We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Spruce Motel
Nearby Hotels
Sea Raven Motel(Queen Charlotte City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gracie's Place(Queen Charlotte City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
5
2
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
2
3
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This is good property for a one night stay. It's out of the way-downtown Port Clements is only accessible by vehicle. Its quiet. The rooms are small, as are the bathrooms but its clean and affordable. The owners/managers are super friendly and if there's anything you want to learn about the local sports fishing....all you have to do is ask!!

Room Tip: The entire property is out of the way so all the rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fayo400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is older but it is quaint in its own way. The room was clean. Bed was decent. Wifi was available which was important since Port Clements lacks cell service in most areas. The hosts were friendly. You can purchase breakfast from them and it was quite delicious. I'd recommend the omelette!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Obviously the Golden Spruce isn't a five-star motel, but it was one of the best bang for your buck motels or hotels I've stayed at on Haida Gwaii. The room was very clean, the staff warm and friendly, beds were comfortable and the kitchenette well-stocked with everything I needed. And they warmly welcomed my dog. All said, for the money, it was surprisingly comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kthamilton2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Stayed at the Golden Spruce Motel as part of our book pilgrimage and I wouldn't have picked it if not for the name. My wife would have killed me if I took her here but travelling with a buddy kept the complaints down. The room we stayed in looked like it hadn't had a proper cleaning in 50 years. The walls were dirty in the bathroom as if they were once washed with the dirtiest water on earth. I'm not allergic to much but I was itchy as ever falling asleep. The floors were carpeted which probably doesn't help. I should say too, for the overall condition of the place you pay way too much to stay there. The only interesting thing about the hotel is that Urs has a small piece of the Golden Spruce in a jar and Grant Hadwin once stayed there. Enter at your your own risk!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We stayed at the Golden Spruce Motel, as it is right along highway 16 and it is halfway up the island, so you can go all the way north or south in about 45 minutes. We got a kitchenette suite with three beds - two twin and one double. The double bed was in the same room as the kitchen and the twin beds were just around the corner in a separate part, but it didn't have a door. The only other door than the main one, was the bathroom door. The bathroom had no tub, only a shower. It was small, but clean. The towels were the scratchiest, roughest towels I have ever seen (so bring your own). The kitchenette had a fridge with freezer, a two burner unit, a microwave, a toaster, a kettle, a few pots, a few plates, cups and cutlery. The table had three chairs. There was a coat rack behind the main door, but no other place to store clothing. The beds were only average for comfort. There was free wifi. There was no breakfast included. There was no air conditioning, and it got very hot in there. The manager/owner was very friendly. There was a gas station/ convenience store next door. There was a grocery store in town (about 8-10 blocks from the motel).

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews