We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bramasole Luxury Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Magoebaskloof Hotel(Magoebaskloof)
US$69
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kuhestan Farm Cottages(Magoebaskloof)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Magoebaskloof Getaway(Magoebaskloof)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Diggersrest Lodge(Magoebaskloof)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graceland Eco Retreat(Magoebaskloof)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Silver Mist Resort(Magoebaskloof)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
40
8
5
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
8
5
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat housedelft roomstunning architectureoverlooking the lakeegypt roomhoneymoon suitewonderful surpriseone nighthearty breakfastblown awayopen plansouth africathank you so muchself cateringguesthousedamguests
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Beautiful,tranquil setting. Friendly staff and most welcoming arrival.
The food was good, the rooms were clean, and the fireplace in the lake house added a special touch to end an already perfect day.
Coming from JHB to stay for the weekend, my parents had even made arrangements with the guest house to have flowers and chocolates purchased and put in my room while we were out at one of the local attractions.
This was done without a fuss and was a wonderful surprise.
We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blairg1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie2505, Owner at Bramasole Luxury Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for the lovely compliments, it was our pleasure to host you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We were there for a wedding. We did not sleep much as the wedding party was until 5am. After a good breakfast we asked for a hour later checkout before driving to JHB and being willing to pay. The ladies response was "It is not my problem if you are irresponsible the TC'S are clearly marked on the door. Don't mind if she said no but honestly she had no right to mother me. Its a stunning guest house but needs new management.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kassie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie2505, Owner at Bramasole Luxury Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Guest

While I value all positive advice and criticisms, I am afraid I take exception to this criticism, as respect works two ways. Your rating has an impact on our business and despite stating that the Guesthouse was stunning and you had a good breakfast, but your entire complaint is based on an impetuous demand that you be allowed a late check out? You also did not make this request in person, you were still asleep, it was your girlfriend/wife that spoke to our Manager.

All establishments have a clear Checkout Policy which is made clear when you make the booking. It was very clearly explained to the lady that we had other Guests checking in mere hours later, (who had requested an early check-in) and the room still had to be cleaned, but she persisted after this explanation. That was when our Manager made the comment.

As everything in life, there are two sides to every story;

I think our Manager's comment should also be considered in the following context.
Your group arrived at our Guesthouse (please note, Guest House, which means it is not a hotel, you are guests in the owner’s HOME) - drinking liquor in plastic mugs, drove over the lawn past designated parkings to offload your vehicle, shouting to already arrived guests of your party to pour another Brandy and Coke, and made a noise throughout the afternoon and early hours of the morning, which disturbed other Guests and resulted in complaints. We have wine glasses in rooms missing, cups missing from our gazebo, with one glass found in the garden, and an expensive light pole directly behind one of your parkings completely ridden over and in pieces without the courtesy of informing us.

As stated, the party continued until 5am with people arriving back intoxicated throughout the night and disturbing other Guests who came to Bramasole looking for the peace and tranquillity which we are known for. Your girlfriend/wife asked for late check out because you were still too intoxicated to drive, her words not ours.

Our Manager Geo was extremely accommodating and patient despite a whole night/early morning of people arriving, car alarms going off. You may well not be aware of all these incidents and hope you understand our point as well.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

The view of the surrounding area is fantastic. The manager ("Goldie") was attentive, caring, and conscientious in making sure guests were happy. The cook (Kathy) prepared fantastic meals. We would definitely stay here again if we were to return to this area of South Africa.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FloridaTravelers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie2505, Owner at Bramasole Luxury Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for the lovely review! We hope to host you again when visiting South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We stayed at Bramasole for one night on our way to the Kruger Park. We also chose Bramasole due to its close proximity to Woodbush and the easily accessible natural forest on your doorstep. I can fault this guest house on absolutely nothing: modern and clean accommodation, great service and a hearty breakfast!

The setting next to the dam is absolutely stunning, and you can even use their canoes or go for a swim if you are so inclined! There are quite a few rooms, we stayed in the Delft and Africa rooms. If possible, and you are going to stay for more than one night, opt for a room like Africa which is fantastically equipped for self catering guests. The only thing I did not like about the Africa room, is that you do not have a door directly to the outside as was the case with the Delft room. No dinners are provided, but there are braai facilities which you will be able to make use of. Otherwise go grab something to eat in the quaint town of Haenertsburg which is nearby.

If you would like to go birding I would also suggest you take a guided tour (unless you are an absolute pro!), as we had a lot of difficulty spotting the birds the area is famous for.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barbs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Nothing can prepare you for the utter beauty and luxury Bramasole offers. We were so pleasantly surprised by the hospitality, attention to detail in every aspect and all that this guest house can offer to its guests. You get so much more than just a beautifully decorated room, you get a home with all its comforts, a lake house to spend lazy afternoons and evenings in and a lush forest that can be explored. We simply cannot fault anything. We will most certainly be back!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank LucilleK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews