We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as charming as it seems, but OK”
Review of L'Hotelito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Hotelito
Ranked #63 of 101 Tulum B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Stumbled across this Italian-owned place and it seemed good for 500 pesos a night with breakfast (which is only coffee and toasted bread, although the bread is home made - taken with average coffee in a pleasant seating area next to open windows to the street). Service is relaxed bordering on casual at times. They're happy to provide what you ask for, but you do have to ask at times eg room glasses. Our main issue, as with so many small, budget hotels, was around maintenance and some of the 'comfort' details. The TV didn't work (they fixed it), the pillows were so thin and mis-shapen as to be pointless, the rooms have a musty smell (although to be fair it's an extremely humid climate). Most importantly, we came back to an infestation of flying ants on the first night (hundreds, maybe thousands, of them) - we were in a room on the first floor at the back with a palm thatched roof that you could see the sky through in places (which we chose for its charm factor). When we reported the infestation we were told it was Ok, because they didn't bite, quite ignoring the quantity. The hotel blamed the recent rains for this, in much the same way that citizens of Gulf states blame the wind for redistributing all of the rubbish that they leave everywhere. It sort of misses the point. When the lights were out most of the insects returned to the roof (the hotel also told us this would happen, so it's obviously not the first time), although quite a few kept us company on the outside of the mosquito nets, and a few hundred preferred to rest on the television screen - it's the first time I could genuinely say I was watching wildlife on the TV. Strangely, no alternative room was offered at the time (although we did move to a ground floor the next day when we mentioned the insects again), and nor was any discount proposed when it came to payment. We stayed three nights and felt overall L'Hotelito was reasonable value for a place located right in the heart of Tulum, although with plenty of room for improvement. Sound proofing could be an issue here for light sleepers, but that's probably true for most Tulum accommodation, especially as bed sheets and covers the hotel uses are not the most comfortable.

Room Tip: After rain avoid the grass-roofed room. Close to reception can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Travelboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2015

I stayed at this hotel for 11 nights in May and was very pleased with it. The reasonable price includes air conditioning and wifi which is great when you come back from a day at the beach. The room was very clean and comfortable with two beds. This hotel is also in a great location in Tulum, close to all the shops and restaurants. That being said, you can easily hear music playing late into the night which didn't bother me but if it is an issue there are ear plugs provided in the room. The staff were all very friendly and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
Thank Kaylee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

I read aout the otel from lonely planet. We planned on staying there the whole time but ended up moving 2 nights in to our stay. We stayed in the bigger room upstairs, for $60 usd a night. The balcony off the room was nice to have, however, at night, the whole room is very noisy. The bathroom smelled really bad, maybe bad plumbing? The wifi was a pain to log onto, when it worked. It was ok, however, paying $60 a night for that place is too much. There are plenty of other great options in town that are more budget friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

Pros:
-good included breakfast
-great wifi
-beautiful setting
-great helpful staff
-excellent location
-good value

Cons:
-3% charge on credit cards
-noisy from bar 2 stores down until 5am if you're on the 2nd story
-top room can smell if you don't air it out

Stayed: February 2015
Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2014

The nice American lady working there - thanks, you were a star with all of your advice.
Property suffered a wifi outage, but I'm told this was the terrential rain, fair enough.

However, it suffered a bit of a noise problem from a bar that appeared to be very close. My roof was also damaged. When I woke up after a very rainy night, the floor was soaking wet + slippery.

Breakfast was a slice of toast. This was the most expensive place I stayed on my trip, and I can't say I got value for money from it - but the staff really were supurb.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#79 of 100 in Tulum
112 reviews
0.9 km away
Pacha Tulum
Pacha Tulum
#50 of 100 in Tulum
226 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Latino
Hotel Latino
#58 of 100 in Tulum
385 reviews
0.6 km away
Posada Malix Pek
Posada Malix Pek
#21 of 101 in Tulum
132 reviews
0.3 km away
Maison Tulum
Maison Tulum
#10 of 101 in Tulum
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotelito

Address: Av. Tulum Entre Beta y Orion Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: $58 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hotelito 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Italian restaurant, free Wi-Fi and tropical gardens with hammocks are offered at this small hotel. Situated in central Tulum, it is just 3.5 km from the Mayan Ruins and beaches. L'Hotelito Tulum offers traditional thatched rooms with a fan and balcony, and classic-style rooms with air conditioning and garden views. All rooms have cable TV, mosquito nets and a private bathroom. The hotel’s restaurant specializes in homemade pasta. Dishes are prepared with fresh local ingredients, many of them organic. Tulum’s Mayan Culture Museum-Park is just 200 m from L'Hotelito. The tropical forest of Tulum National Park is a 10-minute walk away. Free parking can be found nearby. Staff at the 24-hour reception are happy to arrange local activities, including snorkelling, diving or visits to the Sian Ka’an UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Hotelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing