We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay!”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #7 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Great staff and delicious breakfast. There was more seaweed on the beach this time and rocks in the water made it less inviting to swim. New mega resort next door meant lots more people and vendors walking the beach.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hola Mary and H,

Thank you for your recent visit to Petit Lafitte! It is at least the second one.
Yes there have been changes from your previous visit in November of 2016. In my country they call it progress, but I have my own feelings, it can be done with a lot less impact for sure. We luckily are tucked in our patch of jungle and beachfront that still allow us to preserve the relaxed atmosphere. Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you and your husband again someday.

Best Regards,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017

This review is WAY overdue as I'm horrible at writing reviews. We were at Petit Lafitte for my brother's wedding, this was my brother's second stay at this place. Ivan was sort of our main person to talk to for everything and he made sure that my family and all of my brother's friends had a grand time. It is a small family business. Everyone who works there was super friendly and personable. We all are a fan of hot sauce so every night at dinner they made sure to bring homemade hot sauce, and every night it was a different version of hot sauce. Some of the best ones I've ever tasted.

We all had a mix of bungalows and rooms, both were very comfortable. I did love Bungalows the most though, just SO cute. They had hammocks on the beach and beach was super private.

We had most of our meals at the hotel and they were all delicious. One thing to note is that one night we all were running late coming back from Chichen Itza, and were missing the dinner time. HOWEVER, the staff stayed late, after coordinating with my brother on our return time, to make sure we get dinner. You don't get this level of service at a mega resort. This is a small place so you get to know the staff very well and you see the same people around which adds to its charm.

I was there in June 2016, there was a mega resort being built next door which probably have made the beach more crowded but I'm pretty sure it has not taken anything away from this cute place's charm. I read some other reviews on here which did say that even with the new neighbors, the place is still a paradise :) I highly recommend this place and can't wait to be back there.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saiawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Hola Saiawan!!!

What a nice surprise! Yes it’s been over a year since your brother’s wedding!
We miss you all. Really, I recently came across some photos of the wedding and I remember how eclectic and fun the whole group was. From various walks of life and ethnicities! A beautiful crowd. For me it was a great honor to coordinate the wedding and to work with K&T during a year’s time.
I hope you get to return and see that we conserve the atmosphere and the relaxed, friendly, yet efficient service level.
Thank you for your review!

Enjoy life and see you next time!

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This is about our 5th time staying at Petit Lafitte. We will never stay anywhere else in Mexico again. The place is a small resort right on the beach with the option of hotel rooms or beach bungalows. The bungalows are by far my favorite. They are like little rustic cabins that are extremely nice inside and very clean right on the beach. This is the place to go if you are looking to relax and get away from the stress of work or home life. The staff is amazing and always willing to go above and beyond for everyone.

The food is the best I have had in Mexico with a sit down breakfast and dinner as well as lunch from the bar by the pool. The service at every meal was impeccable.

As my title states it truly is a little piece of paradise!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dorotha2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hola Dorotha,

Your 5 visits to Petit Lafitte are a testament to a solid connection between us. Your loyalty means a lot to us, I often ponder on how this coast has changed over the course of the years and how the massive tourism finally won Riviera Maya.
We hope to continue providing what we like to think of as an “Oasis of Sanity” and your loyalty makes it all worthwhile.

With guest like you, we will continue our journey being an alternative to the norm.

Thank you for doing your part.

Truly,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a family vacation at the Petite LaFitte. We chose this location based upon reviews read on Trip Advisor and its small, relaxing atmosphere.

Initially, we planned to take several daylong excursions during our stay, but we - along with our 33 year old daughter and 12 year old granddaughter - enjoyed the total relaxation and beautiful scenery offered at the Petite LaFitte. We made only one excursion.

It is very family friendly and the entire staff is most helpful and always greets guests with a positive word.

The only negative would be their "spotty" WiFi connection. There are three settings: Hotel, Restaurant, and Bar but neither gives a good signal to the bungalows. Of course we did not go to surf the web.

The breakfasts and dinners are delicious and a quick snack or even burger may be ordered at the bar.

Lay in one of their many hammocks under the coconut palms or thatched huts and your problems will disappear.

We plan to return!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Beacham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Beacham M

How nice to see that you, your wife, daughter and granddaughter had a wonderful time at Petit Lafitte. Yes trip Advisor works nicely except for a minute amount of people who don’t process well what they read. :D We’re glad you were able to find the elements that made your vacation relaxing, pleasant and satisfying. From the staff to the food, atmosphere and drinks!
Thank you for your visit and for your review.
We truly hope your idea of a possible return, becomes a reality some day.

All the best!

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

To put this in perspective, I will say that we have been traveling to Mexico for 20 years, and have stayed in all kinds of resorts. This was our second trip to Petit Lafitte, and it won't be our last. We love everything about it: It's small and the beach is steps away from anywhere on the property. It's casual, so we don't have to dress up for dinner like we do at the big all-inclusives. It has great food and drinks. And it's full of welcoming, wonderful people who remember your name and make your vacation that much better. The only possible area for improvement would be updating the rooms, especially in regard to lighting and counter space around the sink. The rooms here are definitely rustic, but very clean. We have stayed in the 3rd floor oceanfront room and the oceanfront cabana, and can't decide which we like better! Both were just wonderful--the ocean was right there in front of us--and both were probably the best located (and reasonable-priced) rooms we have ever stayed in! As others have noted, if you are looking for a big, fancy, noisy place, this is not the resort for you. But if you are looking to relax in a beautiful place with over-the-top service and nice people all around, you won't find a better resort than Petit Lafitte.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank snowmomColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear sonowmomColorado!

It was nice seeing you and T. again after your first trip a year ago.
We’re really glad you tried Bungalow 9 this time after trying 506 last year.
Yes, the best views in the house for sure.
Thank you for visiting us and for resonating with us. We are really honored to have you repeat. You guys are seasoned travelers and your preference means a lot to us.
We will take your advice for illumination in the rooms and shelf space. You will see!

Take care and enjoy your Colorado Summer!

Best Regards,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.9 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,845 reviews
2.4 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,223 reviews
6.1 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#8 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
484 reviews
2.1 km away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,159 reviews
12.6 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $230 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing