We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and cozy rooms, great place on a budget”
Review of L'Hotelito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Hotelito
Ranked #54 of 93 Tulum B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2015

We were travelling around Tulum and looking for a place to stay and this was definitely the best one we found! It was very lovely and cozy, the service was great and the price was very decent. It had a nice hippie vibe to it. It's close to the Tulum archaeological site as well as the cenotes around the area. We traveled in a car and parking was available in a lot out front, however it did not belong to the hotel. We had no problems with it though. A few of the other hotels we saw for the same price were not near as nice as this place, and we were so happy when we found this one. It has regular rooms but also a junior suite which was spacious and comfortable. Rooms had and bathroom with shower and lots of hot water. It included a complementary breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Regular rooms fit comfortable 2-3 people and have two beds just a bit on the smaller side, but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ehugs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2015

Stumbled across this Italian-owned place and it seemed good for 500 pesos a night with breakfast (which is only coffee and toasted bread, although the bread is home made - taken with average coffee in a pleasant seating area next to open windows to the street). Service is relaxed bordering on casual at times. They're happy to provide what you ask for, but you do have to ask at times eg room glasses. Our main issue, as with so many small, budget hotels, was around maintenance and some of the 'comfort' details. The TV didn't work (they fixed it), the pillows were so thin and mis-shapen as to be pointless, the rooms have a musty smell (although to be fair it's an extremely humid climate). Most importantly, we came back to an infestation of flying ants on the first night (hundreds, maybe thousands, of them) - we were in a room on the first floor at the back with a palm thatched roof that you could see the sky through in places (which we chose for its charm factor). When we reported the infestation we were told it was Ok, because they didn't bite, quite ignoring the quantity. The hotel blamed the recent rains for this, in much the same way that citizens of Gulf states blame the wind for redistributing all of the rubbish that they leave everywhere. It sort of misses the point. When the lights were out most of the insects returned to the roof (the hotel also told us this would happen, so it's obviously not the first time), although quite a few kept us company on the outside of the mosquito nets, and a few hundred preferred to rest on the television screen - it's the first time I could genuinely say I was watching wildlife on the TV. Strangely, no alternative room was offered at the time (although we did move to a ground floor the next day when we mentioned the insects again), and nor was any discount proposed when it came to payment. We stayed three nights and felt overall L'Hotelito was reasonable value for a place located right in the heart of Tulum, although with plenty of room for improvement. Sound proofing could be an issue here for light sleepers, but that's probably true for most Tulum accommodation, especially as bed sheets and covers the hotel uses are not the most comfortable.

Room Tip: After rain avoid the grass-roofed room. Close to reception can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Travelboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

I stayed at this hotel for 11 nights in May and was very pleased with it. The reasonable price includes air conditioning and wifi which is great when you come back from a day at the beach. The room was very clean and comfortable with two beds. This hotel is also in a great location in Tulum, close to all the shops and restaurants. That being said, you can easily hear music playing late into the night which didn't bother me but if it is an issue there are ear plugs provided in the room. The staff were all very friendly and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
Thank Kaylee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

I read aout the otel from lonely planet. We planned on staying there the whole time but ended up moving 2 nights in to our stay. We stayed in the bigger room upstairs, for $60 usd a night. The balcony off the room was nice to have, however, at night, the whole room is very noisy. The bathroom smelled really bad, maybe bad plumbing? The wifi was a pain to log onto, when it worked. It was ok, however, paying $60 a night for that place is too much. There are plenty of other great options in town that are more budget friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

Pros:
-good included breakfast
-great wifi
-beautiful setting
-great helpful staff
-excellent location
-good value

Cons:
-3% charge on credit cards
-noisy from bar 2 stores down until 5am if you're on the 2nd story
-top room can smell if you don't air it out

Stayed: February 2015
Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#80 of 99 in Tulum
111 reviews
0.3 km away
Ginger Hotel
Ginger Hotel
#40 of 99 in Tulum
109 reviews
0.9 km away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 99 in Tulum
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#7 of 99 in Tulum
940 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Latino
Hotel Latino
#59 of 99 in Tulum
383 reviews
0.6 km away
Posada Malix Pek
Posada Malix Pek
#21 of 93 in Tulum
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotelito

Address: Av. Tulum Entre Beta y Orion Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: $59 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hotelito 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Italian restaurant, free Wi-Fi and tropical gardens with hammocks are offered at this small hotel. Situated in central Tulum, it is just 3.5 km from the Mayan Ruins and beaches. L'Hotelito Tulum offers traditional thatched rooms with a fan and balcony, and classic-style rooms with air conditioning and garden views. All rooms have cable TV, mosquito nets and a private bathroom. The hotel’s restaurant specializes in homemade pasta. Dishes are prepared with fresh local ingredients, many of them organic. Tulum’s Mayan Culture Museum-Park is just 200 m from L'Hotelito. The tropical forest of Tulum National Park is a 10-minute walk away. Free parking can be found nearby. Staff at the 24-hour reception are happy to arrange local activities, including snorkelling, diving or visits to the Sian Ka’an UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Hotelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing