We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional and Unusual Beach Resort”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #7 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel is what a beach resort should be. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the small scale of the hotel allows the guests to relax, get to know each other (if they want to), and not worry about things like whether there will be room for them on the beach in the shade under a palapa, or whether they will be able to get a table at dinner. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the scale is such that it is a short walk from one's room to the pool, the beach, or the restaurant. My wife and I spent the week reading, playing scrabble, and swimming. The hotel manages to cater to different tastes and interests--young couples without children, young couples with children, older couples, family reunions, Americans, Canadians, Europeans and Asians. Everyone seemed to get along very well,

The design of the grounds ensures that people have enough personnel space when they need it, but also places to meet other guests. The guests who come here seem to be somewhat "self selecting" in that they are looking for something different from the large glitzy resorts on the Mayan Riviera. Although the hotel caters to many different tastes, it is relatively peaceful and quiet. There is a bar, and it is hopping at night, but it does not disturb the peacefulness of the resort.

The only minor criticism I would have is that with such a small hotel, the food choices are somewhat limited. There is a menu at breakfast, and there are a lot of choices, but at dinner there are only two entrees offered. The breakfasts were uniformly very good; the dinners were somewhat less consistent, but certainly of a good standard, at a minimum, and certainly very reasonable considering the relatively low pricing of this resort.

We would definitely recommend it and we expect to return in the future.

Room Tip: I think all the room are very good. There are no "bad" views or locations here. The mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stmalo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear stmalo7,

First thing I noted is tha your tripadvisor user name, may well be making reference to one of the alleged birthplaces of Captain Jean Lafitte, the famous pirate who we took our name from, Interesting!! I would like to add that we recently launched a new dish named after the very same place. "Chiken St. Malo" is a chicken breast stuffed with shrimp, covered with a house special tomato sauce, mashed potato, zucchini... take a look at our website and chek it out.
Other than that note, I'd like to thank you for choosing Petit Lafitte for your Riviera Maya Vacation and then for taking the time to write and share with others your outlook on the experience.
We see that most of your feed back is very, very positve, and we are delighted to hear that.
Thank you for your intentions of recommending the place and also of returning.
We will be happy to greet you at the lobby with a "welcome back"
Until then...
Best Regards,

Iván A. Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,108 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

My 18 year-old daughter and I just returned from a week at Petit LaFitte, and had a wonderful, relaxed time. The last day we were there, we were thinking of all the friends and family that we want to bring back with us for vacations in the future. The simplicity and small size of the "resort" adds to the comfort and pleasure we experienced all week. The staff called us by name after only one day, kept the threads of conversation going throughout the week, and made us feel very welcome and safe. The guests were friendly, as well, making the whole experience feel a bit homey. Not intrusive, 'tho.
The gardens are lovely, the pool, while small, was perfect for refreshing dips, and the food was fabulous. The beach was quiet, clean, and the perfect place to relax.
I should mention that I did not leave my tips until the very end of the week (always short of cash), so the staff's friendliness and hospitality felt genuine. I wish I'd left more...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCP_FragletsArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear KCP_FragletsArt,
I hope you had a pleasant return home.
"Gracias" for choosing Petit Lafite for your vacation with your daugther. We are glad you found our place to be "perfect." We try hard to create an atmosphere of camaraderie, and familiarity, but without loosing the "formality" of business and service. This can be tricky sometimes, but fortunately, most of out staff have been with us for a long time and that makes things easy.
We are honored by hearing you say that you were thinking of future vacations with family and friends with whom you wish to share the Lafitte experience. You are always welcome and we will be fortunate to receive your friends and family in the future.
Once again, thank you for your nice comments and for taking the time to share them with Trip Advisor readers.

Best Regards

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We just returned from a trip to Playa Del Carmen, and spent the last three nights of our vacation at Petit Lafitte. It was a wonderful contrast to the busy big hotels, and we were very well cared for. The concierge, David, is friendly and helpful. He is from the area, so he is able to give you great advice on day trips, etc. We chose an ocean view bungalow for our stay, which was very quaint, but it had a very comfortable king size bed, A/C, hot water in the shower, a safe, and a refrigerator. The beach is nice and well cared for. Hammocks are available as well as plenty of comfortable chairs. The meals were excellent , and served in an open air dining room. The entire staff was so accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to families, as well as adults.

Room Tip: The ocean view bungalows are worth the $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ks60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear ks60,

Thank you for writing a review for Petit Lafitte.
We are glad to hear that after the initial few days in Playa del Carmen, you picked us for the final three days.
Based on your comments, we feel like the icing on the cake. We promise to keep up the standard and service you enjoyed so much.
The beach the Bungalows, are still there and we plan on continuing serving guests like you who prefer a small, non-pretentious property with a quiet beach.
Hope to see you again on the near future.

Sincerely


Iván A. Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Wonderful, quiet beach getaway! I intend to come back often! Quiet, laid back with wonderful service. I've been to many islands and beaches in the Caribbean -- and this has just become my number one spot. If you're looking for excitement and crowds - this isn't it. If you're looking for a beautiful quiet welcoming beach getaway that immediately feels like home -- this is it. I originally planned this as a solo trip, but had a friend join me last minute -- and this was wonderful with friends -- but also would have been a great solo destination.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishimp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Irishimp 17,
Thanks for your brief and lovely review.
We are honored, especially since, as you mention, you hvae been to many different Caribbean places and we became your number one spot. Yes, please come back as soon as you ca we promise to provide another lovely vacation.
"Mi casa es su casa."

Sincerely.

Iván Fuentes

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I just took our 9 month old baby on his first trip, and Petit Lafitte in Mexico was the place to be! The Hotel is sooooooo clean and manicured and all of the workers were willing to help us with anything we required - crib, high chairs, bottled water ... They would even hold and entertain our little guy. The food that they served us was always plated artistically and tasted divine! Having been to several big all inclusive resorts, it was nice to NOT have music blaring everywhere, NOT to have to wake up early to save beach chairs, and to be able to get fresh beach towels whenever we needed them. The sand on the beach at Petit Lafitte was amazingly bright and soft, the hammocks provided were great to relax in, and the musical entertainment on certain evenings was classic and enjoyable. We also appreciated that the staff learned our names so quickly. Our baby enjoyed the water in the pool (and the fact that the pool was usually all his), and we loved that our room was steps away from everything : the beautiful beach, the dining room, the bar, the clean blue pool, and the ping-pong/billiards area. It was also great to have the Free Wireless Internet so that we could E-mail pictures back home, update our Facebook accounts, and most importantly...FaceTime our family who were missing the baby. ;)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeneBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Lene Bean,
How nice to read your review!
We appreciate the time and effort taken for writing it.
We also appreciate that you trusted us to travel with your young baby, more so, when you comment on how clean and safe the place was.
I am glad to hear that our staff treated your family with care and friendliness, even to the point of entertaining your baby. Yes, we are proud of our guys! Thank you for noticing.
We've been working with new food specialties and we pay attention to the presentation, sizes, colors, textures, temperatures etcetera. I am glad to hear that it did not go unnoticed with you.
It really is rewarding to read your kind words, we will keep working and maintaining our level of service and improving the ares that need a little extra care.

Thank you for choosing Petit Lafitte and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.9 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,842 reviews
2.4 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,206 reviews
6.1 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#8 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
476 reviews
2.1 km away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,155 reviews
12.6 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $230 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing