We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic gem on a sugar sand beach”
Review of Hip Hotel Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hip Hotel Tulum
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

If you find simplicity is beauty, you'll like this place. I didn't have to take down bad art or put plastic plants in the closet. I loved the thatched roof, wood slats over the windows, stone shower stall and hammock on the all natural deck. The top floor partial ocean view from our bed in cabana#6 was stunning even though we were on the service side of the hotel. The hotel grounds were beautiful and the beach was excellent. We normally spend more time exploring, but I wanted to spend more time here! On the downside, I do agree with the Janna that the restaurant needs a better vibe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twofishes227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 233 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

Seven nights in Tulum did not seem like long enough. The staff at the Hip Hotel was friendly, attentive and so extremely helpful. The property is very pretty and located on the southern part of the beach strip (which is a bit more quiet). I stayed in a 2nd floor ocean view room (#23) which was perfect. All I could hear at night were the waves and palm trees rustling. The part of the beach where the hotel is located is great if you like space and a bit more peace (the sand is also much more plentiful and the beach doesn't get as congested). There's a great bike rental shop right across the way, making it simple to head to the ruins and into Tulum Pueblo for an afternoon/morning. Cabs are also easy to hail and the staff was helpful in letting me know the right price points so I would know when I was being overcharged. Overall, an amazing, relaxing and beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I reserved a superior garden room view and we arrived they put us up in the Best Ocean front view room for 1 week. I had left the safe open and everything was still inside. I had an ipad and all of our passports and cards. Unbelivable. The staff is so trustworthy!
The staff was friendly when we arrived and welcoming all week long. I can't wait to come back and bring my son. It was an amazing romantic getaway with my husband. Thank you Hip for a great week!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ievboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Me and boyfriend spent two nights out of five here. A walk on the beach showed us so many small, beautifully decorated hotels with charm and personality, and after one day, we realized we didn't want to spend any more time in a hotel that the owners don't really seem to care about. The Hip Hotel is owned by Ana y José, the big resort on this stretch of the beach.
Our room was not really clean. The lighting in the bathroom made me look old and horrible. The first windy night we couldn't sleep because the lock for the terrace door was rusty and the door kept banging open. The restaurant is just... boring. Breakfast... not really. No thanks.
BUT. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we were able to check out after only two nights (out of five) without paying for the remaining nights. They seemed honestly sad to see us unhappy and thanked me for telling them about our doubts. Plus they changed the lock for the terrace door at once.
This hotel has great potential but needs some spirit and a few small investments (lamps, flowers, pictures... I don't know... something that someone has picked out personally). Good luck, Hip Hotel!

Choose another hotel, there are so many great ones! Luv Tulum and Casa Violeta are two small, nice ones just next to Hip Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We booked on a gamble - purely on gut feel from the internet. But enjoyed our stay and would recommend to any couple looking for a quiet, rustic getaway in a beautiful part of Mexico. Wouldn't recommend to a family/group looking for a beach bar, activity and a vibey hotel!

Pros: Beautiful beachfront with plenty of thatch umbrellas, sun loungers and nice beach towels. Rustic but comfortable rooms very close to sea. Tranquil and easy to relax. Great meals (beef fajitas and fish tacos) from the restaurant. Simple breakfast included. WiFi access. Clean room and bathroom/separate toilet. 20 mins taxi ride from the Tulum Ruins. Polite staff. Spa facilities.

Cons: A tad expensive for what you get. Quite far down the hotel strip - not a short walk to other restaurants and shops. No air con or any other electrical appliances in the room (but there are plug sockets).

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are a pleasure. Step out of the room onto the sand 30m from waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arrierom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.5 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
876 reviews
4.6 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 98 in Tulum
384 reviews
3.9 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 98 in Tulum
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#12 of 98 in Tulum
562 reviews
1.4 km away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
4.1 km away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#22 of 98 in Tulum
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hip Hotel Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum - Boca Paila Km 8, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $232 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hip Hotel Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 22 rooms, our oceanfront hotel has a wide beach of white sand and crystalline sea, peaceful garden with palm trees, Restaurant-Bar oceanfront Mexican fusion cuisine - Gourmet, Lobby Lounge with Bar - Bar with free internet connection (WiFi), Free Parking, Bar Beach and highly trained staff will do everything to make your stay fabulous.Some days are blue and calm, the waters warm, delicious ... Some days are cloudy, with big storms, even when it seems that the ocean is going to devour the birth of a new day full of sun and heat.All rooms, located just steps from the beach, have a king size bed, some with sofa bed, ceiling fan, 24-hour electricity, closet, safe box, private bathroom with shower, screened windows and balconies or terrace with hammock. Spectacular beach of soft white sands and calm seas • reclining beach chairs with umbrellas, palapa • Beach bar with international drinks and cocktails • Beautiful gardens with palm trees on white sand • Restaurant - oceanfront outdoor terrace and panoramic view • Coffee-bar in the Lobby • Free parking • Free Internet access in the Lobby Cafe-Bar • Currency exchange at reception • Transfers to / from Cancun airport can be hired on reservation • Laundry on request • Medical service on request Other Amenities:Car rental on reservation Massages by appointment, hotel marketing by aliveunique ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hip Hotel Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s And s Hip Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing