We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Ranked #56 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed at 4E for 8 nights. Little beach view, private terrace with hammock. Friendly staff, and amazing breakfast every day. Total deal for the money. Perfect location. The grounds are kept immaculate and there is someone near by if you need ANY thing.. if that is what you are looking for, he he. No TV, no clock, no radio; bring your own because you can plug your own in!

Would recommend renting bikes near this place called Matea's for $8 a day and getting water, tequila around there. Things like that add up if you are staying near by- accidently learned that the first night we were there. two appetizers, four beers and four don julio shots came out to over 850 pesos with tip. You can also bike to Tulum town and the ruins from the hotel. Splurge on a meal at La bistro next door and walk down to Hotel Om for a bite. Matea's and the restaurant next door is also very good and cheaper than the places on the beach.

Just fyi, not much night life in Tulum, would come back to this place with a couple of friends though. It was exactly what we were looking for..

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a little beach view- but i would ask for the second row of cabanas. 4E i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    197
    105
    56
    61
See reviews for
130
280
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

In general I think Los Lirios is a very good choice! The rooms are spacious with huge windows, each has his own terrace and hamaca, really good! They are set in a beautiful garden and in front of a very nice part of the Tulum beach (pure sand). Electricity works 24 hours and there is even wifi (but the signal is weak and only in a limited area). And now the thing I didn´t like at all. The restaurant. It was too huge for the resort and soon I found out why...they invite big buses full of tourists for a buffet lunch, something you would not expect in Tulum. Just for being lazy and not having to go somewhere else, we ordered food from the restaurant. The food was tasty, but overpricesed. A very small portion of „pescado a la plancha“ with a very tiny scoop of rice at 170 pesos is a lot even for Tulum. And the service was bad and unprofessional. So, go to Lirios but dine somewhere else.

Room Tip: I would avoid the rooms close to the restaurant, otherwise all looked great, they are all very alike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We loved the garden view bungalow, which showed the sea beyond the garden. Big room with dedicated living room area. Big bathroom with fantastic shower and bathtub! Very clean. Breakfast was good, and the restaurant staff was very friendly.
The mattress felt like a bit of a dip in the middle. Thats the reason why we give it not 5 out of 5. Everything else was perfect.

We would recommend Los Lirios to anyone. and should we stay in Tulum again, we would book it again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwayslookingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los lirios t, Director Comercial at Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest

Is a pleasure for us to see our guests enjoy their vacation, and comment on it, that is why we are happy to welcome you again with the same attention as always.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This place considers itself 3-stars- but how then do they explain their outrageous prices??!!!

Let me start by saying that the setting is very attractive and the buildings themselves are pretty (as you can see from the photos). Despite this, there is very little maintenance on the rooms, to the extent that DIRT covered parts of my room including the mirrors and the windows!! With my finger I rubbed and took off layers of dirt from various surfaces around the place, which I found shocking since it shows that there was not even a pretense of cleaning the place up!! And I was paying 540$US for this room!!!!

I had not originally intended to stay here but for a variety of reasons I had to be in Tulum for the night unexpectedly and this was the only place with a room. I booked 3 days before and explained that I needed a room with 2 extra beds in it, which they agreed (for a per person fee). In the process of confirming my reservation we talked once every day for two days, and I was told everything would be ready when I got there. Because I would be driving from far away the day of I even sent them my estimated arrival time (7 PM) to make sure everything was ready!!

I arrived at 7 PM and found that the room had not been prepared in the least. There were no extra beds (or extra towels, etc) in the room and when I explained that I needed two extra beds they apologized and said they would ready it. An hour later, it became clear that there were no extra beds (they told us) but they were moving things around for us. Nearly 2 hours after our arrival- at 9 PM, 7 hours after when our rooms should have been ready- the two beds were set up, though they neglected to give us extra towels, etc. They didn't even have blankets because apparently they were all "being washed"?!

On top of this, everything was dirty!! Anything white had lots of poorly removed stains, their was dust or dirt on top of all the windows and surfaces (which I could remove with my finger- see pictures!!), gross things collecting on various surfaces, dead bugs in the overhead lighting... at least wipe it down once- ever!!!!

While we waited, we stopped by the restaurant. At night it is a truly depressing place, with few lights turned on and a sort of desert truck stop (decorated for christmas) kind of feel. The wait staff was excellent and very friendly. However, while we waited for a slice of flan we ordered we noticed one of the servers serving pieces of cake with his hands through the kitchen's open door!!! Every time he placed a piece on a plate, he looked up to check if we were watching (tough he didn't seem to notice we were!?). Very, very weird. I mean at least close the door!!!

I wrote to the hotel after we left explaining my frustration with paying the amount I did for such poor service and preparation and they ignored me completely (even though they had responded extremely promptly regarding reservations).

Avoid this place. If I was paying about 50$US I wouldn't have minded the stuff I mentioned, but for the price it's all a bit appalling.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tehrangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los lirios t, Director Comercial at Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments on this issue, we will make sure never happens again, and we regret that you didn't enjoyed your stay as you deserves,
that's why I do to you an invitation to contact us to offer you a special discount and to have you back with us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I was here with my husband during our honeymoon. We have been travelling through lots of different hotels and resorts in the Riviera Maya region at a similar price bracket. This place is by far the worst. The rooms smell musty sometimes and like sulfur at other times. The food is really average and overpriced. The service is average. We had no hot water. Then it rained and the ceiling leaked, getting water all over our open luggage. Wish we stayed at the Mahekal Beach Resort in Playa Del Carmen for longer rather than staying here - that place was tops!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los lirios t, Director of Sales at Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear guest

We regret that your stay was not what you expected, and we assume that you are making a comparison of a hotel located in an ecological zone against a resort in Playa del Carmen, however, we have many services to make a comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests, our hotel is a quiet and is directed to the eco-turism.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
851 reviews
3.2 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 96 in Tulum
317 reviews
1.4 km away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#17 of 96 in Tulum
583 reviews
2.7 km away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#72 of 96 in Tulum
217 reviews
1.1 km away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#54 of 96 in Tulum
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas

Property: Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Address: | Carretera a Boca Paila Km. 7.5. Tulum, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price range (per night): $225 - $554
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 7 cabanas in its first construction stage, with 4 Junior suite type rooms each; we are located on the Tulum Coast, in the road to Boca Paila, right on the Punta Piedra zone, at only 7.5 kilometers from Tulum-Coba, 7 kilometers from Tulum Ruins and aproximately 1 kilometer from Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve. Surrounded by a relatively undisturbed tropical forest and set upon a beautiful beach, Los Lirios Cabañas Hotel is the perfect combination between forest conservation and sustainable eco-tourism, between the manglars, source of life for the sea reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lirios Tulum
Cabanas Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing