We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sunset Paradise
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pans Guest House(Don Khone)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan's Residence(Don Khone)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
48
13
2
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
13
2
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Julie and Jim created a real Oasis itself. The location is so peacefull and if you look for a paradise like place to stay - the Sunset Paradise is the place to be.
We found the sunset paradise by accident and were so happy to have the pleasure to stay.
Keep up the good spirit.

Room Tip: All bungalows are good to stay in . They are all build solid in wood.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ronny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Julie is a lovely young woman, Jim is a very polite smiling young man, our bungalow was old, small, uncomfortable and dark. Breakfast is not included, but can be ordered at a reasonable price in the nice terrace overlooking the river. During our stay (three nights), our bungalow was not cleaned. Good music and wifi. I think Julie and Jim deserve something better to run.

Room Tip: The bungalows are all the same, very close one another, in the so called tropical garden.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank robertolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Probably one of my best stay in Laos. The guesthouse is small and extremely cosy with delicious food (must try the fresh spring rolls). It is in a quiet spot of the island yet close to all the restaurants of Don Khone.
The owners are young, very friendly and helpful and make the stay extremely enjoyable.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bounthavy J, Propriétaire at The Sunset Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015
Google Translation

Sabaidi Carole !

Ce fut un doux moment en ta compagnie aussi! Nous sommes heureux de lire ton commentaire et esperons que la fin de ton voyage ce soit bien passee et que tu es retournee a la maison ressourcee et "yogee" !

A bientot j espere et merci de t etre arretee chez nous!

On t embrasse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Rooms cannot be booked via classic channels. You need to e-mail them and/or contact Julie via their Facebook page. For us, the message exchange before arrival was swift, polite and helpful.

Our bungalow was in line with descriptions in previous reviews. It was rather clean and comfortable but Spartan. Nothing to hang your clothes, only a low cupboard. No locker. Asian shower. Worn out towels and blanket. Bungalow is cleaned upon request. You will not get a lie-in due to roosters and boats waking you up very early (so I recommend getting to bed early, like the locals!). Room is dark, as only 1 small window and dark lampshade (which you can remove temporarily if you do not open your door, otherwise mosquitos will come in numbers!). Wifi signal quality varied.

Breakfast is not included but you can have it for a reasonable price at their restaurant or in one of the nearby ones. Food, both for breakfast and other meals, was always fresh and tasty.

To me, this guesthouse has 2 main positives:
- The staff is adorable. Julie, Jim and François always had a smile on their faces, were always ready to help, were very relaxed in line with the local way of life and were nice to have conversations with.
- The restaurant has a lovely setting and atmosphere. Watch the sun set, while the afternoon away, while sipping a drink on the comfy seats with a view on the river. Good music is played throughout the day.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anne-Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bounthavy J, Propriétaire at The Sunset Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015
Google Translation

Sabaidi les amoureux !

Nous avons bien pris en compte tous les bons et mauvais points de votre commentaire,merci, et esperons satisfaire pleinement nos futurs guests a l avenir!
Nous avons ete ravis de vous rencontrer et vous souhaitons tout le meilleur pour votre aventure en Australie!

Bonne route et bon vent a vous 2!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2014

We'd booked via Sunset Paradise's FB page based on all the great reviews on Tripadvisor. At 150k per night we knew it would be basic...but seriously, so many things that could be improved to reflect the going rate on the island: hangers and a place to hang clothes, a net/ trap for the drain to ensure cockroaches do not enter, floor cover throughout the cabin, bedside table, lampshade, lighter colour walls (the green walls and white lightbulb is a bad combination, makes you feel a bit sick after a while), secondary light source than the sole lightbulb in the ceiling, a sheet rather than the worn, thin quilt.

Other accommodation managed most of the above for 50k less. Whilst we could have mentioned all of the above during our stay, it just seemed too substantial a 'moan' list to expect them to address during our stay. We hope our comments is received as constructive.

Food was very good and the family welcoming.

The place was fairly clean for our arrival and the customer service from Jim was excellent! A bit more attention to detail and realistic pricing would easily add a couple of stars.

Room Tip: Get them to put the mosquito net up, it makes you feel safe from insects and is a bit like an indoor camping experience!
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BJeppesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bounthavy J, Propriétaire at The Sunset Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015

Sabaidi Bettina,

yes, your comments are received as constructive! And we did add new hangers and new table desks in our bungalows. Our Guests and us are enjoying our brand new rooms! Thank you very much Bettina and your husband for your kindness and for your words!

Hope you are still enjoying your trip! Wish you all the best to both of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews