We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
29
61
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
61
15
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed at Pans as part of a 3day tour with Green Discovery, so I have no idea what the price was so this review is based on my guess of the worth.

I was really pleasantly surprised with our bungalow.... All bungalows have a chair and hammock on their own veranda, and although we didn't have a river view, this was fine for us... we looked out onto a little narrow garden with banana trees and we spent most the time out and about on Don Khon and Don Det anyway.

The room was spotless and felt like it had been relatively recently decorated. Bathroom very clean, shower worked fine, aircon and fan worked ok and we had a mosquito net too which we appreciated.

We ate dinner there and food was tasty... But you don't get the riverside atmosphere at the restaurant. Interesting enough the identical menu features at another restaurant bar further down the lane which we popped to later for a beer with a view.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyPorkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2012

There is no better way to relax then kicking back a couple of drinks on the patio in front of your room and watching the Makong go by.

The rooms are spacious, the AC works well, the restaurant does a good breakfast, they have laundry, and book transportation that leaves from right in front of your room. They clean the room every day and the hotel is located in the perfect spot on Don Khone. You can grab a bike for a dollar and head to the waterfall or cross the bridge and check out Don Dhet. It is family run and everyone there does a great job to make sure your enjoying your stay.

The only downfall would be it is a little expensive, but check on Agoda for some discounted rooms. It also helps you save your cash (through Agoda), which is important because there are no ATM's on the island.

For more about Don Khone and Pakse, copy and paste the link below into your browser.

aroundtheworldtripping.com/2012/10/21/pakse-and-don-khone/

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Came into 4k Islands during a horrible storm - boat man refused to take us to Don Khone and couldn't get hold of Mr Pan on the phone (I needed to add a + to the number given when using a mobile) so had to stay on Don Det for 1 night. However picked us up the next day by boat for free and did not charge us a cancellation fee (stayed for 3 nights as had already paid for 3) after a bit of negotiation. Bungalow was $30 which I felt was a bit pricy for what it was although bungalow spotlessly clean - however when the excellent included breakfast was factored into the cost it worked out ok. Don Khone felt a bit isolated as it was a long ride/boat trip to Don Det and there was a fee for using the bridge, very quiet at night and would stay in Don Det next time. Management friendly and helpful and food at the restaurant excellent.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bananamanontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had a nice AC bungalow overlooking the Mekong. From our terrace we watched some beautifull sunsets and in the morning the fisherman left in their little boats right in front of us.There is no wifi in the room, but the restaurant has wifi, that works most of the time. Compared to the (too) commercial Don Det the isle of Don Kkone is much more quiet, traditional, relaxing and enjoyable. The village-life is all around you. The breakfast and food in the restaurant is good, although there are restaurants in the small village that are more special. For Laotion standards the rooms are a little overpriced.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2012

After traveling in Laos, the prices on Don Khon surprised us. Pan's is more expensive than most of the surrounding area. The rooms were clean and the air con worked well

The staff were ok. Pan and his wife were welcoming and helpful. The man who works during the day was rude and frustrating to work with. It was hard to pull him away from the TV.

The internet was fast, but only offered in the reception/dining area.

FYI: The location on Don Khon only allows you to stay on a few km of land, in order to go to the other side of the island or to Don Det you have to pay 20,000 kip per/person per day.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTW42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews