We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Ribchester”

The White Bull, Ribchester
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Ribchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 1707 Country Pub situated in the Roman Village of Ribchester. Newly refurbished with a fantastic beer garden outback looking over the Roman bath house. Fresh food using locally sourced produce. Serving Cask Ales & local Gins. Three ensuite rooms newly refurbished as well. A great area for the outdoors which makes us Family & Dog friendly.
Reviewed 29 June 2021

We visited twice over the weekend and the service and food was second to none !
Portion sizes are fabulous ( you won't be hungry ) and the food is delicious . The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble .
We were a lively hen party and sat outside in the beer garden on Saturday afternoon in the gorgeous sunshine .
We then visited again on Sunday for a fabulous Roast and sat inside .
Highly recommended. We hope to be back next year

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank N1478YWsuej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2021

We visited today and had an excellent lunch which was great value for money. The real ale was well kept and the wine was nice too.

The service was particularly good with extremely friendly hosts. We will definitely visit again soon.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Realalefan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at The White Bull, Ribchester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Thankyou for your great review we are really pleased you enjoyed our food drink and service.The team are delighted that you took the time to provide such positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2021

We visited the restaurant for an evening meal while staying in ribchester with friends for a first night away from home in 18 months. This place was fantastic. social distancing was done well, the staff and landlord were very friendly and could not do enough for you. I had the seafood pancake starter which was very good huge portion and loads of sauce could not fault it. We all had steaks for main course, Ribeye steak me was cooked perfectly. All in all highly recommend this will not be our last visit to this little gem

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at The White Bull, Ribchester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Hi Andy
Thankyou for your very positive feedback following your visit.All the team are delighted that you had a great time and took the time to share the experience
Kind Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021

Out of the four of us three opted for the spicy chicken gyros. For the price £8.95 we got a huge wrap with a miserly amount of chicken in it. This was perhaps a god send as none of us enjoyed it. The chicken was grisly and fatty. The salad was small with no dressing and the added portion of chips came after I had finished my meal.
Nice friendly staff, nice pub but food & service was not good.
Would go back for a drink but not to eat.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Journey816097
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at The White Bull, Ribchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

We are so sorry we let you down with your meals.As you will see we normally enjoy great reviews and feedback and on this occasion we fell short of the standard. We use chargrilled chicken thighs and sourdough wraps and on this occasion the quality must have been poor and slipped through our check procedures,we normally then dress the wraps with lemon verbena dressing, srirracha and garlic mayo.If you could call me directly on 01254 878048 we would be delighted to arrange an opportunity to put things right.
Regards,
Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

The white bull hosted my brother’s wedding recently, and everything was quite literally perfect. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, but also professional and hard working. Everything was extremely organised and efficient, but they also helped create a friendly, warm atmosphere.

The reception and food were fantastic. I would describe the food as modern British; familiar favourites, done very well, with some of their own personal touches. Also, they source their produce from local suppliers, and in the Ribble Valley there are is some wonderful, locally sourced produce to be found.

For drinks, they have a great selection of beers, ranging from contemporary craft beers to some great traditional cask ales, lagers and ciders. They’ve got a great gin selection, bespoke cocktails and the staff are very knowledgeable and more than happy to help you out.

Overall, I really don’t think you’ll be disappointed. If you’re just looking for a pint of good ale in good company, celebrating with family or looking for great food, you can’t go wrong.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Happiness60824789438
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at The White Bull, Ribchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Thankyou for your lovely review.We are delighted you enjoyed the day and it was a pleasure and privilege to host your celebration
Chris and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Bull, Ribchester also viewed

Ribchester, Lancashire
Blackburn, Lancashire
 
Ribchester, Lancashire

Been to The White Bull, Ribchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.