We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hip Hotel Tulum
Nearby Hotels
US$381
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Zamas(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Secret Garden Hotel(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Yum Kin(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$359
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
270
177
45
20
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
177
45
20
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach frontgarden viewbreakfast was includeddouble showerevery morningbeautiful beachtulum stripother hotelshotel restaurantchilaquilesspacious roomloved this hotelceiling fansister hotelocean waveseco hotelbeach service
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Seven nights in Tulum did not seem like long enough. The staff at the Hip Hotel was friendly, attentive and so extremely helpful. The property is very pretty and located on the southern part of the beach strip (which is a bit more quiet). I stayed in a 2nd floor ocean view room (#23) which was perfect. All I could hear at night were the waves and palm trees rustling. The part of the beach where the hotel is located is great if you like space and a bit more peace (the sand is also much more plentiful and the beach doesn't get as congested). There's a great bike rental shop right across the way, making it simple to head to the ruins and into Tulum Pueblo for an afternoon/morning. Cabs are also easy to hail and the staff was helpful in letting me know the right price points so I would know when I was being overcharged. Overall, an amazing, relaxing and beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I reserved a superior garden room view and we arrived they put us up in the Best Ocean front view room for 1 week. I had left the safe open and everything was still inside. I had an ipad and all of our passports and cards. Unbelivable. The staff is so trustworthy!
The staff was friendly when we arrived and welcoming all week long. I can't wait to come back and bring my son. It was an amazing romantic getaway with my husband. Thank you Hip for a great week!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ievboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Me and boyfriend spent two nights out of five here. A walk on the beach showed us so many small, beautifully decorated hotels with charm and personality, and after one day, we realized we didn't want to spend any more time in a hotel that the owners don't really seem to care about. The Hip Hotel is owned by Ana y José, the big resort on this stretch of the beach.
Our room was not really clean. The lighting in the bathroom made me look old and horrible. The first windy night we couldn't sleep because the lock for the terrace door was rusty and the door kept banging open. The restaurant is just... boring. Breakfast... not really. No thanks.
BUT. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we were able to check out after only two nights (out of five) without paying for the remaining nights. They seemed honestly sad to see us unhappy and thanked me for telling them about our doubts. Plus they changed the lock for the terrace door at once.
This hotel has great potential but needs some spirit and a few small investments (lamps, flowers, pictures... I don't know... something that someone has picked out personally). Good luck, Hip Hotel!

Choose another hotel, there are so many great ones! Luv Tulum and Casa Violeta are two small, nice ones just next to Hip Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We booked on a gamble - purely on gut feel from the internet. But enjoyed our stay and would recommend to any couple looking for a quiet, rustic getaway in a beautiful part of Mexico. Wouldn't recommend to a family/group looking for a beach bar, activity and a vibey hotel!

Pros: Beautiful beachfront with plenty of thatch umbrellas, sun loungers and nice beach towels. Rustic but comfortable rooms very close to sea. Tranquil and easy to relax. Great meals (beef fajitas and fish tacos) from the restaurant. Simple breakfast included. WiFi access. Clean room and bathroom/separate toilet. 20 mins taxi ride from the Tulum Ruins. Polite staff. Spa facilities.

Cons: A tad expensive for what you get. Quite far down the hotel strip - not a short walk to other restaurants and shops. No air con or any other electrical appliances in the room (but there are plug sockets).

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are a pleasure. Step out of the room onto the sand 30m from waves.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arrierom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

When we checked out of this hotel, the man checking us out lead us to believe that we had lost our key ( we put it on the desk) we became very confused and began looking for it only to realize that the man checking us out had hid it and now was going to charge us $100 US for "our lost key" Total scam! make sure you hand your key directly to the person checking you out. We were truly bummed to leave on such a bad note. We loved the S & S hotel until we saw their shady ways.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 it was big and comfortable everything thing was great until the key scam at the end of our stay.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank lilcapitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews