We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Modern Hotel, Amazing Staff, amazing food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #21 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

What an amazing experience at the Thompson! The hotel looks extremely new, modern, and just absolutely gorgeous. The pool is stunning with private cabanas available. The view from the pool is just out of this world! Catch restaurant is located on the same level as the pool. All I have to say is WOW! The food was incredible! The watermelon drink is out of this world, and the staff is just wonderful. The club is also on the same level but on the opposite side. The DJ was amazing both nights that we went (Thursday and Friday!). Running into little Romeo was also a plus :). We did the beach club Saturday day. It was gorgeous! Fun crowd, great food, great drinks!
This hotel is located in a prime location! You can walk out and have access to shops and other amazing restaurants! I've been to Mexico many many times but this hotel def takes the cake.
Incredible experience!
Great staff and management!
Love love love
Can't wait to come back!
Worth every penny!
Thank you!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank Oxy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 549 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Words couldn't describe how much I love the Thompson. Upon arrival I was mesmerized by the architecture, staff, and the amazing city. And the rooftop is simply breathtaking- icing on the cake. Everyone is beyond helpful and willing to go the extra mile. From valet, to the AMAZING front desk staff! (You all deserve a personalized shout out!) the pool staff and even the lovely very polite staff in other areas. Service is prime, location is prime, the restaurants are incredible. Worth every penny!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JMSarante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

The Thompson is located in the city's pedestrian zone. Shopping, dining, bars and nightclubs are all within easy walking distance. If you want to be in the heart of the action, this is the place for you. If you're looking for something more tranquil, another venue might suit you better. The rooftop pool was amazing. The hotel's restaurants were very good. The staff was very friendly, and everyone went the extra mile to help. As the rooftop disco goes until 2 AM, ask for a room in the "quiet wing". Take advantage of the beach at the Thompson Beachhouse, two blocks from the main hotel.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank SGSmith1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

It's everything else you want it to be, though, a panoramic breakfast area, luxury all day rooftop pool lounge, great nighttime restaurant under the stars and a one of Playa's most beautiful nightclubs.
But don't come here if you want to sleep. Even without the noise from the club on the rooftop, your ears will still be tortured by the incessant party noise of the adjacent streets. And this until 4-5 am, with just a break on Sundays...
When we complained about this and wanted to be moved to the Beach property (which has its share of noise, but just during daytime construction). the reception desk manager was either incapable or unwilling to cooperate (this remark relates to the managing associates only ; all other staff was extremely friendly and helpful).
Having staid at Hotel Unique several times in the past, a hotel which is similar in many ways (happening rooftop in the middle of a large city, Sao Paulo in this case), I know the problem can be solved. The insonorized windows there do the job and keep your room in total tranquility.
Thompson Playa hotel looks great and this is really a missed opportunity, which can be solved if the domestic owners of the property would just spend the pesos for new windows throughout...to be continued, I hope.

Room Tip: Stay at the Beach House property and spend your afternoons and evenings at the city property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luca_Cacciatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

My husband and I stayed here for two nights of a seven night vacation. I saw photos of the rooftop pool and just had to book a room here. I booked through Southwest which I found to be the best rate. I had to pay additional fees and valet fees upon arrival. Wifi was free at least, which was nice. The front desk staff was nice. The entrance to the hotel is on a street where vehicles are not allowed, and they have no designated area to park your car, so we would just pull off on the side of the nearest road and my husband would stay in the car while I ran and fetched a valet guy. It was only slightly annoying. The hotel itself is super nice and has beautiful artwork and furnishings. The bathroom had see-through walls so there was no privacy, even in the shower, in case that is important to you. The prices of drinks and food seemed to be higher than elsewhere in Playa del Carmen, so we spent a few hours lounging on the rooftop pool one day and then spent our time elsewhere. To us, it felt like staying in South Beach Miami, which was not the vibe we were going for. The rooftop pool was beautiful, but for the price and the vibe, I don't think we will stay here again. Also, there was jack hammering and chiseling right outside our balcony the entire time we were there, even waking us up early in the morning, so we did not spend much time in the room. I looked outside one morning and there were two guys on a lift working on the stone below our balcony. If our curtains had been opened they would have been able to see right into our room. It was a little unsettling.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,181 reviews
0.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,728 reviews
0.7 km away
Live Aqua Boutique Resort Playa del Carmen
Live Aqua Boutique Resort Playa ...
#27 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,989 reviews
0.3 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#18 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
566 reviews
0.2 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Playa Del Carmen

Address: Avenida 5, Norte Por 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $238 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Playa Del Carmen 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thompson Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Playa Del Carmen Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing