We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven......”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #8 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We could not have been more pleasantly surprised and pleased with our experience at Petit Lafitte - our first experience here, and hopefully not our last!. We opted for the Ocean View Bungalow, and truly enjoyed stepping barefoot directly into the silky sand, walking by shaded hammocks underneath palm trees on the way to the beach. All of the staff went out of their way to insure our comfort and happiness - we especially remember David, Javier, Herman, Eduardo and Antonio for their great wit, diligence, attentiveness and demeanor. We realized the first day that we were in a very special place - after walking the beaches and seeing the larger resorts, we knew we chose the right place, and felt like we were at home when we returned. Excellent fresh fruit and yogurt at the breakfast buffet - my favorite egg dish remains the Huevos Motulenos - and every dinner was superb. We usually opted for a later dinner (we didn't skip many meals !!), and especially enjoyed the Wednesday evening mellow music of a talented guitar and violin duo. We had one of the best massages from the strong and soothing hands of Lorena under the shade of a palapas with the sounds of the waves. Great swimming, great pool, great food, great experience! (Be sure to ask David H. about his older brother Javier (or is it the other way around??? :-))

Room Tip: We enjoyed our choice of the ocean view bungalow -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morrisdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Morrisdb,

It is very nice to start the week reading a nice review. We particularly love the fact that this was your first time around with us and to have caused such a positive impression by creating a pleasurable experience, is rewarding to us.
We also noticed you remembered the names of several staff members and even the one of our massage therapist.
I will pass the word to them that you made a personal mention of them.
Tenoch and Alex, our musicians are, besides talented, very good people, I m glad you enjoyed their music.
We hope you return someday, to your Ocean View Bungalow and the silky sand.on your feet.
Hold that thought and you'll see it will materialize soon.
Until then,
Thanks again for taking the time to write.

Best Regards

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,112 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a seaview room.

We liked:

* The room. Nice, clean rooms, soft beds and pillows (+++), clean bathroom
*The pool was clean
*The beach restaurant
*The nice and serviceminded staffs
*The amazing beach
*So relaxing place and beautiful garden
*Not too many rooms
*And a lots more

We didn´t liked:

* We paid extra for a seaview...but we only saw a little bit of ocean. The view was not the same as the picture of a seaview room we saw on Petit Lafittes website, before we booked our holiday. We had the worst location on our seaview room. That means, we paid as much as all other tourists that had a nice seaview for our partial seaview room. That room should be called partial seaview and should cost less than the other rooms with good seaview.

*There was not enough with sunbeds on the beach for everyone. So guests went up 6 am in the morning and reserved sunbeds with their towels, then they went back in their room and returned in the middle of the day. So if you was eating breakfast after 9.30 - you had no sunbeds on the beach for the whole day. Worst thing about that - the hotel accepted that.

*They served dinner for 7 pm at noon. If you wasn´t there at 7 pm, you had to wait for a table...because they hadn´t enought with tabels for their guests to eat at the same time. So when you finally get your table, some dishes was finished. Bad!!

Room Tip: If you want a nice seaview...then I recommed premium ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pluttan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Dear Pluttan,
As anyone can imagine, a review like yours is expected to cause mixed feelings, we see that there were many things you liked about our place and then some things that you did not like.
First I'd like to say I am sorry you found some situations uncomfortable and displeasing.

The name of our rooms was based on the possibility of seeing the ocean from the room, and we decided to divide the rooms in 3 categories for each section, that means 3 for Bungalows and 3 for Regular hotel rooms.
We did not consider a good idea to use more names and categories and prices, things get very confusing for the guests when there are too many categoris, names and prices.
You probably got a room on the third or second building from the beach and your view must have been partially blocked by the palm trees that we planted 4 years ago and are partially blocking the view.
It is fair to add that in about one year the growth of those plam trees will be such that will no longer blcok the view from those rooms.
We will not cut them threes, they take long to grow and they create a nice shade and are pretty to see. So, fair enough, premium view rooms have a much better unrestricted view of the ocean, and so so the ocean front bungalows.
The other ocean view rooms allow you to se the ocean from the terrace but not from the bed.
We are currently debating the possibility of changing the naming of the rooms to something that does nto imply "view" in them. I think that will eventually happen.
I'd say for the next high season.
Beach chair situation, we'd figure that the 60 beach chairs, plus 15 pool side lounge chairs.would be sufficient, When full, we have around 90 guests total. It is rare that 90 guests will be sunbathing at the same time, so that's how we got our numbers. but we realize that due to some selfish behaviors, of a few guests (the ones who leave the beach for 2-3 hours or even more, but leave their towel to "reserve" their chair) ....sometimes 75 chairs are insufficient. One thing I disagree with you is that the hotel endorses or accepts this behavior, we, through our concierge often ask guests at high season to please not leave their towel, hogging the lounge chair, for the most part, guests of Petit Lafitte are very caring, understanding individuals, (just with few exceptions) so when situtions like this are brought to our attention, we do intervine to solve it. This makes me wonder if you addressed this issue with our staff.
Similar situation with the tables and food at dinner.
We serve dinner for an extension of 2 hours and 30 minutes. It is agood idea to arrive during the first half of that time so we have enough of the two options of entrees.
Every day, one is finished first, even when we prepare 6-10 extra portions of each. I guess sometime this happens, in a small operation, that uses all fresh ingredients.

I promise to take a closer look at this situations in order to avoid unpleasant situations. We take our guests vacations seriously and that is how we built our name, but evidently there are some high season issues that need to be handled.
I invited readers and potential guests to find me if situations like this happen more than once during their vacation at high season, I am sure we can alway offer options to satisfy their needs.

Thank you for your caring and thoughtful review, we always like when we are given something to process.
Also thank you for trying us and for commenting on your experience.

Sincerely,

Iván A. Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Our friends tipped us off to Petite Lafitte, what a spectacular place to get away from it all and relax. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. It is a little piece of paradise. Two of my favourite activities were relaxing in a hammock and walks on the beach. The food was delicious and beautifully presented (also just the right amount). We loved the chicken sopes. The drinks were also sensational.

We stayed in a garden room and enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the afternoons. We met a lot of people that had been coming to Petite Lafitte for years and we could see why; we’ll be back too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Dear J.B. George,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about Petit Lafitte.
We are so happy to hear that you followed your friends (the ones who recommended us) advice, I hope you can also pass the word about us. While designng and building Petit Lafitte we thought hammocks and walks on the beach were probably the one thing to do..."do nothing" is often so hard to do! We are glad to see that you agreed.

Glad to hear you liked our food and met a lot of old time Lafitters, as far as we are concerned, there are vacancies in the club.
You are welcomed.

When you return, ask about me, I will buy you a round of Margaritas or beers to celebrate your induction.

Until then, be well my friend,

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I chose the hotel on-line based on the reviews of other travelers. I was NOT disappointed. The hotel is small and many of the staff knew our names by the second day. David, the concierge was most helpful whenever we had a question. We had an ocean view room and could walk from our room right to the Ocean. My wife had two messages while we were there and was very happy with the service. By the end of our trip we knew many of the staff by name since we saw them every day and felt right at home. If you are looking for a small diamond in the middle of the large resorts that is quiet and clean, this the place for you.

Room Tip: The Ocean view room and the ability to walk right to the beach were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Roger K,
Thank you for your visit and your review, but above all, Thank you for considering our little resort a Diamond in the middle of all the huge resorts.
I am glad you and your wife had a very pleasant stay, massages and food.
We plan to maintain our standards of service and David is a key element in the program, so next time you are here, you will see the same (if not higher) standards of quality in servce.
Thanks again and see you in the near future.

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife and I returned to Petite Lafitte for a second time this year and were not at all disappointed. We found it to be just as fantastic as it had been the year before: the staff was wonderful, the food fantastic, and the drinks well mixed and plentiful! The review I posted from last year still stands true – we found this resort to be wonderfully secluded. The only thing I’d update from my previous review is that the wifi signal seems to have been boosted as I had no issues connecting from my room.

What surprised us the most on this visit was that we recognized a number of hotel guests that were down at Petit Lafitte the year before! If that’s not a glowing recommendation, I’m not sure what is! We’ll definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are set back farther from the beach and don't have as much wind. None of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Hi Brian_Davis,

How delightful to read in your review:
1.- That you are now a repeat costumer and that plan to add more visits to your history.
2.- That you are also repeating at reviewing Lafitte.
It shows sensibilty, and commitment. We are honored to be recipient of such energy and input.
Nice that you noticed that the wifi signal has been boosted, indeed we installed a new, more potent antenna, funny that is the only difference you found....thanks for mentioning it!
We also found it a nice awareness that you noticed how some of the guests staying this time, while you were here, were the same as last year...."deja vu" or perhaps you never left...life's an illusion isn't it?
Thank you for your kind review and your intentions of return, we will be honored to see that happen.

Best Regards to you and your wife.

Sincerely

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.9 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,934 reviews
2.4 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,381 reviews
6.1 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#20 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#11 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
535 reviews
2.1 km away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,219 reviews
12.6 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#72 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $257 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing