We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pans Guest House(Don Khone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan's Residence(Don Khone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
12
39
31
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
39
31
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloating bungalowsthe riverlovely large roomsmall poolcouple of nightsirrawaddy dolphinshotel restaurantdon detlovely placewatch the sunsetdown the roadsalaaccommodationswifimekongislanddrop
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Living in a houseboat is the only reason to stay there. You can sit in the verandah just looking the water, fishermen, boat traffic. Rooms in the hoseboats are not bad, however old fashioned. Do not expect deluxe rooms, you have better choices on the island. Other and better accomodations exist at Sala hotel, but not on the river. The swimming pool is a (modest) bonus, breakfast so and so. Nice to sit in the restaurant ( not bad) to enjoy the sunset and a chilled Beerlao

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank peder22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Large room, hard beds, no drawers or hot water.
Good base to go around.
Did not go in pool as it looked dirty.
Restaurant right on Mekong river so beautiful view. Had lunch once and food was good.
Staff polite but extremely limited English.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamoz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

The islands are a haven for backpackers, and Sala Done Khone standard rooms would be considered luxurious. However we were not backpacking and hated the first room we were given; dark room with non functioning AC and a smelly bathroom. One email to the tour company got us an upgraded room. Much better. The hotel occupies a number of houses on the lane and the best rooms are opposite the swimming pool. Great cycling on this and the adjacent island.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WJFHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I believe that some of the rooms in the old hospital building are very smart but those in the little floating bungalows are not. However, the sheer beauty of the location, sitting on quite comfortable chairs on your own veranda a couple of feet above the fast-moving Mekong, gently moving with the passing boats makes up for the basic standard of these rooms. The view as you draw the curtains in the morning is very special. There is very little hanging space and no drawers but a large unused day bed suffices. Despite some comments I found the bed comfortable and the a/c worked fine. These rooms are not for the infirm, the very young or sleepwalkers (the guard rail on the veranda has a large gap in the middle) but for the real Mekong island experience they are terrific. Breakfast is rather basic so just ask for anything else you need. Food in the restaurant is not expensive but the staff are fairly hopeless, albeit in a smiling way. Somewhere to remember if not return to.

Room Tip: If you want the Mekong up close go for the floating rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougF45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed in their floating studio, something I was really looking forward to from the time I booked it months ago.

The room they gave me was simple and basic at about 80 USD a night, not cheap for a village on an island in the Mekong. However the experience of it, the surrounding beauty and the whole vibe of the area means that this will be a great memory for years to come.

However be warned:
The floating studios move with the water of the river.
Boats ply up and down from morning to midnight, and it gets very noisy post 8 am.
The rooms are in desperate need to an update. The first one they gave me had a crack across the back of the toilet, and leaked onto the floor on my second night, really disgusting. I changed the room, the next one had a conked out air conditioner. In 33 degree Celsius heat, this was unacceptable.
The cleaning of the deck is subpar, you can't really sit out there, the deck chairs need replacing.
The breakfast is below average - no milk for the coffee (lovely coffee though). They gave me eggs only after I asked, so remember to ask because they don't offer.

The property as with the rest of the village is only waking up to tourism, though it's been some years now. It's all rustic and basic so keep this in mind when staying here.

The view though makes up for all shortfalls!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank lonnybom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews