We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
29
61
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
61
15
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

There is no better way to relax then kicking back a couple of drinks on the patio in front of your room and watching the Makong go by.

The rooms are spacious, the AC works well, the restaurant does a good breakfast, they have laundry, and book transportation that leaves from right in front of your room. They clean the room every day and the hotel is located in the perfect spot on Don Khone. You can grab a bike for a dollar and head to the waterfall or cross the bridge and check out Don Dhet. It is family run and everyone there does a great job to make sure your enjoying your stay.

The only downfall would be it is a little expensive, but check on Agoda for some discounted rooms. It also helps you save your cash (through Agoda), which is important because there are no ATM's on the island.

For more about Don Khone and Pakse, copy and paste the link below into your browser.

aroundtheworldtripping.com/2012/10/21/pakse-and-don-khone/

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Came into 4k Islands during a horrible storm - boat man refused to take us to Don Khone and couldn't get hold of Mr Pan on the phone (I needed to add a + to the number given when using a mobile) so had to stay on Don Det for 1 night. However picked us up the next day by boat for free and did not charge us a cancellation fee (stayed for 3 nights as had already paid for 3) after a bit of negotiation. Bungalow was $30 which I felt was a bit pricy for what it was although bungalow spotlessly clean - however when the excellent included breakfast was factored into the cost it worked out ok. Don Khone felt a bit isolated as it was a long ride/boat trip to Don Det and there was a fee for using the bridge, very quiet at night and would stay in Don Det next time. Management friendly and helpful and food at the restaurant excellent.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bananamanontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had a nice AC bungalow overlooking the Mekong. From our terrace we watched some beautifull sunsets and in the morning the fisherman left in their little boats right in front of us.There is no wifi in the room, but the restaurant has wifi, that works most of the time. Compared to the (too) commercial Don Det the isle of Don Kkone is much more quiet, traditional, relaxing and enjoyable. The village-life is all around you. The breakfast and food in the restaurant is good, although there are restaurants in the small village that are more special. For Laotion standards the rooms are a little overpriced.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2012

After traveling in Laos, the prices on Don Khon surprised us. Pan's is more expensive than most of the surrounding area. The rooms were clean and the air con worked well

The staff were ok. Pan and his wife were welcoming and helpful. The man who works during the day was rude and frustrating to work with. It was hard to pull him away from the TV.

The internet was fast, but only offered in the reception/dining area.

FYI: The location on Don Khon only allows you to stay on a few km of land, in order to go to the other side of the island or to Don Det you have to pay 20,000 kip per/person per day.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTW42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Booked one night with agoda and decided to stay somewhere else the second night because we were worried about running out of kip since there are no ATMs on the island. We didn't think it was a 5 star hotel but it was nice and the owner is extremely friendly, his staff not so much but he makes up for it. We ate there many times after a few horrible meals at other places on the island. Our reservation said it included breakfast but when we got to breakfast other guest informed us that they were told by someone just one persons breakfast was included. We just ordered whatever we wanted and figured we'd pay for it but then Mr. Pan showed up, we got a fruit plate and the whole meal was taken care of. Second night on the island we stayed a bit farther down the road at Somphamit which ended up being infested with birds size roaches so after night in a horror house it was back to Pans which suddenly seemed so much more luxurious. Second morning there no included breakfast, it was a nice, relaxing place and Mr. Pan was wonderful.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews