We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Magoebaskloof Hotel(Magoebaskloof)
US$65
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kuhestan Farm Cottages(Magoebaskloof)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magoebaskloof Getaway(Magoebaskloof)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Graceland Eco Retreat(Magoebaskloof)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Silver Mist Resort(Magoebaskloof)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
45
9
5
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
9
5
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat housevenice roomstunning architectureoverlooking the lakehoneymoon suitewell equipped kitchenettewonderful surpriseafrica roomone nighthearty breakfastblown awayopen plandining roomsouth africaself cateringnext morningguesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Such a romantic spot
No detail missed.
The rooms are beautiful, feels secluded, great place that shouldn't be missed

The lake house was amazing for a glass of champagne watching the world go by.
Fantastic service
Try it, you will love it

Room Tip: Romantic, beautiful place. Egypt was a great spot
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindseyr449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie2505, Owner at Bramasole Luxury Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Your lovely review is much appreciated, and warms the heart to know guests have enjoyed our spot, we hope to host you again at Bramasole!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Had a lovely stay at Bramasole! Friendly and caring staff (especially Geo!). Thank you so much for everything! :-) ...I had come back from the Wolkberg Trail Run, very tired, dirty and cold, and a bit upset because my phone had decided to die that very morning leaving me a bit stranded. Geo made sure that I got a nice breakfast (compliments to the kitchen staff!) and gave me some extra time to check-out so that I could just quickly take a warm shower. Thank you :-) ....I will stay at Bramasole again for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megan938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie2505, Owner at Bramasole Luxury Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments, it is much appreciated - we will love to host you again at Bramasole, see you at the next run!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Bit of a rough road up to the guest house but very short lived. Once we arrived we were blown away by the stunning architecture and decor. Our room was huge and beautifully furnished with a nice size TV. The bathroom-en-suite was not as private as some may need but we loved its open plan feel.
The boat house was beautiful with a fireplace and overlooking a lake. Very generous drinks - tea, coffee, wine etc.
The room opened up to a beautiful outside, shaded area with a walk through the forest or around the garden and lake.
We enjoyed our stay, the breakfast was great and we will definitely return...

Room Tip: Some rooms may have kitchenettes but I imagine they are all similar
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie2505, Owner at Bramasole Luxury Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Your lovely comments are much appreciated - we would love to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Beautiful,tranquil setting. Friendly staff and most welcoming arrival.
The food was good, the rooms were clean, and the fireplace in the lake house added a special touch to end an already perfect day.
Coming from JHB to stay for the weekend, my parents had even made arrangements with the guest house to have flowers and chocolates purchased and put in my room while we were out at one of the local attractions.
This was done without a fuss and was a wonderful surprise.
We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blairg1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie2505, Owner at Bramasole Luxury Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for the lovely compliments, it was our pleasure to host you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We were there for a wedding. We did not sleep much as the wedding party was until 5am. After a good breakfast we asked for a hour later checkout before driving to JHB and being willing to pay. The ladies response was "It is not my problem if you are irresponsible the TC'S are clearly marked on the door. Don't mind if she said no but honestly she had no right to mother me. Its a stunning guest house but needs new management.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kassie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie2505, Owner at Bramasole Luxury Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear Guest

While I value all positive advice and criticisms, I am afraid I take exception to this criticism, as respect works two ways. Your rating has an impact on our business and despite stating that the Guesthouse was stunning and you had a good breakfast, but your entire complaint is based on an impetuous demand that you be allowed a late check out? You also did not make this request in person, you were still asleep, it was your girlfriend/wife that spoke to our Manager.

All establishments have a clear Checkout Policy which is made clear when you make the booking. It was very clearly explained to the lady that we had other Guests checking in mere hours later, (who had requested an early check-in) and the room still had to be cleaned, but she persisted after this explanation. That was when our Manager made the comment.

As everything in life, there are two sides to every story;

I think our Manager's comment should also be considered in the following context.
Your group arrived at our Guesthouse (please note, Guest House, which means it is not a hotel, you are guests in the owner’s HOME) - drinking liquor in plastic mugs, drove over the lawn past designated parkings to offload your vehicle, shouting to already arrived guests of your party to pour another Brandy and Coke, and made a noise throughout the afternoon and early hours of the morning, which disturbed other Guests and resulted in complaints. We have wine glasses in rooms missing, cups missing from our gazebo, with one glass found in the garden, and an expensive light pole directly behind one of your parkings completely ridden over and in pieces without the courtesy of informing us.

As stated, the party continued until 5am with people arriving back intoxicated throughout the night and disturbing other Guests who came to Bramasole looking for the peace and tranquillity which we are known for. Your girlfriend/wife asked for late check out because you were still too intoxicated to drive, her words not ours.

Our Manager Geo was extremely accommodating and patient despite a whole night/early morning of people arriving, car alarms going off. You may well not be aware of all these incidents and hope you understand our point as well.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews