and for taking the time to share them with Trip Advisor readers.

Best Regards

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We just returned from a trip to Playa Del Carmen, and spent the last three nights of our vacation at Petit Lafitte. It was a wonderful contrast to the busy big hotels, and we were very well cared for. The concierge, David, is friendly and helpful. He is from the area, so he is able to give you great advice on day trips, etc. We chose an ocean view bungalow for our stay, which was very quaint, but it had a very comfortable king size bed, A/C, hot water in the shower, a safe, and a refrigerator. The beach is nice and well cared for. Hammocks are available as well as plenty of comfortable chairs. The meals were excellent , and served in an open air dining room. The entire staff was so accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to families, as well as adults.

Room Tip: The ocean view bungalows are worth the $
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ks60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear ks60,

Thank you for writing a review for Petit Lafitte.
We are glad to hear that after the initial few days in Playa del Carmen, you picked us for the final three days.
Based on your comments, we feel like the icing on the cake. We promise to keep up the standard and service you enjoyed so much.
The beach the Bungalows, are still there and we plan on continuing serving guests like you who prefer a small, non-pretentious property with a quiet beach.
Hope to see you again on the near future.

Sincerely


Iván A. Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Wonderful, quiet beach getaway! I intend to come back often! Quiet, laid back with wonderful service. I've been to many islands and beaches in the Caribbean -- and this has just become my number one spot. If you're looking for excitement and crowds - this isn't it. If you're looking for a beautiful quiet welcoming beach getaway that immediately feels like home -- this is it. I originally planned this as a solo trip, but had a friend join me last minute -- and this was wonderful with friends -- but also would have been a great solo destination.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishimp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Irishimp 17,
Thanks for your brief and lovely review.
We are honored, especially since, as you mention, you hvae been to many different Caribbean places and we became your number one spot. Yes, please come back as soon as you ca we promise to provide another lovely vacation.
"Mi casa es su casa."

Sincerely.

Iván Fuentes

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I just took our 9 month old baby on his first trip, and Petit Lafitte in Mexico was the place to be! The Hotel is sooooooo clean and manicured and all of the workers were willing to help us with anything we required - crib, high chairs, bottled water ... They would even hold and entertain our little guy. The food that they served us was always plated artistically and tasted divine! Having been to several big all inclusive resorts, it was nice to NOT have music blaring everywhere, NOT to have to wake up early to save beach chairs, and to be able to get fresh beach towels whenever we needed them. The sand on the beach at Petit Lafitte was amazingly bright and soft, the hammocks provided were great to relax in, and the musical entertainment on certain evenings was classic and enjoyable. We also appreciated that the staff learned our names so quickly. Our baby enjoyed the water in the pool (and the fact that the pool was usually all his), and we loved that our room was steps away from everything : the beautiful beach, the dining room, the bar, the clean blue pool, and the ping-pong/billiards area. It was also great to have the Free Wireless Internet so that we could E-mail pictures back home, update our Facebook accounts, and most importantly...FaceTime our family who were missing the baby. ;)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeneBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Lene Bean,
How nice to read your review!
We appreciate the time and effort taken for writing it.
We also appreciate that you trusted us to travel with your young baby, more so, when you comment on how clean and safe the place was.
I am glad to hear that our staff treated your family with care and friendliness, even to the point of entertaining your baby. Yes, we are proud of our guys! Thank you for noticing.
We've been working with new food specialties and we pay attention to the presentation, sizes, colors, textures, temperatures etcetera. I am glad to hear that it did not go unnoticed with you.
It really is rewarding to read your kind words, we will keep working and maintaining our level of service and improving the ares that need a little extra care.

Thank you for choosing Petit Lafitte and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The bungalow I shared with my two friends was perfect because it had two beds on the ground level plus a loft, which was a lot of fun. Bungalow was super-cute, just the right amount of rustic without being too rustic. We had electricity (lights and A/C) and hot water 24 hours a day and the beds were extremely comfortable and the room spacious.

The hospitality at Petit Lafitte, however, is what is truly unique at Petit Lafitte. The staff are warm and make you feel genuinely welcome. They go out of your way to make sure you are happy and comfortable. The concierge/manager and the bartender were particularly friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend this for just about anyone - I can see it as a great place for families with kids, couples or groups of friends. The food is great. It is so close to Playa if you want to explore the city or go out at night. The beach is calm with comfy hammocks.

Simply a little slice of heaven!

Room Tip: There are rooms that are like regular hotel rooms. Not sure how those are but I really liked our bungalow!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaretreiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Margaretreiko,
Thank you very much for both, coming to Petit Lafitte, and for sharing your experience with others.
We are very happy to see that it was a pleasant time for you and your friends.
You are right, Bungalows have the convenience of the extra bed on the loft, and they are a bit more spacious than the rooms.
We built them to resemble the original "Cabañas" that were the first accomodations in the late Capitan Lafitte back in the 70´s and 80's. We wanted to go back to basic, but without sacrificing comfort and from what I can read in your review, we may have just acomplished it
Thank you for your comments on the service and our staff. yes, David, Jesus, Javier, Martin are old timers who know exactly what we are trying to do here and are key to our "product."
Then we have all "the others" who work "behind the scenes", from the family who owns the hotel, and who daily devote time, energy and love to the place, to the kitchen and maitenance staff.
I am glad to hear that together we created a very satisfying experience for you and your friends.
Or like you put it....
:-)
Back to you, and thank you again.

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews