We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
29
61
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
61
15
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Unfortunately, 4000 islands was a huge let down for me but I'll try to keep the review unbiased. After switching out from the very dirty and subpar northern part of don det we made our way over to don khon. Pan's is probably your best bet on the island if you are looking for a comfy place with a/c to escape the brutal midday heat.

Pan's has a lot of pros: it has aircon, free wifi (though down most of the time), comfy beds, mosquito nets, clean rooms, a personal hammock, good views, and pretty friendly staff for a start. We also booked a VIP bus into Cambodia through the guesthouse and it was awesome - we actually got a full sized bus instead of a minibus for 6 bucks with great staff who played English movies (including the killing fields and ip man). Like I said, it's easily one of the better choices on don khon so I would recommend it if you are over here.

However, I really think that being one of the best choices isn't saying much since most accommodation is quite over priced and not that great. Unfortunately our room (#7 twin room) had a super flimsy door that I felt could have easily been broken into while we slept. Other rooms might be better though. There was also a massive nest of honey bees living in the walls. This didn't actually bother me because they left us alone - it was actually pretty hilarious hearing them scratch and buzz at night and the mosquito nest kept us safe. My last complaint was that the food wasn't great even though the lady who makes it is very nice. I recommend heading towards the bridge to one of those places for food once and a while but be sure to give the banana crepe a try.

But I digress, stay at Pan's if you are in the area, it's not too shabby - just avoid room 7 if you hate bees ;)

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We arrived without a reservation and were lucky enough to have the option to pay a little more for a Mekong front cabin. It was very clean with private ensuite and terrace with deck chairs and a hammock. There was an AC option but we settled for the fan which we found to be fine.

The food is delicious at the guest house restaurant and very reasonable compared to other nearby places. Bit more than the mainland though as you would expect but there are no ATM's so come prepared.

The accommodation wasn't cleaned during our stay and we eventually changed our own bin which isn't great, I don't like having to ask for toilet paper really. Also our mosi net had couple of rips and because of where it was hung was on our faces... again bit weird about things on my face while I sleep so we didn't use it in the end.

Other than these minor gripes I would highly recommend this place.

Room tip: Definately pay the small amount extra for Mekong view if you can.. sunset on the terrace...bliss.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiltedmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The rooms of this guest house were excellent. The balcony a place to dream away overlooking the Mekong towards the lively bank across the water. The beds were great, good air conditioning, good bathroom, very clean.
The staff was uncommunicative and unsmiling, an unlaotian experience. The breakfast was very basic and we decided to have our meals at an excellent restaurant a bit further on.
We still recommend this guest house because of the excellent room and the nice setting.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We got off the boat from main land (haggled down to 60,000 for 4 ppl) walked up the boat landing and asked for the nearest guesthouse that had air con. After staying 2 sleepness nights without it at another guesthouse it was a must. A man pointed us to Pans. Pan and his wife showed us 2 questhouses both were similar we choose the one with more room. The bathroom had been completely renovated and was great! The air con worked like a charm. Beds were clean and comfy. It was quiet, you get your own porch with each room. They rented us bikes and arranged our onward travel. We tried eating at other restaurants around don khon and don det but found pan's the best - price and taste. Try their shakes - the banana chocolate one was our favorite! I wish there would of been a tv in the room as there was nothing to do on the island past dark. Most restaurants were empty or had one table in it that had customers. So bring books! No free wifi on don khon but guesthouses on don det had it advertised. Internet on Don khon was 200/minute which ended up being about $4/hr.

Oh yeah we paid 180,000 for our room. The river view ones were 220,000 or something like that. I think it might of been pricey compared to other places but we were happy!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews