We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We sayed in number 11 Amor Eterno. It was glorious, everything We wanted plus more. It had an incredile view of the ocean and great feel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haggsBasalt_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 613 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2010

What a beatiful, relaxing, enchanting place! We had a wonderful time at this great hotel, with lovely, helpful, friendly people! We loved our room, we loved the beach (and the beach beds), we loved the breakfast at the restaurant, and we did not want to leave!!!!

I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasteriasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

You can read the general stuff from all of the other reviews, so I'll just say they're right, it's really fantastic. Here's the info I can add:
- If you're booking a "Zona Corazon" suite, book one on the upper level, as they have the better views. I'd advise against springing for the master suite "Hechizo de Luna", as it's in some ways not as nice as the other, smaller cabanas (ie no covered porch, no outdoor shower). Don't go for it if you have romantic visions of taking candle- lit baths in the bathtub-- unfortunately there's not enough hot water to fill it up.
- Order some margaritas, they really make them well.
- If you're there on a Sunday night, walk down the road to "Zebras" for a free salsa lesson and dinner, but get there early as it gets packed! Afterwords, you can walk back to your cabana via the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BringBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We have traveled to many places over the world doing adventure-travel writing. We have also visited a number of places in Mexico, but it had been awhile. We found the Mayan Rivera to be offensive from the standpoint of overt and greedy-grasping for the tourist dollar, the fact everything was outrageously expensive, and that if you wanted to visit anywhere or do anything it necessitated doing a "tour" or hiring a guide. There is no bus service at Nuevo Vide, you are stuck there unless you hire a cab, rent a car (way more costly than you are lead to believe), like to walk long distances, or rent a bicycle. We attempted to rent bikes at Nuevo Vida, they wanted $10 per clunker bike per day. Just up the street at a business called Yoga Shala, they rented new bikes for $5 (also clean rooms for $15, if you'd rather not pay $200 at Nuevo Vida). Nueva Vida does not rent or provide any other recreation equipment for its clients, such as sit-upon kayaks to surf ride. You're on your own. We biked into the Sian-Kaan Biosphere Reserve on two different days. They advertized real sea kayak (not sit-upons) rentals without guides ... they had one one-person kayak, and they wouldn't rent it without a guide. But then, they also declared a guide wasn't available. I saw two other groups of people frustrated and turned away by this bait and switch. They did take out motorized boat tours that advertized seeing manatees ($400 minimum). But through further inquiry we found out your chances of seeing manatees was practically zilch. For an exclusive guided flyfishing trip (snook, tarpon, etc) in the Bioreserve the price was about $500. In short, the beach in front of Nuveo Vida is lovely, the rooms are quiet (there is traffic noise on those set back from beach) and clean with hot water the nearby resturants are okay but expensive (Nuevo Vida's Casa Banana Steak House is even more expensive), everything is advertized as "Eco-Chic" or "Ecological," which is hype for solar and wind powered facities (that's where ecological ends, but you do not want to rent where the use generators because of the noise). The sea turtles were not present when we were there, but when you see the postage-stamp places allocated to their nesting you get a good feel for where ecological ends and the quest for tourist dollars prevails. So if you like to laze on the beach, spend big dollars for okay food, and generally do little-to- nothing at outrageous cost, I highly recommend the Nuevo Vida.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BurpDriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

i chose this spot based primarily on the positive tripadvisor reviews. i'd been to tulum 3 times prior -- 2002, 2005 and 2008 -- but this was my first time to Nueva Vida.

i agree with others that the reservation system needs improvement. my reservation process consisted of multiple emails back-and-forth over several days, during which certain rooms were confirmed as available, but then denied to me when i replied by return email to accept. i cycled through no less than 4 rooms (told they were available and accepted them within 24 hours, only to have them subsequently denied) before our room was "finally" confirmed (i say "finally" because upon arrival, i was informed of yet another room change), and the "final" confirmation came only after i picked up the phone and called the hotel's office in hopes of sorting out the email confusion/frustration.

BUT! fortunately, despite the reservation process, i found Nueva Vida to be a wonderful place to stay. we stayed for 5 nights and 6 days in the room #30, called Suspiro and located in the "Zona Corazon". we were supposed to have spent 2 nights in La Ola and the last 3 in Suspiro, but as i mentioned, upon arrival, we were informed that we would be in (the more expensive) Suspiro for our entire stay (without having to pay extra for the more expensive room).

check-in was straightforward, i put the balance of the room on my credit card, a porter appeared instantly to take our bags from our rental car to our room (in a wheelbarrow), and Jorge gave us a tour of the room and offered us two complimentary Sol beers. the porter hung a hammock for us on our private porch overlooking the beach and we were in paradise.

our room (and, i think, all the ocean front rooms) had a magnificent view of the ocean and beach, providing a breathtaking and beautiful sunrise every morning. we were on the second story which provided extra privacy and, i imagine, a more unobstructed view from our private outdoor space (a porch/balcony). the balcony was a nice size, with two chairs and a little table, and room for a hammock as well. our room had lovely french doors leading out to the porch and bore similarities to other lodgings i've stayed at on Tulum's beach: thatched roof, ceiling fan, mosquito net, concrete walls, etc. it did have a private outdoor shower, which felt luxurious, and the room was kept immaculately clean. NV also provides little bio-degradable soaps and shampoos, which my girlfriend quite liked. as some others have mentioned, NV only gives you 1L of drinking water per day, which is not really enough for two adults, but having read about this on tripadvisor in advance, i knew to visit the supermarket and stock up on our own water to supplement this ration.

NV's restaurant is Casa Banana, which is fine. i wasn't thrilled with it, but that's probably because i'm vegetarian, and it isn't a menu geared towards vegetarians. it did seem to have an extensive wine selection, and it worked perfectly for us for drinks and appetizers before dinner elsewhere. i enjoyed the continental breakfast (included in the price of your room) primarily because of the delicious and strong coffee. my girlfriend really liked the fruits and breads that were included as well. the waiters who serve breakfast were all quite friendly and pleasant. it was a very nice way to start the days.

other random info:
the weather while we were there (Feb 15-20) was cooler than we would have liked it (this is just as an FYI, obviously not under NV's control!). we had to use an extra blanket on the bed, and i spent a lot of time in a sweatshirt, due in large part to the strong winds on the beach and on our porch. it also rained two days and was overcast for a fair bit of our stay. in the past i've been in Tulum in March, and found it more to my liking (warmer/sunnier).

we rented a car from Thrifty at the Cancun airport. i was apprehensive about a rental car nightmare and had scoured tripadvisor and the internet for reviews of Thrifty Cancun. my worrying had been needless -- Thrifty was fine for us. they gave us a brand new car and the rental car experience was consistent with all the other rental car experiences i've had in the past in other places (though upon return, they performed a more thorough/intensive search of the car than i am accustomed to for even the slightest ding or scratch).

in terms of dining, we loved El Tabano for lunch or dinner and Don Cafeto (in Tulum town) for the Aztec Breakfast. i also like Maya Tulum for breakfast or lunch and Zamas for dinner.

for adventure, we did the snorkeling tour with Manzano's Expeditions (see my separate review there), but mostly during our stay we just lay on the beach (NV provides sand mattresses w/pillows, as well as chairs and umbrellas) and read books on our private porch overlooking the gorgeous beach.

oh! one last thing, after we checked out, i informed Ricardo that we'd like to stay on the beach for another couple of hours. he said no problem, and kindly arranged for soaps, shampoos and clean towels to be set out for us so that we could shower (NV has a little hospitality/reception gazebo w/a shower) before we hit the road for the airport. it was a nice touch that we appreciated.

we would definitely recommend NV to friends, and are considering a return visit ourselves!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank thatbrooklynkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.4 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 98 in Tulum
594 reviews
7.2 km away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
586 reviews
4.1 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 98 in Tulum
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
0.8 km away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
445 reviews
3.8 km away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nueva Vida de Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nueva Vida de Ramiro

Address: Km. 8.5 | Carretera Tulum Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tulum
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $205 - $1,548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nueva Vida de Ramiro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Nueva Vida de Ramiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Hotel Tulum
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing