We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
29
61
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
61
15
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is a good place that keeps getting better as Pan regularly upgrades. Between my first visit in December, 2009 and my second in February, 2012 he added air-con rooms and wifi (although the latter only works in the restaurant). By the time of my January, 2013 visit the garden view bungalows had been renovated with nicely painted walls and a downright fancy ceiling. This is the only place in all of SE Asia where I've been tempted to complain that the mattress is a little too soft, but it's still reasonably comfortable.Pan's price keeps going up as well, but it's still pretty decent value. The restaurant is pretty good, as well.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2013

What a great place to stay. Bungalow on the banks of Mekong. All very clean, hot water,shower curtain, plumbing that all worked, breakfast at restaurant opposite included, mosquito nets, screens on windows, bike hire, laundry. They have it all covered. Friendly staff too as well as bus tickets. Only down thing- roosters are plenty & they crow pretty early, also boat traffic on river can start early but there aren't enough boats to be a bother (it is life on the river)

Room tip: Riverside bungalows if possible
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed at Pans as part of a 3day tour with Green Discovery, so I have no idea what the price was so this review is based on my guess of the worth.

I was really pleasantly surprised with our bungalow.... All bungalows have a chair and hammock on their own veranda, and although we didn't have a river view, this was fine for us... we looked out onto a little narrow garden with banana trees and we spent most the time out and about on Don Khon and Don Det anyway.

The room was spotless and felt like it had been relatively recently decorated. Bathroom very clean, shower worked fine, aircon and fan worked ok and we had a mosquito net too which we appreciated.

We ate dinner there and food was tasty... But you don't get the riverside atmosphere at the restaurant. Interesting enough the identical menu features at another restaurant bar further down the lane which we popped to later for a beer with a view.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyPorkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2012

There is no better way to relax then kicking back a couple of drinks on the patio in front of your room and watching the Makong go by.

The rooms are spacious, the AC works well, the restaurant does a good breakfast, they have laundry, and book transportation that leaves from right in front of your room. They clean the room every day and the hotel is located in the perfect spot on Don Khone. You can grab a bike for a dollar and head to the waterfall or cross the bridge and check out Don Dhet. It is family run and everyone there does a great job to make sure your enjoying your stay.

The only downfall would be it is a little expensive, but check on Agoda for some discounted rooms. It also helps you save your cash (through Agoda), which is important because there are no ATM's on the island.

For more about Don Khone and Pakse, copy and paste the link below into your browser.

aroundtheworldtripping.com/2012/10/21/pakse-and-don-khone/

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Came into 4k Islands during a horrible storm - boat man refused to take us to Don Khone and couldn't get hold of Mr Pan on the phone (I needed to add a + to the number given when using a mobile) so had to stay on Don Det for 1 night. However picked us up the next day by boat for free and did not charge us a cancellation fee (stayed for 3 nights as had already paid for 3) after a bit of negotiation. Bungalow was $30 which I felt was a bit pricy for what it was although bungalow spotlessly clean - however when the excellent included breakfast was factored into the cost it worked out ok. Don Khone felt a bit isolated as it was a long ride/boat trip to Don Det and there was a fee for using the bridge, very quiet at night and would stay in Don Det next time. Management friendly and helpful and food at the restaurant excellent.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bananamanontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews